We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hall

City Hall
2004 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, FL 33137-5012 (Wynwood - Edgewater)
+1 305-764-3130
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
City Hall is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #278 of 3,415 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Wynwood - Edgewater
Cross street: 20th Street
Description: Steven Haas' new restaurant in Miami. Wow! The food was terrific. Each person in our party of 4 had a dish better than the next. I'd love to share the news!!!
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
728 reviews 728 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“A Nice Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My broyher had mentioned this restaurant a while ago. We were in Miami and decided to try it. A very nice setting that must do very well before theatre because it is located just up the street from the Arsht Performing Arts Center.

WE had both a very good dinner and waiter. A reasonable wine list with good value wines.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    75
    29
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“City Hall is run right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

No politicians here, just fabulous chefs! Just north of the Arsht Performing Arts Center at Biscayne and 20th, convenient free or valet parking behind the restaurant (very important if your running tight timelines with a curtain time) and easy exits to get back to the parking at the APAC. Perfect location for a great dining experience!
Now, the food.....
We started with simple appetizers but they were amazingly satisfying and delicious. Highly recommend the Tuna Tartar (ask for a side sauce of your choice), the Duck Pizza is fantastic, and last but not least the traditional simple Caesar Salad. I know the proper way for this salad to be prepared and served, and City Hall has got it down pat! Delicious and authentic!
We shared a main course of Skirt Steak on a bed of tricolor couscous. Good meat, well seasoned and a perfect match for the couscous which previously I was not a great fan of, but this couscous was large and absolutely delicious. I took a bite of this couscous with every bite of steak, and, not to forget I grabbed a bit of feta cheese and Kalamata olive to top each bite. Incredible flavor experience.
Our seating manager was especially gracious as we told him that this was our 38th wedding anniversary. He offered us a toast of champagne at no charge! He spoke both English and Spanish and was most gracious.
Service was excellent especially considering that this was "Mother's Day" and we had no reservations. Their fixed menu look excellent and we will try this eatery again in the near future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven H, Owner at City Hall, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Gary W,
thank you so much for taking the time to write. We truly appreciate the review and hope that whenever you are in Miami you will make City Hall your go to destination! Next time you are in please introduce yourself to me.
thanks again
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good restaurant with unique menus/drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went there for dinner and enjoyed the so called "performance dinner" (35 USD). It consists of appetizer, main meal and desert - for each one out of 4 items could be selected.

The portions were huge and in a way unique. It was really hard to eat up everything.

Tip: Go for the cocktails and special drinks. They were really delicious.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't order the mussels!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

While the service was bad - from the host to the waiter to the busboy - let's get to the real reason why I will NEVER go back or recommend this restaurant. I orderd the linguine with mussels and from the moment they set the plate down in front of me, there was a distinct smell...best way to describe it? Feces from a port-a-potty! Everyone at my table could smell it!!! The excuse? Mussels sometimes have a strong "ocean" smell?! Really?! Terrible place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven H, Owner at City Hall, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I am sorry that you did not like the mussels that did come in just two hours prior to your visit. but you also forgot to mention in your review how you intimidated your table and put everyone in a bad mode when you arrive because you could not decide on where to sit. you also forgot to mention that we not only did not charge you for the mussels but also bought your lunch as well.So since you have decided that you are a critic you must also mention the Whole story and not just bits and pieces
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food close to our hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This restaurant was a recommendation by our hotel concierge. As we were tired after a long drive from Orlando;the restaurant was only a few minutes walk from the hotel and it was starting to rain, we decided to give it a try. From the outside it didn't look very promising, but I persuaded my husband to have a look inside and we are glad we did. It was busy with a good atmosphere and we were seated at a window booth by a smiling hostess from which we could watch the passersby on Biscayne Blvd.
The food was good and I ate from the 3 course special menu which I thought was good value. The drinks however we thought were expensive. Service was good apart from one incidence where a waiter brought a plate of food to the table, put it down without saying a word and walked off! We complained to the manager about it and it was dealt with.
Overall we would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Hall also viewed

 

Been to City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.