We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restful night before our cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3620 NW 79th Avenue, Miami, FL 33166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shop and Drop
Ranked #56 of 130 hotels in Miami
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A restful night before our cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel was a very convenient place to stay prior to a cruise. Will definitely use it again. The breakfast was great and the bed was extremely comfortable. They also offered an affordable shuttle (provided by third party) to the port.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We are glad that we were able to provide you a restful night before your cruise. It is very important to be rested for a cruise as you will be having fun with your family and friends. We will also like to thank you for taking the time in providing us your feed back about your stay as this is a great training tool for our staff and that is what we strive for as a Hilton property. Once again thank you and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    127
    55
    33
    17
See reviews for
111
88
24
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We booked this hotel for a stay the night before our cruise ship departure on January 24. There was a 30 minute wait for our shuttle from the airport to the hotel- not too big of a deal. We were also waiting with a couple that had been there for over an hour(not acceptable at all). The hotel was clean, pool was cold. There is a great "food mall" located next to the hotel. Customer service was poor at the front desk- the receptionist would take phone calls instead of helping the 2 paying customers waiting to speak with her. She could have politely put them on held and taken care of our needs instead of making us wait for over 20 minutes. The room next to us was very loud at night. A call was made to the front desk after they had already been spoken to about their noise level. I was told they were a late arrival and they would call them and ask them to please be quiet again. 20 minutes later they were still very loud, a member of our group pounded on their door and asked them to please be quiet. Finally after 2:00 am we were able to get some rest. When checking out, we were not even asked about our stay or apologized to for the restless night. Poor customer service will keep us from coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Did not really care for this low end hotel. Small lobby. Room had an odor like something rotten. Maintenance came up and said is the shower. I think it was in the carpet. Breakfast was the usual bagels , cereal, apples. Airport shuttle took a long time to arrive.

Room Tip: Would not recommend . Hilton was same price,which we really enjoyed last visit through Miami. Switch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Everything that could go wrong, did! And I attribute the lack of quality to extremely poor to non-existent management and understaffing. At check-in: asked for a quiet room; with a fridge. Was assigned a room next to unsupervised, loud teenagers. Asked to change rooms, was assigned and keyed for 522. Upon arrival at the room, we discovered that it had been assigned to another party AFTER having been assigned to us. Reassigned to 524, the keys did not work. The fridge was not delivered that evening(it would be delivered 26 hours + after check-in and 4 if not 5 requests. ( I actually had to suggest to the clerk, that she ask for assistance. There was a line 5/7 deep of people checking-in, the phone was ringing, a customer/guest was trying to make a purchase from the kiosk, and I needed a key that would work. She did in fact then ask for help and in 5 minutes the desk was clear.) We wanted to watch the Olympics and were told that Directv could not fix the local channel until Monday morning. Sunday morning, we saw that the Olympics were available on the tv in the breakfast area. Breakfast was as sparse as I can remember at a Hampton. No healthy choices - sugar loaded yogurt, runny, watery oatmeal. Come on! Tables were slow to be bused, empty dishes were slow to be replaced and we had to ask three times in 15 minutes to be provided with hot water. Finally, after two queries, the desk clerk got hot water. Speaking of hot water, it was in short supply and at a very low pressure for Sunday morning's shower. And that reminds me that, for whatever reason, when the room was cleaned on Saturday, the staff, replaced a barely used shampoo with a new conditioner-i.e. no shampoo for the Sunday morning shower. The reason for all of this - little or no management and seriously understaffed. S H A M E

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
I would like to apologize for the all inconveniences that occurred during your visit to our hotel. It is not normal nor the standard that Hilton is known for and it has been resolved. I understand that there is no excuse for providing you a room that was already assigned. We have corrected that issue and assure you that it will not repeat it’s self. In regards to the water pressure we have contacted the city and since then they have come out and resolved the problem. For the short staff we have had some employees call out but that has also been resolved. I would like to speak with you a little bit more in depth about your stay. If you would be so kind in contacting me via email or at the property. (email: Robert.cruz@hilton.com or Tel: 305-513-0777)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinidad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We arrived on the 26-01-14 and stayed until the 29-01-14. I was very sceptical given some of the reviews i read. Our check in was speedy, the attendant Shazad was very helpful. My husband and I were very pleased with both the service and accomodation. Please do not let the negative reviews deter you- some of the things mentioned in the reviews must have been dealt with as we did not see them. Give the hotel a chance and remember the price being paid. We had a great time. Thank!!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn Miami Airport West and for taking sometime from your busy day to post a review. Here at the Hampton Inn we use all the reviews as they are a great training tool for our team members. Once again thank you for staying with us and your post as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at this airport hotel on the way out of Florida as we had early morning flights the next morning. It was one of the lower priced, decent hotels in the airport area. It's about 10-15' drive from the airport, slightly further than the hotels around Blue Lagoon area, just south of the airport. Compared to comparable hotels, it offered free wifi, free parking, free shuttle to airport (I think) and a pretty good free breakfast, which included fresh waffles, some meat items, bagels with cream cheese, hot oatmeal, and some danishes. It was a surprisingly good breakfast. If I needed to be near MIA (airport) again, I'd definitely consider staying here. Prices vary greatly depending what night one stays here.

Room Tip: It is in a busy area, but the hotel is quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Good for the price at a convenient location. Not perfect, but clean and comfortable. The staff is helpful. The variety of near-by restaurants is a big plus. We would stay hear again the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West

Address: 3620 NW 79th Avenue, Miami, FL 33166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West Hotel Miami
Miami Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.