We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Marriott property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Villas at Doral

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Villas at Doral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Villas at Doral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 NW 87th Ave, Miami, FL 33178   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #16 of 130 Hotels in Miami
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Marriott property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Four of us just returned from Marriott's Villas at Doral and had a wonderful 7 night stay, June 29-July 6, 2013. The two bedroom, two bath unit we had in the Palm Building (Building 7) was clean and comfortable. Units have full kitchens and washer/dryers in-unit. The master bedroom had a large tub in the open area directly adjacent to a double sink vanity near the king size bed. The large shower and the toilet are in a more traditional location in a bathroom with door. Since we were traveling with two teenage boys, the extra bedroom would have been better to have two twin beds. Instead, there is a double/full and a pull-out sofa which made space a little tight when set up. A single vanity bathroom with combo shower/tub is directly adjacent to the second bedroom. The boys didn't complain about their set-up, and one mentioned the pull-out was very comfortable.

The property has several good amenities including a salt-water swimming pool, game room, workout/exercise room with weights, mats and about ten machines, all in very good condition. My wife and I worked out a couple of times during our stay and were happy with the room. The game room has a pool table, ping-pong, shuffle board and a few arcade games including air hockey table (extra cost). Outdoors (for free) there is a small 9-hole mini golf, some bean bag and toss games set up on the artificial turf scattered around the walkways, and near the pool, a giant chess set and full size shuffle board. Our family had a fun Mom & Dad vs. teenagers playing all of the games. Mom & Dad lost, of course, (especially bad in ping pong)!

Activities are scheduled throughout the day, every day. We were busy exploring Miami, driving down to the Keys, kayaking at John Pennecamp State Park, going to free(!!) first Wednesday at Fairchild Botanical Gardens, and just playing around the property and by the pool, so we didn't participate much except for a) Happy hour at the Deco bar (try a mojito or sangria, plus chicken wings), and b) the Dive-in movies shown on the giant inflatable screen near the pool. We were there on July 4th and fireworks show in the nearby Doral community park were spectacular and visible from the stairwells on the higher floors, especially closer to the main lobby building. We actually could see the distant firework shows to the east in Miami, and to the south (Key Largo?). No need to get caught in traffic and the local park fireworks show lasted the longest!

This Marriott property is also across from the Trump Doral resort and golf course. We didn't have a need to visit but we were told there is still renovation construction going on which had shut down some restaurants while we were there. Marriott guests have courtesy access and use of the pools and facilities across the street at Trump.

One of the best features of this Marriott is the Villas at Doral staff. My wife and I both agree that the employees and service at this Marriott are some of the best! Everyone was super friendly and helpful. On our second full day (Monday), we put some laundry into our in-unit washer and left to sight see in the deco district in Miami Beach. When we got back that evening, our clothes were sitting in a full tub of water. The drain and spin cycle did not work in any wash mode. We thought, uh oh, bad start to our stay, we'll probably have to move to another unit, what do we do with a full tub of wash water and wet clothes? So we called the front desk and within 10 minutes, a property maintenance engineer was at our unit, had diagnosed the problem and told us he might have a spare control unit. He did, and within an hour, the washer was taken apart, repaired and put together again, -- and we were soo happy to be able to do laundry on our vacation. A big Thank you to the Marriott Doral maintenance staff!!

We also have to compliment both front desk and the Deco Bar & Grill staff. Always helpful, friendly and informative. And the bartender makes a great sangria!

One caveat - If you are looking for full-service restaurants and bars, dance clubs, multiple swimming pools and loud crowds, this isn't the right place for you. However, if you are looking for a nice base of operations for your vacation in Doral, Miami, the Keys and surrounding south Florida, this Marriott property, its amenities and staff are highly recommended.

