We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you need the space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Villas at Doral

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Villas at Doral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Villas at Doral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 NW 87th Ave, Miami, FL 33178   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 130 hotels in Miami
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great place if you need the space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were visiting the area and had 3 adults and two children in our party. We needed space for everyone to sleep and we had plenty. There are two pull out couches (one queen, one double) and two beds. The kitchen area is large and has everything you need (dishes, utensils, glasses, pot holders, etc). The washer and dryer seemed new. The living room/dining room area is large and accommodating. You can turn the tv from the living room towards the dining room table which my kids enjoyed. There are three large, flat screen TV's in the suite. The two bedrooms are large and comfortable with lots of pillows and lots of closet/dresser space. There is one small safe. I think each bedroom should have one but there is just one for the suite. The bathrooms were both nice with the "master bath" having a huge shower in the area with the toilet and a very large tub in the sink area. The balcony was also nice with a table and chairs. The noise from the planes and the Trump hotel construction did not bother us and noises usually do. We were in the Palm building which is the farthest from the construction and although they were very busy over there, we could barely hear it, even on the balcony. The planes are much louder and as others have said, you are on the flight path. They land on one side, take off on the other side of the building. My kids enjoyed looking at the planes coming in and out because they are relatively close. There is not a lot of noise at night from the planes though-usually just during the day. You can hear kids running on the floor above you but it didn't bother us because we have kids and are used to it.
The grounds of the hotel are great and much improved from the last time we were there. The pool is "more" heated than last time but it could definitely stand to be warmer. It is pretty cool at night. There are neat water features that the kids enjoy and it is huge so plenty of room for kids and adults to be in their own areas. They have a chest with toys and balls and noodles to play with. There are large, soft towels at the stand next to the pool. There are also bathrooms you can access from right next to the pool. There is a "restaurant" there that serves lunch and dinner and they have some muffins and coffee in the morning but we have never eaten there. Outdoor and very causal. The hot tub is also large and pretty with water features and it changes colors. :) There is a sandy area with a manatee statue/seat that is cute. Lots of sand toys for the kids to play with and chairs to lounge in. Lots of features such as shuffleboard, giant chess, couches everywhere. It is a great pool! If it were just warmer... You can also use the Trump pools (whatever they have open due to construction.) As you walk away from the pool area, they have a lot of great amenities. They were building a fire pit area (there was also a firepit near the pool), there are BBQ's to use, swinging chairs to sit in and look at the water/golf course, and the fun stuff. The fun stuff is a corn hole and ladder golf area and mini golf with more ladder golf. Lots of turf so it isn't muddy and it is lots of fun! The mini golf has balls, putters and scorecards right there to use. Usually it is empty and it very well maintained. You can also rent fishing pools from the front desk and catch and release in their pond. We didn't but saw a sign you could do that. We didn't see many fish but we did see the staff trying to catch a snake. He didn't. It slithered back in the rocks/water. Yikes. We also saw lots and lots of tiny lizards.
The front desk and housekeeping were very nice. The elevator broke for a while one day and our phones weren't able to retrieve messages but you could call and be connected for that. We got a broken portable crib but they came and switched it out for us right away and they are clean and have these great, washable crib covers I have never seen at any hotel before which I liked. They were VERY nice and let us have a late check out. We needed to call the morning of our departure because it depended on if they were full or not but they very nicely accommodated us. If not, they do allow you to leave your luggage at the desk and use their facilities.
They have planned activities everyday for all ages. Makes it feel very "resort-y". Kids things from S'mores making, sand art, tie dye shirt making (some is free, others cost money) to adult activities like bus trips to restaurants/tours, swim aerobics, movies, etc.
There is a little store in the lobby where you can buy some food and essentials.
There are plenty of grocery stores, fast food and restaurants nearby. You could walk to a restaurant if you really wanted to.
Copying from another review: "Downside: 20-30 minute drive to downtown Miami in busy congested roadways." That is a BIG downside if you are staying here to save money from being in the South Beach or downtown area. The traffic is awful, the traffic lights are LONG, the drivers are not good. We rarely saw one person use their turn signal. I would say it takes at least 45 minutes to get to downtown and that is with normal, daytime traffic.
If you don't plan to go to the city everyday and want a lot of comfortable space, this is a very good place to be!

Room Tip: Ask for late check out the day you check out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Villas at Doral, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Villas at Doral! We truly appreciate your detailed review and thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. Our team also understands your frustration about traffic in Miami. On your next stay, check with our Concierge on current traffic conditions and the best time to travel. This may help alleviate some of the time spent on the road and get you to your destination faster. We hope you return to visit us soon in Miami!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    115
    29
    4
    5
See reviews for
142
57
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

From the moment we walked in to check in this resort was fabulous. The rooms were clean with everything you would want for a week long stay. I would recommend a bit of an update on the furniture however all of the benefits far outweighed that minor flaw. David at the front desk was fabulous, helpful, friendly and very accommodating.

