We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Villas at Doral

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Villas at Doral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Villas at Doral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 NW 87th Ave, Miami, FL 33178   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #15 of 129 hotels in Miami
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott's Villas at Doral and had a wonderful, comfortable stay.

The property is spotless and the staff are so very polite and helpful.

We were impressed by the number of daily activities offered throughout our stay to include recreation, crafts and food. Any age range would find something to do at the resort.

The only down sides are the condo development construction next door which can be seen and heard from all buildings and amenities and the regular noise from the flight path to Miami airport.

We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Villas at Doral, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Villas at Doral! We are glad to hear you had a great time at the resort during your visit. We hope you can visit us again and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    118
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
150
57
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days prior to a cruise. We found the hotel to be clean, spacious , well appointed and like a home away from home. Although the property is small compared to other Marriott Vacation Club properties, it's nicely laid out and most villas overlook the lake. The pool area allows for lazing about on lounge chairs. There is one large sized hot tub with lights that change colors at night. Cute! There is a little sandy area where kids can build sand castles which is right by the lake. The gym is small but adequate to get a good work out, and there is a quiet room for reading or playing cards adjacent to the lobby. For golfers there is a golf course and for people like me who play mini golf, there is one of those too! And it's free! All in all, a nice, safe, conveniently located MVC property. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again .

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction. It will be quieter and afford a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the smaller resorts in collection, nevertheless rooms are spacious and comfortable. Although close to the airport and overhead noises from plane traffic was constant, we quickly learned to tune it out and ignore. Sore point is the Wi-Fi service, it's often slow and sometimes unavailable. All in all, a great resort; staff friendly and very helpful; no pressure from the sales team, all good. Less than perfect experience due to frustrations with Wi-Fi service

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Villas at Doral, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We appreciate your positive review of Marriott’s Villas at Doral! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us while in Miami. Our team also appreciates your feedback about the internet access and will look into this further with our internet provider. Thank you again for your review and we hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is our second time staying at this resort. All the villas are 2 bedrooms and very spacious with upgraded appliances and very comfortable furniture. We stayed on the 5th floor and had a beautiful view of the lake and golf course from our balcony. The staff is extremely helpful and the resort has some fun activities. I highly recommend the dinner trip to the Cuban restaurant. The pool is beautiful and there are plenty of lounge chairs and cabanas. They opened an onsite restaurant since we stayed there last called Deco's and the food was delicious. This is a place we will definitely return to.

