We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8200 SW 70 Ave, Miami, FL 33143   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off for AAA members
Ranked #19 of 129 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brookfield, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stay at this hotel whenever we visit South Miami mainly because it is close to family. It is also close to Dadeland and shopping. Rooms are comfortable and reasonably priced for the area. Beds are exceptional. Service is very good. Also has an outdoor pool and a workout room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccolloca, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer -

We are so please to hear that you had a great stay with us! And that you come to this hotel mainly due to family - this is great! We love family and our guests that stay with us are considered family - Your loyalty is our greatest reward! Please come back and visit us soon!
Your Home away from Home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    173
    46
    16
    14
See reviews for
188
97
63
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Not applicable
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Pre-cruise stay at the Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland

I booked the Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland for a pre-cruise two night stay in order to get some shopping done prior to the cruise. The location is great as it is within walking distance to a Target and to Dadeland Mall. I believe the hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle but we had a rental car (free parking on site at the hotel). Also in close proximity is a Walgreens (to pickup essential cruise toiletries and medication). There is a hotel shuttle to Port of Miami which is $15 per room and was on time. You should book the shuttle at least the day before.
We booked a room with a king bed and a pull out sofa bed which accommodated two adults and two children very comfortably. Check in (after 3pm) was efficient. In the room was a complimentary bottle of water and two chocolates. The room décor is not new, a little dated and could use some upgrading. The bathroom has a shower head which is not adjustable. There is also a coffeemaker in the bathroom and a hairdryer. Amenities include shampoo, conditioner and lotion and there was a sign indicating that you could request forgotten items, like toothpaste, at the front desk.
Breakfast is included in the room rate, which includes breads, muffins, eggs, sausage, hot oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals and make your own waffles. Also useful is the on-the-go bag, which is available from 6:30 to 8am. There is a pool, fitness centre and business centre (which I did not utilize.) Wireless is free also and seemed to work better during the early hours in the morning. Please note that this hotel has no guest laundry facilities.
The front desk staff (both were men) were very helpful and accommodating. At all times the hotel and eating areas were kept clean.
There are lots of places for eating nearby. We had a car but within walking distance is the fast food in Target, an asian café in Dadeland Station and all the eateries in Dadeland Mall. My recommendations would be Burger King (fast food), Captain’s Tavern, Kyojin Japanese Buffet, Cheesecake Factory (Dadeland Mall). I wanted to try Shortys Ribs but did not on this trip.
Overall, the two night stay was comfortable and without complaint. This is an excellent location for persons with limited time to be able to get shopping done and visiting mid-priced restaurants within a close radius for a pre-cruise stay. Excellent value for money.
If you are more interested in exploring Miami then I would recommend one of the Port of Miami hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccolloca, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Tripadvsior Fan -

Thank you!!!! on behalf of the staff we would like you know that we are very thankful of having such great guests like you - we are delighted to hear you describe our hotel so well - I am pleased that you chose our hotel for your PRE Port of Miami transfer - This is something we take very seriously and we understand how important it is to be always on time!
we appreciate your taking the time to write about the staff's service and overall Hotel accommodations - We sincerely hope we have the privilege to serving you again in the future -
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This Hampton Inn is an older hotel, but the staff keep it immaculate. Their wifi works great, the free breakfast is a time and money saver.

They also offer shuttle service to the airport and the cruise dock. If you are coming in the night before a cruise and want an excellent place to stay that won't kill your budget, I strongly recommend this hotel.

We'd stay here again if we visit the Miami area and don't require a resort.

I'd also like to give kudo's to their chief night auditor, Christian Rodriguez. He bent over backward to make us feel welcome and wanted.

Room Tip: This hotel sometimes offers discounts to those paying in full 30 days in advance. The hotel does no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccolloca, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Fan -

We love to hear what our guests have to say about our hotel and staff -

We thank you for taking the time to write your feedback!

I am excited to share that this hotel will undergo a major renovation starting in spring 2013!

I guarantee you will not recognize our hotel when we are finish with it!

I will make sure to congratulate our Chief Night Auditor Christian for his attention to detail and for making you feel welcomed! This is what we do!

Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We got sick from a mold smell in the room. Entire carpet was damp. We should have realized it when the smell of deodorant nearly knocked us out when we opened the room door. Some of the staff super rude. Old man on staff in parking lot interrupted conversation with my wife and lectured us on how to unload two overnight bags from the trunk of my car. No introductions or pleasantries; just orders issued as if we were in the Army. At first I thought he was some hobo off the street or beggar. Staff did not give us the room we reserved. Hotel was noisy. Bathroom not clean. Water pressure weak. Staff nearby walked over us during breakfast. Save yourselves the drama and pick another hotel. Actually Motel 6 would be a step up.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel. A Motel 6 would be an improvement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccolloca, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer -

Your effort and time in sharing your comments surrounding your experiences at our Hampton Hotel is most appreciated and something we take very seriously. Please accept my sincere apologies for any aggravation or inconvenience you may have experienced during your last visit in our hotel.

