We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove to your Saves list
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2649 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #71 of 129 Hotels in Miami
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

PROS: This hotel has a great location in Coconut Grove; expedient valet parking and gracious staff. A lovely pool area invites relaxation.
CONS: The bathroom lacks shelves to put your toiletries. Rooms need a safe. There are safes available behind the front desk. They give you a key with the safe’s number on it. When you ask for your valuables, they do not ask for an ID nor signature. Nothing. I told the employees that they must ask for ID's and they looked at me like I was from Mars. If anyone finds your safe key, they are welcome to your possessions. Also no private area to withdraw your tiara from the safe.
Another problem is the lack of a restaurant or coffee shop on premises. There is a Starbuck’s counter area with some salads, muffins, bagels, sandwiches etc, but they are closed from 10:00 to 11:00 am and early in the PM. Fresh Market across the street has a wonderful bakery and prepared foods, but no coffee.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review, we take all our guest feedback seriously.
We have added a Bistro restaurant adjacent to our pool that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner and we hope you have the time to stay with us again and enjoy the new trendy menu.
If next time you need more privacy when using your safety deposit box please ask to use our back office behind the desk
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how your stay was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    105
    77
    23
    22
See reviews for
63
68
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Room 912. We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in Coconut Grove for one night and was very impressed. It was a quick check in and staff was super friendly. Alexis checked us in and told us about the local area since this was our first time in Miami. We were informed about the area around Cocowalk. Lobby was very open and welcoming. The business center, pool, snack shop, cafe were all located in the lobby area. We were assigned room 916 with bay view and balcony. What a room! Small but very clean. We had a view of the bay and the pool. Watched the sunrised from our balcony was amazing. We were very impressed how clean the room was. Spotless and the sheets were super white! The gym was adequate and had the necessary equipments for a good workout. Equipments were cleaned and organized with plenty of clean fresh towels. Pool area was great! But come early to reserve the tents if you burn easily! Very limited on shady areas if you are trying to avoid the sun.

Pros: clean, friendly staff, great attractions within walking distance, relaxing, and great Internet deals for weekend trips! Our room was only $99 with breakfast for two

Cons: parking ($25), limited street parking, and that's it!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

I reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do take all our comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Next time you stay with us please stop by and say hello

Looking for forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were invited to surprise birthday party as well as an informal gathering of friends this weekend. Both events were in Coconut Grove and we lived near Homestead Fl., almost 1 hour away. On the day of the event, we booked the Courtyard at a great rate through the Marriotts' website. We arrived in the early afternoon to check in and the lady at the counter was very helpful. We were given a room with a view of the bay. It was a beautiful location along Bayshore Drive which is a lush tropical section in the Grove. The hotel is directly across the street from Fresh Market, so we walked over and got some wine and snacks for later in the evening. Our room reservation included breakfast which was made to order. Valet parking is almost $25.00 a night, but fortunately for us, we were able to park on the street for a couple of hours until after midnight till 9:00 am when parking tickets are not issued.

We particularly liked the coziness of the room as well as the balcony view of the bay. The hotel has a large outdoor pool which we tried early the next day. We decided to get a late checkout until 2:00 pm to enjoy the pool, the room, and the quiet as long as possible. We have lived in the Miami area for years and did not know about this hotel. It was a great find.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

I reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do take all our comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Next time you stay with us please stop by and say hello

Looking for forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This Courtyard, a former Doubletree Hotel, in the Coconut Grove area of Miami offered a tremendous weekend rate of $70 per night. My overall impressions were that this was a clean hotel, good service, with a terrific pool. You are within walking distance of the Cocoa Walk shopping area in Coconut Grove where there are a variety of restaurants, cafes and shops. You are directly across the street from a Food Market, if you needed to purchase anything as well as a Chart House restaurant. The high floors offer a spectacular view of the bay and the marina, so be sure to ask for that kind of room. The pool was a good size, and even when there were several people in the pool, it still felt like there was plenty of room.