Room Tip: Others have pointed out the pool, Deco bar, game room and lobby can be quite a walk for some people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    119
    30
    6
    5
See reviews for
154
58
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester uk
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Quite a long way from the beach with lots of traffic the resort itself is very good clean and quiet the units are very well equipped washer dryer modern fridge freezer cooker .pool very clean and well kept

Room Tip: Ask for room near pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in the Palm Building. This is the building farthest away from the pool. We were happy with that location because it was quiet. But being closer to the pool could be an advantage for people with children or those with mobility issues. The room was clean and quite spacious. Although I had been worried about the noise from the planes landing at the airport, that was not an issue at all. In fact it was fun to see the planes coming in and I would regard the proximity to the airport as a positive overall. The resort itself is well maintained and the staff could not have been nicer. Everyone was so sweet and helpful! There is no restaurant on site but there are many restaurants nearby, as well as a Publix supermarket. Bottom line -- although there are fancier places to stay, this is a great place to have as a base if you want to explore Miami.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We recently had a great stay at the Marriott Villas at Doral. Check-in was a breeze and the villa was amazing. Everything was clean, neat, and the villa was well stocked in all areas. The property is well maintained and the pool area is kept clean with plenty of fresh towels. The Doral area is centrally located for exploring the area, and despite being quite close to the airport we heard very little noise inside of our villa. I can't say enough great things about this property. We would come back hear in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union,nj
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Staying at the Marriott Villas at Doral was a good choice for us! The area was quite close to all the major highways~Miami and South Beach were 30 minutes away, Fort Lauderdale about 45 minutes, and we ever took a pleasant 3 hour drive to key West! We were minutes from the Miami Airport,though we opted for Fort Lauderdale,minutes from the Marlins' Stadium(hey, they won while we were in attendance!),and minutes from the Miccosaukee Indian Casino Resort. There are a lot of nice restaurants on Doral Blvd, and the Villas are on the Doral Golf Course.
Trump now owns The Doral Resort and Spa across the street, but the Marriot guests have access to the facilities~they even have a free shuttle! We spent a day at the Spa~it was wonderful!
The two bedroom suite we had was in the Reception Building by the pool. It was newly renovated and very nicely appointed. I understand that all of the buildings have now been renovated.
The staff was very friendly and eager to please. We would, without a doubt, stay here again if we were going to Miami

Room Tip: We liked the Reception Building because it had the pool,but I believe,in the mid of summer, it could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics. UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband & I are MVCI owners & opted to exchange into this property as part of our month long road trip to Florida. We are not disappointed. Arriving on Friday after a long drive from Orlando we were greeted by a very charming Brittany who immediately stated that our requested room on the top floor of the Palm building was not avaiable due to an elevator break down. A little disappointed we accepted a 4th floor room in Hibiscus which although beautiful did have a plam tree outside the main bedroom window somewhat limiting the view. No problem early next morning we moved up to the top floor & it is wonderful.
Yes, as per other reviews, if you hate aircraft noise & looking at planes making their descent into MIA whilst on your balcony then stay away, for us it is no problem whatsoever. Though saying that there are no planes today as the wind direction has changed.

This property overlooks a beautiful lake & golf course & is in reach of both Miami & South Beach. A drive of about 30 mins dependant on traffic. Miami is a big city so expect the worst.

The only criticism about the villas is that the white goods, certainly in this room, are badly in need of replacement. They still work perfectly but are no way tip top. Apart from that everything is great. Two bedrooms /two baths, 3 flat screen TV's .....all the usual.
However this is a Vacation Club & not a 5* hotel so accept that there is no room service unless you are prepared to pay. There is no restaurant or a beautiful landscaped pool & garden but it serves it's purpose well & you don't expect Hawaii when you stay in a suburb of Miami, or at least you shouldn't.

I will say we have stayed in more luxurious Vacation Clubs around the world but this is just fine & we would certainly recommend a stay here. Particularly if you don't want to pay the hotel prices on South Miami Beach. You do need transport, even for visiting nearby eateries, Publix & Walmart.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

BEAUTIFUL!!! The Villas & balcony are SPACIOUS and the view looks over the lake to the gold course on the other side!!! GREAT gas grills to BBQ, mini golf, horseshoes, bags, daily activites. Great Sports bar across the street. Lots of space by the pool area and the bar & grill was a great place to grab a snack. The grounds are very well kept and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Villas at Doral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Villas at Doral

Address: 4101 NW 87th Ave, Miami, FL 33178
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Villas at Doral 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marriott's Villas at Doral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Villas At Doral Hotel Miami
Marriotts At Doral
Marriotts Hotel At Doral
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Villas at Doral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.