We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A near-perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #13 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Davenport, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A near-perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was the second time I have ever stayed at a Hampton Inn and let me tell you they are amazing. It just feels like an expensive hotel. They haven't forgotten anything. It definitely seems to cater to business people but we were on vacation and loved all the perks. This hotel has free parking which in Miami is a big plus. It is a nice long walk to the marina and shops at CocoWalk along residential streets...we had to keep crossing the streets because the sidewalks would disappear...but the neighborhood felt safe and is fairly well-lit. Also the Metrorail is right across the street so you can take that downtown and then switch to buses. The young man who checked us in at the front desk said that it would take two hours to get to South Beach on the bus but we went anyways and it was barely half an hour...saved money on parking and tons of stress from driving in that crazy traffic. There is also a free breakfast with eggs and sausage and hash browns and make-your-own waffles every day. A minor complaint would be that the hot tub only had one working jet so my husband and I took turns sitting in front of it :) If you have read any of my past reviews you will know this happens to me all the time that the hot tub doesn't work at the hotel so I must bring that bad luck with me. Another very small complaint would be the hallway noise...loud talking and doors banging...we didn't notice it on Saturday so this may be the early-business-traveler crowd on weekdays. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    395
    83
    23
    11
See reviews for
338
246
58
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel was just perfect. The staff were really kindness . There were free parking, free wifi, amazing free breakfast and a wonderful snack on the afternoon .
The room were big enough and the the beds were really confortable.

Definilly , I would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is in a pretty good location for the Coconut Grove area of Miami. You are a short drive from Versailles if you are interested in great Cuban food, a short drive from/to the airport and to Key Biscayne. There are a few good places to eat in the area, nothing fancy, but good. They only complaint would be that the pool is small, hard to find, and completely shaded.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here 4 days while moving my freshman son into the U. If you're looking for a place to stay close to the school, and you're not looking for a resort hotel, this is the place. It's clean, easy to get around to places, and has very good free parking. Bathrooms were recently re-done, so they're very nice. We had a refrigerator and microwave too. Pool is small but functional, and they have a few tables to relax at out there too.

The only negative I saw was the front help desk. They always seemed to be more concerned about what was going on behind the counter, instead of in front of the counter. Luckily, I didn't need them after check in.

We realized at the end of the visit that it's very close to the Grove, a popular area with restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This was a great little hotel in a very nice area. Only thing is it's not near the beach and it's a bit of a walk to the Coconut Walk shoipping area. aslo there is no shuttle service to/from the airport or Port of Miami.
The service was great and they had the regular Hampton Inn breakfast and each night, they had a nice appetizer mealk with beer or wine for guests as well. This was a great place to stay and very friendly. The Pollo restaurant across the street was great for a fast food restaurant. large grills with lots of caribbean/spanish foods.
We really enjoyed the place and thought it was great.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff. They'll help you right out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The staff was very friendly and courteous. The room was spacious and clean. We really enjoyed the breakfast.
The location was within walking distance to restaurants which is perfect if you do not have a car. We will stay at this hotel the next time we are in Coconut Grove.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was our second stay and we found it to be very comfortable. The rooms were very clean and updated. Nice bedding, flat screen tv, remodeled bathrooms. The air smells clean and fresh in the room. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The free breakfast and wireless is a bonus, and free parking. It seems like quite the deal for this nice area. We will be using this hotel a lot as our daughter is a freshman at U of Miami. Great value for the money.

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room on an upper floor and was accommodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#9 Family Hotel in Miami
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#17 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, business center, 37" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.