We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent golf holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Villas at Doral

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Villas at Doral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Villas at Doral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 NW 87th Ave, Miami, FL 33178   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #15 of 129 hotels in Miami
Madrid
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent golf holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We exchanged our timeshare in Spain for a week at the villas at Doral. We got plenty of space, newly refurbished apartment with a view over one of the five golf courses at the famous Doral resort. Very kind and efficient staff, and great service during the stay. You can call a free shuttle anytime to take you to and from the golf club. There are fast heating gas barbecues at your disposal at ground level.
Loads of restaurants within a few minutes drive, and near the attractions of Miami. We found absolutely nothing to be unhappy about except the extremely noisy fridge! Highly recommended for golfers.

Room Tip: All the 'villas' overlook the Great White golf course. The communal pool is below building 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    118
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
151
57
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountainside, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This Marriott property is an oasis. The property has the warmest most attentive staff that I have experienced in my travels. From the GM Raul to the Concierge David everyone at the front desk- Lindsey,Louis,Laura to Pedro the chauffer(back and forth to the Country Club). Want to feel like you are special- VISIT THIS PROPERTY. Experience this property and Golf at Doral or go to the Spa.
Thanks to everyone for making our anniversary special.

Room Tip: Bldg 5 or 6 high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in early February after we stayed in Key West for 5 nights. We drove to Key West from MIA so upon returning we decided to stay in Miami for 1 night so that we had enough time to catch our flight home. This hotel was great for what we needed. It was close to the airport and our room was very clean. All the villas have 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. That was way more space than what we needed (not complaining). This hotel would be perfect for families. The only thing I wasn't crazy about was that the bed was a little hard. Other than that we had a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed here the first week of February. The units are lovely, modern furniture and very well equipped as is the case for all Marriott timeshares. The units overlook a lake with a fountain in the middle which is a lovely with a golf course in the background. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. It is just opposite the Marriott Doral hotel and you can use the facilities there. If you don't want to walk the 5 minutes it takes, they will happily drive you there at the drop of a hat. Doral is a quiet residential area with a lot of big businesses but close enough to get into Miami. The car journey takes 15-20 minutes when the traffic is good. We were with my children in their 20's who partied in Miami at night. A taxi back costs 40 dollars.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here for a week as a family. Check in was easy but the crib we requested and confirmed was not in the room and it was late at night. The room itself is very nice. Great kitchen, dining room, three flat screen tv's, two bathrooms, a shower that could fit 8 people, a large soaking tub in the master, a nice balcony and comfortable beds. It is a updated, spacious apartment.
The cleaning was not up to usual hotel standards. They call it a "tidying service" meaning they change the towels, sometimes the sheets, empty the garbage and wipe down but no toilet or shower or floor cleaning. Can get messy with a young child in the room. I know the rooms are larger but I imagine many of the vacation timeshare owners don't even use the housekeeping service everyday. The room was still clean except there were definitely scattered small hairs in the bathroom when we arrived and some mold in the shower. The sound between the rooms is good. I rarely every heard the neighbors talking except through the vents in the bathroom. The planes fly RIGHT next to the hotel (on both sides) but it isn't too bad and they were usually done by bedtime.
The grounds are nice. There is a walking path, nice bbq's to use, a large hot tub and a large pool. Unfortunately the pool is cold and only gets sun in the morning. Once noon hits, it is too cold to swim and we are swimming fanatics. The chairs around the pool also don't get much sun in the afternoon so the few people that wanted the fresh air were huddled around the pool fully dressed. If you want GREAT pools, go across the street to Doral Golf and Spa Resort (where you have privileges and a shuttle to take you to and fro). The pools are beautiful, plentiful and one is as hot as bath water. It was great. They also have a waterslide but it was broken while we were there. When it is 90 degrees out, the pool temperature is probably not a problem but high season is winter. The pool should be heated as much as Doral's.
There are lots of activities planned daily but many of them require reservations or cost money. Seemed like very few people did the activities. Some were great and some were a real rip off. $15 for them to give you plain, white t-shirts and some squirty dye for YOU to make tie dye t-shirts? Seriously? And you needed a reservation for that ahead of time. The activities could use some work. No free breakfast here.
The distance to Miami Beach/Downtown and Ft Lauderdale is a haul to do everyday. At least 30 mins to Miami Downtown and 45 to Ft Lauderdale. If you are staying for business in the (industrial) area or golfing at the Doral and need a large room, it is a great option. If you are going to be in Miami Beach everyday, stay somewhere closer. There is a lot of stuff around the hotel such as grocery stores, restaurants and shopping.
All in all, the room was nice but I wouldn't pay $325 a night again to stay here (we didn't but that was the house rate). The space in the room doesn't make up for the other small annoyances at that price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Good apartments,all overlooking a lake. Accross the road is a Marriott golf hotel. You can use the golf and other amenities there and a shuttle bus will take you if you dont want to walk.The hotel has several restaurants and live music in the evening.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This a fine timeshare property across the street from Doral Golf course facilities. Rooms were spacious, clean and fairly modern. Free wi-fi in the rooms. Doral golf complex is across the street and easily walkable, although Marriott does provide frequent shuttle service to that facility. Activities were fun and well-organized. Nice large pool, fitness facility was good. Only slight negative was not having nearby restaurants, but no problem if you have a car.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Villas at Doral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Villas at Doral

Address: 4101 NW 87th Ave, Miami, FL 33178
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Miami
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Villas at Doral 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Villas at Doral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Villas At Doral Hotel Miami
Marriotts At Doral
Marriotts Hotel At Doral
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Villas at Doral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.