We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, rooms are old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove to your Saves list
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2649 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #71 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff, rooms are old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days doing business in Miami. Hotel has good location in the Coconut Grove area. Staff is friendly, nice lobby area but my room was not ok. It is small, old fashioned, bathroom to small. The positive side is free WIFI. Restaurants in the Coconut Grove area is within walking distance. Do not think I will choose this hotel for my next visit to Miami.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank You for your feedback, we take all our reviews seriously and always look to better our guest’s experience. We offer several room types here at the hotel; our bay view rooms are slightly larger than our non-bay view rooms, although all our rooms are 20% larger than typical hotel rooms. If the next time you are in the area and want to experience one of our premium rooms you can upgrade on line or ask for an upgrade at the desk. We do appreciate you sharing our good service and I’ll certainly share your comments with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    104
    76
    23
    20
See reviews for
59
67
18
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky River, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights the first weekend of November. Had a double corner room facing the supermarket.

The room was comfortable with a balcony.

The service made this 5 stars. Everyone was helpful and friendly. Special mention to the valet that took great care of our group all weekend.

Well done.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, we take pride in everything we do here and always try to make each guests stay a memorable one

We hope to see you back real soon

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed one week for a business trip - fine room (corner 11th floor), very nice pool and good & tastey full breakfast, coffee and sandwhich bistro downstairs. Excellent front desk staff. Whole Foods, Chart House and Monty's eateries just across the street. Mini fridge but no microwave in room but I used the lobby one (snack area) to heat up some tidbits from Whole Foods. I certainly would come back when doing business in the area. It is about a 15 - 20 minute drive to downtown Miami in rush hour. Very nice upscale condo tropical residential area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, we take pride in everything we do here and always try to make each guests stay a memorable one.

We hope to see you back real soon

Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flims Dorf, Graubunden, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. Location not bad: 10 min walk to coconut walk. Bath tub was not properly cleaned and the room looked quite disorganised. Starbucks in the hotel was often closed. Not impressed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks you for your feedback, we take all our feedback seriously and always look to get better by it. I apologize for possibly information not shared with you when you checked in, Starbucks is open 24 hours a day, but you would need to stop by the front desk during closed restaurant hours. Some of our tubs are starting to show wear, and we’re having them professionally refinished throughout the year.
Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I love south Florida and we are headed to Key West for the annual Miami Harley Davidson Poker Run! We booked the room through Marriotts website knowing we like the location near the restaurants and shops in the Grove. When we pulled in the vallet was very helpful finding a secure place for our Harley. The guest services staff is very friendly and professional. They put us in a Bayview room that was fabulous!! We had lunch in the Grove but, stayed in with a bottle of wine and a bite to eat from the Fresh Market across the street so we could enjoy the evening on the balcony.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

I reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do take all our comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Next time you stay with us please stop by and say hello.

Looking for forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was expecting the hotel & room to look like the pictures on Expedia or on Marriott's website. I was disappointed in the quality of the room, it wasn't as plush and luxurious as anticipated. The beds were comfortable. The staff & valet staff were very accommodating. This is a decent location if you are looking for a budget friendly option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

I reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do take all our comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Next time you stay with us please ask for one of our bayfront rooms, we'd gladly upgrade you if avaiable. Thanks you for your kind words on our staff and service.

Looking for forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here last year on a free night and it was perfect for that reason. We stayed here again this year as part of a long weekend and again used a free night stay. They upgraded my partner and I to a suite which was nice and large with great views from the 17th floor. It was great considering it was free. Here are my pros and cons:

Pros:
Location in the grove and easy walking distance to the main area for bars and restaurants. Across the street is a high end grocery store if you want to stock up on food and drinks.
The pool is nicely maintained and the cafe off the pool offers some ok food. Day staff are very friendly but the overnight staff are not. (after 11pm). Public areas are well maintained and nice.

Cons:
Rooms are run down and need a refurbishment. The mattress was so so and the bathroom small. The elevator was not working (one of two) and so getting up and down off the floor was painful. We were there over a weekend and no service over the weekend from the maintainence staff for elevators I guess. Door in the bathroom was peeling at the bottom and needed to be replaced. This courtyard had a great location, nice public areas and terrific day time staff but the room is just very basic and you get what you pay for. SO if you get a good rate, and know you are out except to sleep it is fine. What I did not like was the overnight staff (5am) when I came down asking for information. They were very unfriendly. We asked for a late check out as a result of status and he gave us an hour. The day before the desk agent said no problem we are wide open and just come down in the morning. We went out for the morning came back and the day staff extended our stay until 3pm. As well the overnight desk clerk did not change our key cards so we could get back into the room. So that meant another trip upstairs on a very slow elevator and a long wait to go back downstairs to have the keycard changed. Sloppy customer service by the night agent. I asked for two pool towels as we were going snorkeling (hence the need for the late checkout) and was told you cannot take towels to the beach. I said ok, went outside took two pool towels and went snorkeling. How can you have a hotel close to the water and not expect your guests to need beach towels? These were very basic medium size cheap hotel towels. Come on. Not a good customer service policy.

Room Tip: try a corner room. Good views with a Balcony. Avoid the ones with a high cement wall. Some have r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your review,
I reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay with us; we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize if your room did not meet your expectaton. Since your stay with us we've had the elevator reparied and the room has been updated along with new mattresses in some of our rooms. We have taken corrective action to ensure that these challenges do not occur again.
Thank you
We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Address: 2649 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove , South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual! Introducing the Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove hotel, where the views are spectacular and location perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove Hotel Miami
Doubletree Coconut Grove
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.