What I disliked, although not enough that I wouldn't come back here, are two things in particular. First, they only offer valet parking. I found that to be annoying that whenever you wanted to drive somewhere, you needed to wait until your car was retrieved. Oh and it was $20 per night for guests and $12 per night for visitors. Hmmm. That seems a little backward.

The second major drawback is that you do need a car to go anywhere else but Cocoa Walk in Coconut Grove. South Beach is about a 15 minute drive. The closest beach is Key Biscayne, and even that is about a 5 to 7 minute drive. Definitely too far to walk.

The staff were extremely friendly and the valet parkers were very helpful in giving us recommendations for food and dining. Although breakfast and lunch are served atthe hotel and there is a Starbucks smaller cafe there.

The hotel is located on South Bayshore Drive, which is an alternate way to get to downtown Miami, so it is also a bit noisy here with lots of traffic. Another reason to get a high floor.

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

I reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do take all our comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Next time you stay with us please stop by and say hello

Looking for forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale Estates, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed at this location from 7/21 - 7/24, nice lobby area small convenience store located behind check-in counter(asprin, soda, chipts,etc.) Also an area for travelers completed with approx 8-10 pc stations with internet access for you to use. The new lobby kiosk & newly designed breakfast bar area was nice. The only real issue I had with this location which unfortunately is becoming more of the norm for several of their properties is that there is limited parking near this location. There is a parking deck beneath the building but it is only for valet parking which is $20/per night. The location is excellent central to most Miami attractions & locations. Several great restaurants and shopping areas nearby, CocoWalk 5 minute walk away & Kennedy Park across the street near marina. Fifteen minutes from downtown Bayside Marketplace, about a 20 minute drive from South Beach, US-1 to the A1A, 30 minutes from Aventura Mall. When we checked in was told we were being upgraded to a suite, it appears all of the rooms may be suites you can see on the sign at top of building that this was formerly a DoubleTree Hotel, room was spacious, king sized bed in my suite 1601, refrigerator no microwave. However if you don't mind going to the lobby area there is a microwave you can use there . Flat screen tv's in both the bedroom & "living room" area only showing local basic cable tv programming, HBO/ESPN. The bathroom is tiny, shower & toilet which is more than enough in most cases but by far smallest bathroom I've ever seen in a commercial property hotel but hey I was clean when I left the bathroom so thats all that matters.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we have since been purchased and renovated to a Marriott Courtyard hotel.
Please come back and enjoy Marriott service and luxury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed that overnight with 2 kids. The room was ok. Nothing special and very standard. The bathroom was ok as well. The pool was nice especially for the kids. Overall the location was great especially being a relatively close walk to Cocowalk which was nice. The location was pretty central which was something great. But recommended to drive around since we didnt notice any public transportation around. The thing I didnt like about the hotel was the service. We called the reception twice for advise on what to do while we were in miami and they sounded a bit annoyed. I didnt appreciate that. In the end it was the valet that actually gave us proper advise.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we have since been purchased and renovated to a Marriott Courtyard hotel.
Please come back and enjoy Marriott service and luxury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

When we arrived I was surprised how nice the lobby was, plus free internet and laptops for guests to use. We got a lovely room with a balcony on the 11th floor. I was very pleased. It was spacious, with a comfortable bed, large flat screen tv, and a view of the city. The room was also very clean. My husband really enjoyed the pool, and the gym. The hotel is in walking distance to shopping and restaurants in the center of Coconut Grove, It is about a 12 minute walk. Across the street is a really nice upscale market. The only problem was parking. The hotel charged $24 a day, so across the street one block south you can park for $20 overnight.THen we discovered that after 12am you can park free on the street till 10am. Meter parking is $1.50 an hour all over Coconut Grove. The hotel was really nice, it is a small hotel, but I would highly recommend it. No restaurant on premises, just a small coffe shop.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

I reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do take all our comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Next time you stay with us please stop by and say hello

Looking for forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Address: 2649 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove , South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual! Introducing the Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove hotel, where the views are spectacular and location perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove Hotel Miami
Doubletree Coconut Grove
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.