We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great rates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 NW LeJeune Rd, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #28 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Orleans
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Great rates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We came to stay at this hotel after a terrible night at the Fairfield Inn MIA West. What a transformation! The hotel was a very nice business class hotel. The free wi-fi in the public areas was really appreciated and provided a great working space. The sports bar is beautiful. A great and comfortable place to hang out and watch a good game. The hotel staff were pleasant and very accomodating. They kept placing us in rooms which were already occupied and were extremely apologetic, though we were quite understanding as it was superbowl weekend and many guests decided to stay rather than check-out as planned. The manager was not happy about this and upgraded our room to an alergy free room and provided us with free snacks.

The room and bathrooms were clean, nicely decorated and very large. We had a great view of the city skyline and golf course on the 10th floor. The bathroom was quite spacious for a hotel bathroom and the shower very nice though the water could be hotter. But that just be me as I like my shower scorching hot. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were entirely too soft.

Other than that everything was great! We really enjoyed our stay and got a great rate at the last minute considering it was Superbowl weekend.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    255
    78
    22
    13
See reviews for
158
163
41
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Stayed here for a month supporting JTF-Haiti, January-February 2010. Couldn't ask for a cleaner place. Very modern, excellent rooms. Check-in takes forever as they only have two people to handle a constant stream of guests. Don't bother eating or drinking in Champions as it takes them forever to seat you, take your order and deliver food. Had my vehicle broken into twice while there, as well as three of my colleagues. These were a complete surprise to hotel management, but speaking with their security, it's been a problem for as long as the property as been here. This part of Miami has a high crime rate, and apparently thieves drive onto the property at will, despite a gate.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
390 reviews 390 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Stayed for about a week over New Year's. I know it is an airport hotel, but for the service and value, I think I'll stay here on future Miami trips. Gorgeous Courtyard rooms with lovely Marriott bedding. Good water pressure in the bathroom. Spotless house keeping. Hardly any noise from the planes. Pay $13 per day for parking. About a 10-15 minute drive to South Beach (we would get there early each morning and had no problem getting street metered parking for the day). Bar food is pretty good and the little convience shop has drinks and snacks. There is even onsite laundry (they give you Tide for free). Massive fitness room and an outdoor pool. Used the airport shuttle. Staff was incredibly nice and helpful. My only complaint is that they need more staff - things got crazy in the lobby at times with massive groups checking in and out.

Have a great time in Miami!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecheria, Venezuela
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

The decor and linens in this Courtyard were good, looked similar to a newer Marriott room.
This hotel seems new and modern. It is located adjacent to other Marriott chains, with the main Marriott having a great restaurant (we walked over and had fish for dinner).

My complaints:
- Check-in process was painfully slow after a long international flight. I was behind an airline crew, and there were only 2 employees checking guests in
- The shuttle to the airport in the morning was delayed. The number of guests waiting kept growing and people were getting upset. I finally took a taxi to the airport (it was about $10).
- ATM was out of cash

Stayed November 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

My husband and myself are un-fussy travelers and this trip was for shopping/relaxation. The rooms are nicely decorated and all seemed very clean except some hair on the bathroom floor (yuck). But otherwise very clean. Note that all rooms and restaurants/lounges are non-smoking which wouldn't normally bother us but it was very chilly this week and we were on the 3rd floor (no blaconies or opening windows) We decided instead to ask front desk if there were any bar/grills in the area that allowed smoking. Front desk told us usually not. Well, we are aware that most places no longer allow smoking but were hoping she would be able to check or help us especially as the only phone book behind the desk was entirely in Spanish and there was none in the room. All in all, nice place but would have appreciated a bit more effort into customer service.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We got a special promotional rate that included free parking. It is southeast of the Miami International airport, and you can hear the planes. Though it did not bother our sleep. The hotel is very new and well decorated. The rooms are large and comfortable. The air conditioning is super quiet, and the elevators are very quick.

The area is in a not so great area, but the hotel is on a campus of a full Marriott, a Residence Inn, Courtyard and Fairfield Inn. The lobby includes a touch screen board that is interactive and can help with restaurants, directions and other information.

The only minor complaints are: access from the exit ramp from the Expressway going W. does not allow you to make a left turn from a multi-lane busy highway into the driveway, and you have to go one or more blocks around to get to the driveway which is gated and controlled by the room key. There is a lot of traffic during rush hours. The other complaint is the water is not hot enough during the evening when everyone is using hot water. Usually this is a problem in older hotels.

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this property for one night prior to cruising from the Port of Miami. The location is very good because of it's proximity to the airport and the port. The hotel has a free shuttle to-and-from the airport, however, it is not clearly marked where to be picked up from.

When we got to the Miami airport, we went to the top level (the departures level outside ticketing/check-in) and went out to the curb. This is where all hotel shuttles drop-off and pick-up at the airport, so we figured we'd wait there. We went to the covered shelter that says "Hotel Shuttles," which is on the outside lanes of the departures area. We quickly noticed that all hotel shuttles were driving on the inside lane, so we called the hotel. The person who answered said they didn't know where the shuttle picked up from, only that it runs in a loop every 30 minutes.

We did go to the inner loop, and I stepped out in front of cars to flag it down. Not difficult, but a bit more direction from those at the front desk would be helpful. After boarding, it was a five-minute drive to the hotel.

The hotel is situated on a 'Marriott' campus with a Residence Inn and a Marriott hotel. They share restaurants, pool, fitness center, etc., and it is a nice area. We decided not to eat at any of the restaurants, so we walked a few blocks down the road and at dinner at a local place.

About 30 minutes after arriving, we went to the front desk to sign up for the shuttle to the port the next morning, and a gentleman put us on a list for 11:15 a.m. We were third on the list, but there were no further instructions other than to be at the front door by that time.

The next morning, we were downstairs by 11 a.m. and a large crowd (20-30 people) had already assembled outside for the shuttle. We joined the group, and soon a shuttle bus pulled up. The driver got off and asked for a party of three (not by name, just any party). They boarded and drove away.

We realized that most other people had vouchers from the front desk for the shuttle transportation, which we were not given. I went back to the front desk, and they gave us one, but they said it really wasn't needed. So, we went back outside, and another bus came by. This time they took another 5-7 random people.

I asked again at the front desk what the standards were for getting a ride, and they said there were none, just that we would be picked up. By now, it was 11:30, and the crowd had grown. The sign-up list for the shuttle was irrelevant, as the hotel seemed to want nothing to do with the shuttle company. They were just taking as many as would fit on the bus after it had already made stops at other hotels.

We ended up walking up to a waiting taxi and split the fare with another couple that was going to the port. The taxi cost $23, while the shuttle bus was $11 for each person. So, as a four-person group, we saved over $20 and a lot of hassle.

The staff at the front desk was largely indifferent to us whenever we asked a question, a far departure from what I've experienced at Courtyards all over the country.

Our room was large and well appointed, but the hotel was not very clean. The carpet in the hallway had debris all over it, including several heavy-duty staples (like from a staple gun) outside our door. I said something to the front desk shortly after we arrived, but they were still there when we checked out.

We got a good deal with a AAA discount, so it was a good value. However, the hotel service was average at best.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport

Address: 1201 NW LeJeune Rd, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#30 Business Hotel in Miami
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this newly transformed, sleek Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport South. Settle into the newly renovated guest rooms at this warm, welcoming Miami international airport hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Airport South Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Airport South
Miami Marriott
Miami Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.