We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove to your Saves list
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2649 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #59 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is very nice and is well located on Bayshore in Coconut Grove. The amenities are quite good and the rooms are very comfortable. All that said, what really makes this place is the staff. Some friends and I stayed for a number of days and throughout our stay we had a number of requests. The staff was incredibly accommodating, handling all of our requests with the utmost courtesy. Whenever we needed something, the staff was all over in short order. Miguel and Milvia, in particular, were extremely helpful. All around it was a great stay. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
, Thank you for your comments and feedback, we’re happy that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality

Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    101
    79
    19
    17
See reviews for
68
65
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Me and my husband spent in this hotel only one night. We chose this hotel because it was the cheapest option in Coconut Grove. The rest of the hotels are incredibly expensive. Courtyard is also not cheap but the cheapest in this area. Room is nice, bed is very comfortable, bathroom is also nice. Internet is for free however there is only valet parking available which costs £25 per day ( a lot!!!). So if you have a car be aware of this additional cost. Hotel is located in a nice area within a 10min.walking distance from Coconut Grove Shopping Centre where are located restaurants, cafes and shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we're happy you enjoyed your stay; there is however meter parking for $1 an hour that's free from 10pm to 10am.

I will ensure our parking attendants offer this to all our guests

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I spent the better part of last summer staying here for work and I have to give this hotel it's due credit! The hotel was undergoing renovations during my stay but the lobby and rooms were modern and clean.

Large modern outdoor pool
Nice fitness room
Great staff
Good housekeeping
Starbucks cafe & small restaurant / bar in lobby
Complimentary computers and printing in the lobby
Well stocked convenience shop in the lobby
Nearby to excellent shopping and restaurants
Adjacent to "Fresh Market" (similar to Whole Foods) with tons of prepared foods, etc.

The staff was great for:
- going out of their way to put the complimentary coffee out extra early for me
- providing me with a mini-fridge in the rooms that weren't equipped with one so that I could keep groceries
- prompt valet every morning at 5:30

This place was great for business and for pleasure!! The conveniences made all the difference during the 2.5 months I stayed there!! I can't imagine I would have been as comfortable anywhere else!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your feedback, we're happy you enjoy your stay with us and look forward to your return

All the Best !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful nights stay, just like being at home with my comfy pillow & bed.... The bed are some of the best. Having back issues, the beds are top rated. We had a corner room, not only was it perfectly quiet & large, our balcony was supreme!! Over all stay was grand. No problem staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your stay, we have recently replaced our mattresses with new pillow top mattresses and we're happy to hear you enjoyed them.

We hope you can back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Many people think that the Grove is on the beach. It is on the Bay and there is no beach, but the Grove is a fantastic place for dining, shopping and general people watching. Stay here if you have business in the area, but not if you're looking for beach holiday. The staff is wonderful; there is a small bar for after work drinks, but no restaurant to speak of. I did not see the pool nor the fitness area, but I hear they are very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments; we're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do offer a Bistro restaurant that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and it's adjacent to the pool. Our pool is a resort size heated infinity pool on the main level with semi private cabanas and a covered patio along with loungers and umbrella tables.

We hope you can come back and enjoy all the amenities our hotel offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I tried this hotel, expecting not to like it because it was a Courtyard and not a full service Marriott. However, it won me over with location, views, and room features. I have now returned several times.

Note: this hotel is definitely NOT your typical Courtyard; it was previously a Doubletree.

The hotel offers "Bay view" rooms and "City View" rooms. (There are also a few rooms on the side which will offer some views of the bay as well.) The views of the bay are spectacular - and most rooms have balconies, furnished with a small table and chairs (perfect for enjoying morning coffee).

Most (though not all) rooms have refrigerators, and several have a wet bar. The decor seemed fresh and updated. Some of the rooms are a bit small, but overall they work. Most of the bathrooms are quite small - but some have been upgraded with granite countertops. There are a variety of room configurations - it's not a cooker-cutter floor plan.

There are a number of suites, which offer the most space I have every seen in hotel suites. They include a dining room table and (sometimes) walk-in closets. The sofas and chairs seem fresh and new. The wooden furniture (tables, dressers) is not necessarily new,, but is "classic" and works.

There are a limited number of rooms per floor (6-10) so you are not walking down long hallways. There is a small exercise room (barely adequate) and nice self service laundry facility.

Parking is valet only - a pain. The valet staff is pleasant but not always fast. The front desk people run the gamut from good to downright rude. Some of them have no interest in going the extra mile. (They must have skipped the normal Marriott training or something!)

Room has always been cleaned and re-supplied to my satisfaction.

The location is a bit more remote than other areas, but Coconut Grove has a relaxing feeling and charm.

Room Tip: If you get a bay view room, it will definitely enhance your experience. You need to be on floor 7 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we're happy you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your great review on our hotel. I will however be speaking to our front desk team on your comments around consitency, as feedback like this only makes us better in delivering great customer service.

We look forward to your return

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days doing business in Miami. Hotel has good location in the Coconut Grove area. Staff is friendly, nice lobby area but my room was not ok. It is small, old fashioned, bathroom to small. The positive side is free WIFI. Restaurants in the Coconut Grove area is within walking distance. Do not think I will choose this hotel for my next visit to Miami.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank You for your feedback, we take all our reviews seriously and always look to better our guest’s experience. We offer several room types here at the hotel; our bay view rooms are slightly larger than our non-bay view rooms, although all our rooms are 20% larger than typical hotel rooms. If the next time you are in the area and want to experience one of our premium rooms you can upgrade on line or ask for an upgrade at the desk. We do appreciate you sharing our good service and I’ll certainly share your comments with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#16 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#57 of 115 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Address: 2649 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove , South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual! Introducing the Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove hotel, where the views are spectacular and location perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove Hotel Miami
Doubletree Coconut Grove
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.