We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good business hotel, but not a beach area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2649 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #59 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good business hotel, but not a beach area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Many people think that the Grove is on the beach. It is on the Bay and there is no beach, but the Grove is a fantastic place for dining, shopping and general people watching. Stay here if you have business in the area, but not if you're looking for beach holiday. The staff is wonderful; there is a small bar for after work drinks, but no restaurant to speak of. I did not see the pool nor the fitness area, but I hear they are very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments; we're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do offer a Bistro restaurant that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and it's adjacent to the pool. Our pool is a resort size heated infinity pool on the main level with semi private cabanas and a covered patio along with loungers and umbrella tables.

We hope you can come back and enjoy all the amenities our hotel offers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    101
    79
    19
    17
See reviews for
68
65
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I tried this hotel, expecting not to like it because it was a Courtyard and not a full service Marriott. However, it won me over with location, views, and room features. I have now returned several times.

Note: this hotel is definitely NOT your typical Courtyard; it was previously a Doubletree.

The hotel offers "Bay view" rooms and "City View" rooms. (There are also a few rooms on the side which will offer some views of the bay as well.) The views of the bay are spectacular - and most rooms have balconies, furnished with a small table and chairs (perfect for enjoying morning coffee).

Most (though not all) rooms have refrigerators, and several have a wet bar. The decor seemed fresh and updated. Some of the rooms are a bit small, but overall they work. Most of the bathrooms are quite small - but some have been upgraded with granite countertops. There are a variety of room configurations - it's not a cooker-cutter floor plan.

There are a number of suites, which offer the most space I have every seen in hotel suites. They include a dining room table and (sometimes) walk-in closets. The sofas and chairs seem fresh and new. The wooden furniture (tables, dressers) is not necessarily new,, but is "classic" and works.

There are a limited number of rooms per floor (6-10) so you are not walking down long hallways. There is a small exercise room (barely adequate) and nice self service laundry facility.

Parking is valet only - a pain. The valet staff is pleasant but not always fast. The front desk people run the gamut from good to downright rude. Some of them have no interest in going the extra mile. (They must have skipped the normal Marriott training or something!)

Room has always been cleaned and re-supplied to my satisfaction.

The location is a bit more remote than other areas, but Coconut Grove has a relaxing feeling and charm.

Room Tip: If you get a bay view room, it will definitely enhance your experience. You need to be on floor 7 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we're happy you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your great review on our hotel. I will however be speaking to our front desk team on your comments around consitency, as feedback like this only makes us better in delivering great customer service.

We look forward to your return

Best,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days doing business in Miami. Hotel has good location in the Coconut Grove area. Staff is friendly, nice lobby area but my room was not ok. It is small, old fashioned, bathroom to small. The positive side is free WIFI. Restaurants in the Coconut Grove area is within walking distance. Do not think I will choose this hotel for my next visit to Miami.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank You for your feedback, we take all our reviews seriously and always look to better our guest’s experience. We offer several room types here at the hotel; our bay view rooms are slightly larger than our non-bay view rooms, although all our rooms are 20% larger than typical hotel rooms. If the next time you are in the area and want to experience one of our premium rooms you can upgrade on line or ask for an upgrade at the desk. We do appreciate you sharing our good service and I’ll certainly share your comments with our team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights the first weekend of November. Had a double corner room facing the supermarket.

The room was comfortable with a balcony.

The service made this 5 stars. Everyone was helpful and friendly. Special mention to the valet that took great care of our group all weekend.

Well done.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, we take pride in everything we do here and always try to make each guests stay a memorable one

We hope to see you back real soon

Best,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed one week for a business trip - fine room (corner 11th floor), very nice pool and good & tastey full breakfast, coffee and sandwhich bistro downstairs. Excellent front desk staff. Whole Foods, Chart House and Monty's eateries just across the street. Mini fridge but no microwave in room but I used the lobby one (snack area) to heat up some tidbits from Whole Foods. I certainly would come back when doing business in the area. It is about a 15 - 20 minute drive to downtown Miami in rush hour. Very nice upscale condo tropical residential area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, we take pride in everything we do here and always try to make each guests stay a memorable one.

We hope to see you back real soon

Best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flims Dorf, Graubunden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. Location not bad: 10 min walk to coconut walk. Bath tub was not properly cleaned and the room looked quite disorganised. Starbucks in the hotel was often closed. Not impressed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks you for your feedback, we take all our feedback seriously and always look to get better by it. I apologize for possibly information not shared with you when you checked in, Starbucks is open 24 hours a day, but you would need to stop by the front desk during closed restaurant hours. Some of our tubs are starting to show wear, and we’re having them professionally refinished throughout the year.
Thanks again for your feedback
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I love south Florida and we are headed to Key West for the annual Miami Harley Davidson Poker Run! We booked the room through Marriotts website knowing we like the location near the restaurants and shops in the Grove. When we pulled in the vallet was very helpful finding a secure place for our Harley. The guest services staff is very friendly and professional. They put us in a Bayview room that was fabulous!! We had lunch in the Grove but, stayed in with a bottle of wine and a bite to eat from the Fresh Market across the street so we could enjoy the evening on the balcony.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

I reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do take all our comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Next time you stay with us please stop by and say hello.

Looking for forward to your next stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#16 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#57 of 115 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Address: 2649 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove , South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual! Introducing the Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove hotel, where the views are spectacular and location perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove Hotel Miami
Doubletree Coconut Grove
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.