We are constantly monitoring the performance of all our employees against high service and quality standards. In our mission to be the first choice of the travelers that come to the South Miami area, it is the feedback from our guests that enable us to continually improve and exceed those standards. You can be confident that we will follow-up on the points you have outlined to ensure staff awareness and additional staff training where needed.

We value your patronage – we want you as our guest! Again, we extend our apologies, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

In that you were not satisfied with our services – I have refunded your credit card per our uncoditional 100% Satisfaction standard – it is never about the money, it is always about your loyalty!


Sincerely,

Carlos Colloca
General Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Jan 2013 was our 3rd stay at this property. We are Seniors who drive over from FL west coast to see a U of M basketball game. Stay just one night... This Hampton always seems rather full, but that does not lower the quality of service. The rooms are quiet &, super clean, The beds are very comfortable, the breakfast is very nice and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We will continue to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccolloca, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hello there Tripavisor loyal! UM basketball fans!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with our hotel - I love that you point out that we are "always busy but the quality of service never goes down" this is a wonderful perception , you mentioned that our rooms are "super clean" and staff is "extremely friendly" this is grrrrrreeat!!!! we wish you Safe Travels and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Rooms are great, set up with internet and nice tv's. This is the first review I've ever taken the time to write, but the staff performed so much above my expectations that I had to give it an "Excellent"

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccolloca, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
WOWOWOWOWOWOW!

This is the very first time you write a review??? this is absolutely wonderful!
I will share your feedback with my team in this week's manager's meeting!
This is the way we want our guests to feel when they come to our hotel!
We honor your business and we will work hard to earn your loyalty!

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hampton Inns are always good and the Miami Dadeland is very good. The room was clean, comfortable, and QUIET!! The walls are either soundproof or we had very quiet neighbors. The breakfast was excellent. Good food and plenty of it. All the staff was great--friendly and efficient. We chose the Miami Dadeland because we wanted a top quality hotel with easy access to the major highways because we were going to travel to Key West, South Beach, etc. Two major highways are within 5 minutes away. The Dadeland Mall is an easy walk away but the nice thing about the Mall is that is easy to find, and if you are looking for your hotel, just follow the signs to the Mall. THE HOTEL WAS EXCELLENT. THIS IS TO HELP MY FELLOW TRAVELORS AND I DON'T KNOW WHERE ELSE TO PUT IT. Speaking of signs, they are bad in Miami. We rented a car and it was always a challenge to drive in Miami. I expected the signs for the big toll roads to be equal to the Interstate signs. They are not. They often give the road number and not the name. Coming out of the airport rental center there were at least ten cars along the side of the road with their drivers trying to figure out where to go. I almost got lost. I was looking for the "Dolphin Expressway" and that name did not appear on any sign. The number "836" was there but that didn't mean anything to me (or the ten other drivers who were lost). Traffic is BAD in Miami--worse than Los Angeles, Houston, Washington D.C. or New York. I highly recommend buying a portable GPS or renting one from your rental agency. Oh did I forget to tell you that the toll roads in Miami don't accept cash. You have to have a Sunpass (like an E-Z pass) or pay an extra fee to your rental car agency. To their credit, the signs leading you back to the airport rental car center were very easy to follow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccolloca, General Manager at Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
This is a wonderful comment from a wonderful tripadvisor contributor!

I am delighted to read your review! Particularly the part where you tell all your fellow travelers that the "hotel was excellent"

Staff friendly and efficient? this is our key of success! Thank you for recognizing that!

in anticipation of your return, we want you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland

Address: 8200 SW 70 Ave, Miami, FL 33143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Miami
#11 Family Hotel in Miami
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#26 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exciting news for all of our guests & all of our team members !as of sep 2012 through October 31st 2012, the ownership and management team of the Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland hotel will proudly proceed with phase ii of our renovation process –these renovations will include, a fresh and comfortably painted room, modern-ergo work-desk chairs - and beautiful-soft shear pallette new drapes - as for enterteinment, we will upgrade our fitness room with the “jumpt start-gym” by Hilton with the latest in fitness techonology and comfort - phase iii - experience the new Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland by spring 2013, the perfect-mix lobby by Hilton will be installed! We hope you join us, your loyalty is our reward! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland Hotel Miami
Miami Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Miami Dadeland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.