We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated Lobby and outdated Rooms!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove to your Saves list
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2649 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #58 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Renovated Lobby and outdated Rooms!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We had a typical courtyard experience except for the fact that rooms were outdated and badly needs renovation. Location was great and staffs were very friendly / accommodative.

Room Tip: Street parking was available on the same street if someone doesn't want to pay for valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we actaully just updated our complete bedding package and we've just completed a rooms renovation.

thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    98
    78
    19
    17
See reviews for
68
65
12
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night. They gave me a corner room with large balcony which was nice. The room was very large. Bathroom was large with urinal and toilet, combined shower bath. Didn't care for the urinal and never have I seen one in a hotel room. I didn't know about the location that much, I thought I'd gave it a try and check it out. My gps did not recognize the address of the hotel and I didn't know why, it took me over an hour to find and by the time I got there I was exhausted. I used the valet parking which was around $25.00. I wanted to walk to coco walk but it rained hard that evening so I ended up spending the entire night in the room. My room was very quiet and again large. I don't know if I would stay here again because other then coco walk there's really nothing else there. If your room is facing the front, you might get a marina view. My room was facing the back and all it was just residential view. So my stay wasn't horrible but I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, the urinal you referred to is actually a bidet, which a few of our rooms have, if in the future you would not like this option please let us know .
Thank you again for sharing your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
232 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

fantastic location on Biscayne bay Blvd. Directly across the street from the coconut grove marina. There are several very good places to eat and shop within walking distance. This was the second time I've stayed here and it has been renovated since. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Get a suite with a balcony and bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments, we look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My family does a lot of travel in the central and southern state of Florida. We were looking for a hotel that wasn't in the downtown Miami area, but we wanted to be close to the action of Miami. We pulled up to check-in and we were greeted with smiles and welcomes from the staff. Our check in was a very pleasant experience and all of our requests were granted with a smile. The room was VERY clean and roomy. We had a view of Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The pool was absolutely gorgeous. My 12 year old son scraped his toe on a broken tile on a sitting area in the pool. We went inside to get him some ice cream while he cooled off and tended to his toe. We told the front desk, just so they would be aware of it, and they gave us free ice cream. That was a nice touch. (it was just a small little scrape) We opted to use the curbside parking with meters. No big deal at all. The meters take cash or credit cards. You can also pay by phone and never have to step out of the hotel. All of the phone in information is on the sign from the Miami Parking Authority. Across the street is a market that has everything you could ever need during your stay. I did not walk into the hotel doors one time without the door being opened for me and a very courteous, "welcome back." Even as we walked through the lobby the staff would always greet us with a "welcome back." That was a very nice touch that lets visitors to this Hotel know that you are appreciated and welcomed. Even when we bumped into maintenance or housekeeping throughout the hotel we greeted with a kind a word. I never walked past one staff member without receiving a pleasant greeting. Upon entering the Hotel, Eric noticed that I was wearing a Daytona Bike Week shirt, and we had a pleasant conversations about our motorcycles. The lobby of this hotel is very welcoming and contemporary. There are several areas to hand out with friends with LCD television throughout the lobby. We used the internet everyday during our stay and we had zero issues. It worked perfectly. There is no restaurant at this hotel and that was fine by me. I never eat at hotel restaurants because they are always very overpriced. CocoWalk is within walking distance and has several nice restaurants such as Chili's and Cheesecake Factory. There is also a movie theater and lots of shopping at CocoWalk. You can check out the specifics at www.cocowalk.net. There is a Starbucks and a small but nice bar in the lobby. We stayed for 4 days, and our stay here was nothing but positive and pleasant. I read a few of the negative reviews before our stay and was a little concerned. I guess everyone can have a bad experience from time to time, but the negative reviews in no way matched our experience here. I would recommend this hotel, and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, I'll ensure we share them with our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I think that this was a great property for our needs. We attended a graduation at Univ of Miami in Coral Gables. It was only 10 minutes driving. On the remaining days, the hotel was close enough for us to drive anywhere within 10-15 minutes. We really enjoyed the location. Street parking was actually not that difficult, and cheaper than doing the overnight valet.

The room was decent size and clean. No complaints there. The only grief that I have was that the front desk lady was a little rude (her name was Mirna?). Airline lost my luggage and dropped it off at the hotel per a message that was left on my phone. When I approached the front desk for my luggage the front desk was less than helpful - insisting that it wasn't there and no one showed up, of course they weren't mistaken, blah blah blah. After 15 minutes back and forth, I finally begged enough to have her just check in the back. Of course it was there. NO apologies. Just "Oh, here's your luggage". It wasn't really that big of a deal. Lady was just a bit rude when asking for a simple check. The valet guys were all really helpful, though.

Other than that, stay was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how your stay was, I will be following up on your concerns to ensure it doesn’t happen again

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for business. Will never stay again:

1. Unreliable internet. The router on our floor stopper working in the evening. They had nobody to repair it till 7AM in the morning
2. Long lines at front desk. And front desk is used for everything - giving and collecting laundry, paying for things bought at the store etc.
3. Long lines at the bistro: Usually only one person to take the order, deliver it etc.
4. Poorly equipped fitness center
5. Poor location from the standpoint of restaurants close by
6. Just one option for calling for food
7. Store full of processed and junk food
8. Limited menu in hotel bistro

Room is OK. Air-conditioning works. Valet service is good.

I am not staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns, I too would have been as frustrated as you were with your stay. Unfortunately things break, the router for the internet went down, the only good news was it was down for less than 24 hours as we had a new router expedited to the property. We do have fiber optics coming into the hotel so our internet is typically very reliable and very fast. I apologize for the inconvenience it caused while you were here. I'm sorry you didn’t have a chance to get out and explore the area, 3 blocks on long the bay is Coconut Grove known for its sidewalk cafes and outdoor entertainment, and across the street on the bay is Monty’s steak and seafood restaurant, an open aired place right on the marina.
Our personal best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawling
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed May 30-June 2. We booked a suite but the layout of the room is strange. The bathroom is teeny. So much so it is difficult for one person to maneuver about. We had a bay front room that wasn't worth the price. The balcony is tiny with a small view of the bay. Oatmeal at Starbucks is wonderful but it doesn't open until 7 am. The assistant manager Addida made our initial room disappointment much better and she went out of her way to help every chance she could. The staff overall is warm, friendly and keep the hotel impeccably clean. Beds were amazing. The room layouts are strange and need revamping. Hotel is a walk away from restaurants in town. The market across from the hotel has great groceries, fresh fruits and yummy top notch take out food.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I'll be sure to share your comments with our team

We look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Coconut Grove
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#16 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#55 of 113 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Address: 2649 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove , South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual! Introducing the Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove hotel, where the views are spectacular and location perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Venere, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove Hotel Miami
Doubletree Coconut Grove
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.