We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove to your Saves list
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2649 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #71 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Margate, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Came for 1 night to get away. Was upgraded to a balcony marina view. The check in was great and they were so helpful and friendly. Hotel and room were beautiful and clean with a fabulous view. Great location and the suggestions of where to go to eat and walk around were great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay went

We hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    105
    78
    23
    22
See reviews for
63
68
18
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I chose this hotel due to its location. It was a couple blocks from where I had several appointments. I got a great rate and the hotel was exactly what I needed. it is in a very central location with restaurants within walking distance and is just a stone's throw from Coconut Grove. The lobby seems recently renovated and has a great show for breakfast, a little store for snacks and sundries, business centre and a seating area with TV and information screens. I was in room 515 which had a little bit of an unusual layout from what I am accustomed to but it was okay. Perhaps just a little bit tight on space but no big deal. Everything was well kept and clean. Housekeeping staff were great except for the 2nd day when the room was not serviced although I was there until the early afternoon so perhaps they saw it was occupied and didn't return later. Only other minor issue was when I returned to the hotel on Friday night at around 11:45 PM. There was a line of 4 or 5 cars waiting for valet and they only had one person. We had to wait in the car for around 10 or 15 min. for them to take it. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others and would definitely consider staying here again if I needed to be in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we've adjusted our scheduels on the curb for valet to ensure we have the appropriate staffing on board.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

CAN ANYONE TELL ME IF ALL ROOMS HAVE A BALCONY, BE IT SMALL OR LARGE ?
Just made a reservation for two rooms, hoping to have them close to each other, staff on phone when confirming, said to call back morning of the day we are arriving and ask.
We previously lived in Miami and now are bringing some friends for 1st time visit to Coconut Grove. Hotel looks to be in a great location for Coconut Grove walking!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello and thanks for asking - Balcony rooms can be guaranteed when making the reservation, there is an additional charge for them, but if not sold out we'll upgrade on a first come first serve basis and no not all of the rooms have a balcony.

Please contact us directly for more information
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is an older Courtyard and needs to have a hard goods renovation. The rooms are extremely small, but other than that it is your standard Courtyard by Marriott. They have the Starbucks coffee and the bistro concept that every Courtyard has now. We experienced an issue with the valet at the hotel and notified the front desk during the night audit around 1:30am. Apparently the front desk agent sent an email to the Assistant General Manager during the night and to our surprise at 6:15am we had an email from the AGM with an apology and stating that they would be in touch on Monday, however other management had been notified.

Upon checkout the Manager on Duty already knew of the issue and was quick to greet us and apologize. She took off the charge for the valet (which we did not ask for) and got us in touch with the valet manager who we filed the report with. I have NEVER had such great service from a 3rd party valet company. They immediately took action and responsibility.

This might not be the newest and nicest hotel in Miami, but the customer service is GREAT! When going back I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, great service is what we pride ourselves with and I'll certainly be using your feedback with our team to continue our efforts

Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My family stayed here one weekend in August. The hotel was in a great location in Coconut Grove, across from Monty Trainer's, and looked attractive outside, in the lobby, as well as in the pool area. We encountered two issues during our stay, besides the fact that the hallways on the 2 different floors we saw needed a good scrubbing, and the lobby furniture needed fixing up because they were chipped. The first room we stayed in was small but clean, recently remodeled and looked fine. The problem we had was that every time the air conditioning system turned off or on...it made a loud sound as if someone was closing a door! Needless to say, we could not sleep and we were transferred to a bigger room on another floor. While we were moving out, maintenance came and took care of the problem, but we moved anyway. That room was perfectly fine and we had a good night sleep. The other issue that we encountered was that we had difficulty getting into the rooms with the key card. The cards did not function properly. Now, I have to say this. The last time I had to go downstairs to get the card fixed, the front desk clerk, with a bit of a muted attitude, asked me to go upstairs and try it to see if it worked, and if it did not to come down again. I guess the displeasure showed on my face, because the manager stepped in and said he would go up with me so that in the event the card did not work, he would go down and try to fix it. While I waited for him to put on his suit jacket, I moved over to get something to drink from the lobby store, and he came over and offered to pay for it and to pick drinks for all in my family. I accepted his offer to pay for mine, but declined the drinks for my family; that was not necessary. He explained they were having trouble with the key cards, and that it seemed every time there was some type of weather, it happened. He was very gracious and apologetic, and certainly took charge of the situation. Because of him, my impression of this hotel is a positive one, in spite of the issues, and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I'll share them with our team and be sure to fix the key issue.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is my first review on trip advisor, but i had to do it. This place was awesome. Good location GREAT STAFF. I was there with a friend and we were running late for a concert and forgot to get a taxi, i called valet and they had one of there employees bring us! The balcony was huge. Valet was awesome.Starbucks coffee was delicious in the morning. The one and ONLY complaint i have is how small the bathroom was.
Dont listen to bad reviews, i loved this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we're happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here while dropping off our son at U of Miami. Have stayed in Coconut Grove before and this hotel was a much better experience than the last one. Staff was extremely friendly and breakfast was good. The room was very small but clean and quiet. You can't beat the location. Walking distance to Coconut Grove shops and restaurants and directly across from the bay. Will stay here on our return trip.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we look forward to your return as our hotel is as you know close to UM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Address: 2649 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove , South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual! Introducing the Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove hotel, where the views are spectacular and location perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove Hotel Miami
Doubletree Coconut Grove
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.