There is construction going on however I wouldn't have even noticed it if I didn't know it was happening.

Once again way to go Marriott...thank you for a great trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Villas at Doral, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review of Marriott’s Villas at Doral! Your kind words for David are appreciated and will be shared with his managers so he may be recognized. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Miami!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Across the road from trump Doral ( which is totally under very necessary reconstruction) this resort is small with 3 buildings plus the main building. Pool and hit tub at main building. All buildings face a lake and golf courses ( 1 of the 5 Trump courses). Marriott has made good use of the waterfront as all BBQs, children's sand area, game area and minigolf are located along the water. One side of the lake has a condo development under construction- visible from all buildings but didn't bother us. The resort is under the flight path to miami airport which may bother some but we found it interesting to watch the planes approach. We stayed in the Palm bldg the farthest away from the main area but still is only a 2 minute lovely lakeside walk. Our suite was beautifully decorated in warm tones. The layout is angular and interesting giving a very cozy feel to the place. Grocery store and restaurants nearby. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We attended a sales talk while here which was the most informative one and least pressured we have ever had. It retired our faith in Marriott's timeshare program again. Well done Diana!! Downside: 20-30 minute drive to downtown Miami in busy congested roadways.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Villas at Doral, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We are thrilled to hear from one of our valued owners on Tripadvisor! Your kind words for our resort and Diana are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Miami!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was our first time here and the place is spotless. We wished we were on the beach but this place is pretty convenient to Miami, Miami beach and northern locations as it's close to a highway. The staff if very helpful and friendly - no one passes you without saying hello. Pool is nice but loses sun in early afternoon. Pool bar has great staff, especially MariaKarla. And it had good "pool" food. Would definitely return and recommend!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Wonderful experience, spacious rooms, kitchen and two bathrooms. Able to fit 6 women comfortable. Very quiet and staff was extremely friendly. Able to find packing late at night after partying and lot was very well lit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Villas at Doral, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We are happy to read your five-star review of Marriott’s Villas at Doral! Our team appreciates your kind words for our associates who assisted you during your stay. We look forward to your next girl’s vacation to Miami!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The villas are located right next to the famous Big Blue golf course next to Trumps. Close to the airport and highways.
The grounds are very nice; the pool is very nice as well. The pool is not heated, I know that sounds funny but the pool was in the shade most evenings during November months making the pool temps a little low. However there is a hot tub close by to warm you up. If you’re in the hot tub at night the bar staff will bring fun snacks to you, we had smores on night. The bar restaurant is not bad, prices are OK for the area, drinks are what you would expect from a hotel.
The rooms are very nice, they only issue I had was the noise and the hot water. The noise from kids and bands that where in the pool can be loud, but by 11pm it’s very quiet. The hot water didn’t last long; I assume it had something to do with the construction next door. Filling up the very large tub was an issue if you need a soak.
Just a tip for cooking the room, you need to purchase everything; there is no salt, pepper, Pam cooking spray, etc.
The staff was great, they very nice and helpful.
The only bad thing I encounter was the noise; the villas are under the flight path of the airport, so you will hear jets from about 7:30 am until 11 pm. There is also a lot of noise from the main road, but it to dies down at night.
I did not contact the staff for any of my issues, not sure what they could have done.

Room Tip: for cooking the room, you need to purchase everything; there is no salt, pepper, Pam cooking spray...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Villas at Doral, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of Marriott’s Villas at Doral. Our team is disappointed we did not exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us. On your next visit, please feel free to reach out to our front desk team if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We look forward to your next visit with us so we may truly exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

It was our first time at this Marriott and was booked as others had been good. Good location for access to shopping, interstates, Sunlife Stadium and not too far from the beach or downtown. Free parking, spacious suite for us and our toddler, good pool and pleasant and helpful staff. Yes, it's under the flight path but it was not that bad at all. We found it relaxing to sit in the balcony first thing in the morning watching the sun rise, the planes coming in and the golf course opposite waking up. The down sides: the exterior corridors and stairs were dirty (dust, dirt, cigarette butts and ash) and bins were overflowing with mainly shopping bags most days; very loud parties on the bottom floor all weekend which we could hear on the fourth floor; we were so glad we weren't in the building adjacent to the building work as mentioned as the noise did start early! But overall, very good and we would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Villas at Doral, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Our team is thrilled you had a wonderful stay with us at Marriott's Villas at Doral. We are happy to hear that your family enjoyed the resort amenities and luxury villa accommodations. Your feedback about areas of improvement is also important to us. We look forward to your next visit with us and appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Villas at Doral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Villas at Doral

Address: 4101 NW 87th Ave, Miami, FL 33178
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Miami
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Villas at Doral 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Villas at Doral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Villas At Doral Hotel Miami
Marriotts At Doral
Marriotts Hotel At Doral
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Villas at Doral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.