We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Hampton...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3620 NW 79th Avenue, Miami, FL 33166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shop and Drop
Ranked #65 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Merchantville, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not the best Hampton...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was the only hotel we could find available, we were staying a night and then leaving for our cruise the next morning.
The van driver that picked us up from the airport, kept driving past us everytime but we laughed that off and thanked him for picking us up.
We ended up in a smoking room, luckily it didn't smell too bad. The beds were standard Hampton ones and the room was ok. You could tell the room had some problems because of the stains on the ceiling. The issue with this hotel is the afternoon - 11pm shuttle driver, he gives the incorrect information ( the man with the mole). He dropped us off at the mall for lunch around 3:30/4 and said when we are ready to call him and he would pick us up. So we called the hotel and they informed us that the shuttle wouldn't be running again until 9pm. Needless to say we had to find a cab and now pay around $20. This wasn't right and I believe the hotel should have compensated us for that!
Breakfast was crazy, not enough seating or food. I asked one of the attendants working for cream cheese and he said no say.. he doesn't know... So I found an Asian woman who looked like a manager, where the cream cheese and other items were and she said they were all out. How do you not have the essentials and you are at least 90% occupied???? This was a dissappointment. Breakfast was not like the other Hamptons and I hope a change happens with their standards. Management needs to step in and see whats going on.
The night auditor was great forget his name but he knows why!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardogmhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear HotelLove88,

We are sorry that we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality. We will address the situation with our shuttle driver directly and apologize for the level of service you received. We will also work with our food and beverage team to correct issues you mentioned regarding breakfast. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all our guests have a great stay. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    153
    66
    41
    19
See reviews for
128
107
31
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed over because is near the airport but we really had a great impression of the hotel staff, they made us feel like if we were home.
The tv remote was not working and in less of 5 minutes they had it fixed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Admittedly we stayed here only to overnight before a flight to the Caribbean.

But we were impressed with the efforts made to make the hotel chain facility stand out.

Though we were told the hotel is going through some renovations, the public areas were certainly much nicer than one would anticipate for an airport hotel. Pretty walls and art work are omnipresent, and the pool has a nice courtyard feel to it, although we only had time to look.

We were upgraded to a suite because we are in the honors system and found the accomodations quite comfortable, though the public areas are more attractive than the rooms themselves. But the suite was clean, quiet and reasonably spacious.

We were able to park our car at a very reasonable price and the shuttle service was frequent and timely.

So glad to know that this kind of accommodation exists as we often stay at much, much pricier hotels which, overall, really do not offer more than this hotel.

Definitely recommended and we will return next time we fly out of Miami.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed one night prior and one night post cruise. Far exceeded our expectations both in cleanliness, room and staff. From front desk to breakfast assistant, everyone was very personable and made us feel welcome. We used the park and cruise and adult daughter used fly, stay cruise. Will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night, using park, sleep and fly combination. Check-in with Justin was quick and professional, as well as welcoming. Bed was very comfortable, breakfast more than adequate, friendly staff, clean and shuttle was convenient both going to and returning from the airport.

What really impressed us was the customer service, when on our return, we found that our car had a flat battery (at 9.30pm!). The front desk staff seemed caring and made immediate plans to help us. Their shuttle driver used jumper cables and almost 30mins of his time to help us and we were soon on our way.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin127, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Bridgenut,


I would like to take this time in honoring your wonderful review on behalf of your previous stay in our facilities. I find it amusing to have acknowledge what a fabulous visit you experienced, most importantly, feeling welcomed as a guest by our staff. I understand how stressful it may have been for you to be returning back to your vehicle without a charged battery, especially after an amazing trip out of town. As a quick resolution, I am enlighted to notice our Front Desk responded back to your issue promptly and did everything possible to assist you in getting your vehicle running again. As a team member of the Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West, I take the iniciative to acknowledge our Agents that were working the Front Desk at this time, worshipping their great customer service skills. In fact, I thank you greatly for sharing your outstanding feedback with us and for your patience during the occurence of this matter. Your cooperation is highly appreciated.

Most Sincerely,

Justin Rodriguez
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Great place to catch up on some rest after a long travel day. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Nice pool area. Not located in a picturesque area of Miami by any means, but as an airport hotel it's in a convenient location. There are restaurants and service stations nearby. Also like the fact they offer a shuttle service to/from the airport, as well as to the Port of Miami.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin127, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Trinigirl,


I would like to say how honored I am as an employee at the Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West, to receive your genuine feedback regarding your visit with us. I am glad your overall stay was convenient and pleasant, two very important things when it comes to traveling. I am very pleased to notice you took advantage of trying some of the nearby restaurants in the meanwhile you were a guest to our facilities. I do apologize for the simple fact that you found the hotel not to be in a very picturesque location, but I do advise of you to stop by our lobby area for some brochures on Miami Attractions that might interest you for the next time you stay with us. I thank you again for your cooperation and honest opinion in reference to our hotel. I hope to see you again as a guest some time maybe in the near future.

Most Sincerely,

Justin Rodriguez
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

As previous reviewers have mentioned, this is your pretty standard Hampton Inn. The lobby is clean. Breakfast is good. Our room was on the 6th floor and was a bit run down, but clean.
What set our visit apart, is I was stuck in the elevator for 30 plus minutes. It was necessary to call in help from an outside elevator service. This was done promptly and I feel that the staff was doing everything that they could do to get me out quickly!!
The staff did a great job of handling this unfortunate situation that could have happened anywhere.
We used the park and fly package and we felt our car was secure there during the duration of our trip. This was another feature of the hotel that was important to us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin127, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear JaneIowa,


I would like to say how appreciative I am in honor to your contribution in providing your genuine thoughts regarding the last visit to the Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West. I want to thank you for choosing to book at our facilities during the meanwhile you were in Miami, FL. Being a valuable traveler with TripAdvisor for quite some years now, I truly respect your most honest opinion regarding our property and the services we provide. I recall the incident with our hotels elevator operating system having a minor malfunction, causing you to be held inside for a long amount of time. I greatly apologize for this inconvenience being as to knowing how much of a scare this may have been for you and the other guests with you at this time. I can not worship enough for you understanding this issue is very common in many other hotels, not only, other buildings as well. I am very pleased to see our staff did everything possible in assisting you on exiting the elevator, doing so in a promptly matter. After all these series of events, I still find it appealing that you found our hotel to be very accommodating, especially with the parking of your vehicle during your vacation out of town. I want to thank you once more for your cooperation and admire the time taken into submitting your genuine feedback.


Kind Regards,

Justin Rodriguez
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West

Address: 3620 NW 79th Avenue, Miami, FL 33166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West Hotel Miami
Miami Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.