We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove to your Saves list
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2649 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #70 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My family stayed here one weekend in August. The hotel was in a great location in Coconut Grove, across from Monty Trainer's, and looked attractive outside, in the lobby, as well as in the pool area. We encountered two issues during our stay, besides the fact that the hallways on the 2 different floors we saw needed a good scrubbing, and the lobby furniture needed fixing up because they were chipped. The first room we stayed in was small but clean, recently remodeled and looked fine. The problem we had was that every time the air conditioning system turned off or on...it made a loud sound as if someone was closing a door! Needless to say, we could not sleep and we were transferred to a bigger room on another floor. While we were moving out, maintenance came and took care of the problem, but we moved anyway. That room was perfectly fine and we had a good night sleep. The other issue that we encountered was that we had difficulty getting into the rooms with the key card. The cards did not function properly. Now, I have to say this. The last time I had to go downstairs to get the card fixed, the front desk clerk, with a bit of a muted attitude, asked me to go upstairs and try it to see if it worked, and if it did not to come down again. I guess the displeasure showed on my face, because the manager stepped in and said he would go up with me so that in the event the card did not work, he would go down and try to fix it. While I waited for him to put on his suit jacket, I moved over to get something to drink from the lobby store, and he came over and offered to pay for it and to pick drinks for all in my family. I accepted his offer to pay for mine, but declined the drinks for my family; that was not necessary. He explained they were having trouble with the key cards, and that it seemed every time there was some type of weather, it happened. He was very gracious and apologetic, and certainly took charge of the situation. Because of him, my impression of this hotel is a positive one, in spite of the issues, and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I'll share them with our team and be sure to fix the key issue.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    104
    76
    23
    20
See reviews for
59
67
18
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is my first review on trip advisor, but i had to do it. This place was awesome. Good location GREAT STAFF. I was there with a friend and we were running late for a concert and forgot to get a taxi, i called valet and they had one of there employees bring us! The balcony was huge. Valet was awesome.Starbucks coffee was delicious in the morning. The one and ONLY complaint i have is how small the bathroom was.
Dont listen to bad reviews, i loved this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we're happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here while dropping off our son at U of Miami. Have stayed in Coconut Grove before and this hotel was a much better experience than the last one. Staff was extremely friendly and breakfast was good. The room was very small but clean and quiet. You can't beat the location. Walking distance to Coconut Grove shops and restaurants and directly across from the bay. Will stay here on our return trip.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we look forward to your return as our hotel is as you know close to UM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 2 weeks. In general the hotel is good. Our room was nice with great view and a lot of space. What i didnt like are first the credit card policy which was not clear. By check in it was said that the card will be only authorized for one week stay plus deposit for demages were the reality was that the hotel kept blocking money until the full stay was covered. I don't mind but there should be clear explanations about this. 2nd i don't like to have the houskeeping coming to our room everyday and its up to me to choose when to let her. We had the surprise to see the housekeeping manager entering our room by a DO NOT DISTURBE sign on our door. After confronting him why he entered the room he said its usual if u dont let the housekeeping in the room. This is in no other hotel to be seen!!! 3rd and the best was when the valet guy took our rent a car (Mustang) and went to McDonalds on the 08.08.13 at 1AM and forgot his receip in the car. The receip was given to his co-workers the same morning. If i continue the houskeeping lady didnt clean good and leaving the dust everywhere. As an hospitality profesional i am really dissaponted.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for your feedback' we take al our feedback given seriously and we'll look into your concerns. As far as the credit card holds it is standard for the system to authorize your expected charges your bank is who puts the holds on. Thanks again for letting us know about your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Courtyard in Miami's Coconut Grove is a friendly, affordable and welcoming hotel, minutes away from the Coconut Grove's attractive open mall CocoWalk. I was lucky enough to spend two nights on the 17th floor in an enormous suite with wonderful views overlooking Miami’s Biscayne Bay. The bedroom was comfortable and relaxing, the desk large and easy to work and there was a flat screen TV. The living room was spacious with a wooden dining table, a "kitchen" counter with a coffee machine for the daily fix of joe and a soft sofa for me and my guests. I also had access to the balcony for a late night glimpse of the city lights.

At the lobby, an interactive GoBoard touch screen provides guests with the latest news, weather forecast and information about restaurants and areas of attraction. The Bistro-Eat offers three meals a day and delicious cocktails to be enjoyed by the pool. The Market, a convenient store located next to the reception adds a nice touch and guests can find from crunchy potato chips to toothbrushes and wine. But what I liked the most was the fruit-flavored water tank at the entrance, a must-have refreshing addition for the hot and humid Miami.

Overall, it was an easy and fun stay with helpful staff in a well-designed space. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, I'll be sure to share them with our teams.

We hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Efland, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The room was nice and the pool was very nice. We are early risers and you could not get a cup of coffee until Starbucks opens at 6:30. No restaurant so you eat Starbucks food. No parking garage so you pay $25 for valet or try to find parking on the street a mile away. Good luck doing that in Miami. Our toilet was clogged and we called the front desk, operator, and room service twenty times (no lie) and got no one. Finally called valet parking and were told that the woman at the front desk was talking on her phone and ignoring calls. It is off the busy path and has a great pool but I wouldn't stay here for more than one night. We were passing through so it was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, I wanted to make sure you had your facts correct on the hotels amenities. We operate a full service restaurant that serves three meals a day and there's self-parking across the street as well as along the street next to the hotel. I’ll certainly be sharing your comments with the staff to ensure your service failures are addressed

Thanks again for letting us know about your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We had a typical courtyard experience except for the fact that rooms were outdated and badly needs renovation. Location was great and staffs were very friendly / accommodative.

Room Tip: Street parking was available on the same street if someone doesn't want to pay for valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we actaully just updated our complete bedding package and we've just completed a rooms renovation.

thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Address: 2649 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove , South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual! Introducing the Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove hotel, where the views are spectacular and location perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove Hotel Miami
Doubletree Coconut Grove
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.