Room Tip: I would recommend a high floor. There are elevators in every building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Villas at Doral, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
On behalf of our entire team, we thank you for your five-star review of Marriott’s Villas at Doral! We are thrilled you loved your stay with us and enjoyed the new Deco's Bar & Grille. Our team looks forward to your next vacation with us in Miami!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were visiting the area and had 3 adults and two children in our party. We needed space for everyone to sleep and we had plenty. There are two pull out couches (one queen, one double) and two beds. The kitchen area is large and has everything you need (dishes, utensils, glasses, pot holders, etc). The washer and dryer seemed new. The living room/dining room area is large and accommodating. You can turn the tv from the living room towards the dining room table which my kids enjoyed. There are three large, flat screen TV's in the suite. The two bedrooms are large and comfortable with lots of pillows and lots of closet/dresser space. There is one small safe. I think each bedroom should have one but there is just one for the suite. The bathrooms were both nice with the "master bath" having a huge shower in the area with the toilet and a very large tub in the sink area. The balcony was also nice with a table and chairs. The noise from the planes and the Trump hotel construction did not bother us and noises usually do. We were in the Palm building which is the farthest from the construction and although they were very busy over there, we could barely hear it, even on the balcony. The planes are much louder and as others have said, you are on the flight path. They land on one side, take off on the other side of the building. My kids enjoyed looking at the planes coming in and out because they are relatively close. There is not a lot of noise at night from the planes though-usually just during the day. You can hear kids running on the floor above you but it didn't bother us because we have kids and are used to it.
The grounds of the hotel are great and much improved from the last time we were there. The pool is "more" heated than last time but it could definitely stand to be warmer. It is pretty cool at night. There are neat water features that the kids enjoy and it is huge so plenty of room for kids and adults to be in their own areas. They have a chest with toys and balls and noodles to play with. There are large, soft towels at the stand next to the pool. There are also bathrooms you can access from right next to the pool. There is a "restaurant" there that serves lunch and dinner and they have some muffins and coffee in the morning but we have never eaten there. Outdoor and very causal. The hot tub is also large and pretty with water features and it changes colors. :) There is a sandy area with a manatee statue/seat that is cute. Lots of sand toys for the kids to play with and chairs to lounge in. Lots of features such as shuffleboard, giant chess, couches everywhere. It is a great pool! If it were just warmer... You can also use the Trump pools (whatever they have open due to construction.) As you walk away from the pool area, they have a lot of great amenities. They were building a fire pit area (there was also a firepit near the pool), there are BBQ's to use, swinging chairs to sit in and look at the water/golf course, and the fun stuff. The fun stuff is a corn hole and ladder golf area and mini golf with more ladder golf. Lots of turf so it isn't muddy and it is lots of fun! The mini golf has balls, putters and scorecards right there to use. Usually it is empty and it very well maintained. You can also rent fishing pools from the front desk and catch and release in their pond. We didn't but saw a sign you could do that. We didn't see many fish but we did see the staff trying to catch a snake. He didn't. It slithered back in the rocks/water. Yikes. We also saw lots and lots of tiny lizards.
The front desk and housekeeping were very nice. The elevator broke for a while one day and our phones weren't able to retrieve messages but you could call and be connected for that. We got a broken portable crib but they came and switched it out for us right away and they are clean and have these great, washable crib covers I have never seen at any hotel before which I liked. They were VERY nice and let us have a late check out. We needed to call the morning of our departure because it depended on if they were full or not but they very nicely accommodated us. If not, they do allow you to leave your luggage at the desk and use their facilities.
They have planned activities everyday for all ages. Makes it feel very "resort-y". Kids things from S'mores making, sand art, tie dye shirt making (some is free, others cost money) to adult activities like bus trips to restaurants/tours, swim aerobics, movies, etc.
There is a little store in the lobby where you can buy some food and essentials.
There are plenty of grocery stores, fast food and restaurants nearby. You could walk to a restaurant if you really wanted to.
Copying from another review: "Downside: 20-30 minute drive to downtown Miami in busy congested roadways." That is a BIG downside if you are staying here to save money from being in the South Beach or downtown area. The traffic is awful, the traffic lights are LONG, the drivers are not good. We rarely saw one person use their turn signal. I would say it takes at least 45 minutes to get to downtown and that is with normal, daytime traffic.
If you don't plan to go to the city everyday and want a lot of comfortable space, this is a very good place to be!

Room Tip: Ask for late check out the day you check out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Villas at Doral, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Villas at Doral! We truly appreciate your detailed review and thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. Our team also understands your frustration about traffic in Miami. On your next stay, check with our Concierge on current traffic conditions and the best time to travel. This may help alleviate some of the time spent on the road and get you to your destination faster. We hope you return to visit us soon in Miami!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

From the moment we walked in to check in this resort was fabulous. The rooms were clean with everything you would want for a week long stay. I would recommend a bit of an update on the furniture however all of the benefits far outweighed that minor flaw. David at the front desk was fabulous, helpful, friendly and very accommodating.

There is construction going on however I wouldn't have even noticed it if I didn't know it was happening.

Once again way to go Marriott...thank you for a great trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Villas at Doral, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review of Marriott’s Villas at Doral! Your kind words for David are appreciated and will be shared with his managers so he may be recognized. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Miami!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Across the road from trump Doral ( which is totally under very necessary reconstruction) this resort is small with 3 buildings plus the main building. Pool and hit tub at main building. All buildings face a lake and golf courses ( 1 of the 5 Trump courses). Marriott has made good use of the waterfront as all BBQs, children's sand area, game area and minigolf are located along the water. One side of the lake has a condo development under construction- visible from all buildings but didn't bother us. The resort is under the flight path to miami airport which may bother some but we found it interesting to watch the planes approach. We stayed in the Palm bldg the farthest away from the main area but still is only a 2 minute lovely lakeside walk. Our suite was beautifully decorated in warm tones. The layout is angular and interesting giving a very cozy feel to the place. Grocery store and restaurants nearby. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We attended a sales talk while here which was the most informative one and least pressured we have ever had. It retired our faith in Marriott's timeshare program again. Well done Diana!! Downside: 20-30 minute drive to downtown Miami in busy congested roadways.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Villas at Doral, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We are thrilled to hear from one of our valued owners on Tripadvisor! Your kind words for our resort and Diana are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Miami!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Villas at Doral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Villas at Doral

Address: 4101 NW 87th Ave, Miami, FL 33178
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Villas at Doral 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Villas at Doral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Villas At Doral Hotel Miami
Marriotts At Doral
Marriotts Hotel At Doral
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Villas at Doral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.