We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to See The City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bus Tours

Big Bus Tours
301 Biscayne Blvd., Miami, FL
+1 800-336-8233
Website
Update attraction details
Book Now

Ranked #53 of 167 activities in Miami
Type: Bus tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Thank you for Choosing Big Bus Tours Miami, a part of the largest operators of open-top sightseeing tours in the World, providing sightseeing tours in over 15 cities across three Continents. The Big Bus sightseeing tour of Miami has been specifically designed to show you the best that Miami has to offer. You can enjoy it all from the comfort and great vantage point of our open-top buses, or hop off wherever you like to explore the places that intrigue you most before hopping back on to continue your journey with us. You will see all the most thrilling and attractive areas such as South Beach, Downtown Miami, Coral Gables, Coconut Grove, Little Havana and more. You will see iconic buildings and monuments like the Freedom Tower, Vizcaya Museum and the Versace Mansion, not to mention the sleek shapes and vibrant colors of the Art Deco District.We operate from 9AM-7PM with the last tours departing Central Station at 5:30PM. We have 20 stops with 20-30 minute frequency. Our tours offer an array of experiences from Live Guides to Multilingual Commentary in 12 Languages; Vintage Buses to Modern Buses with Air Conditioned lower decks. Come experience the best of this spectacular City with Big Bus Miami Tours!
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Way to See The City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Big Bus Tours is an easy and inexpensive way to see Miami and learn some of the history. The tour guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. The beauty of this tour is you can get off and back on another bus at selected stops. I highly recommend this tour, as it gives you an overview of the city and surrounding areas.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    117
    41
    16
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Opt for the 2 day pass as too much for 1 day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Big Bus Tour of Miami was one of the normal “hop on, hop off” variety. We found it better than usual as the commentary was live rather than recorded and listened to via earphones. Although it was entirely in English there were earphones and a recorded commentary for those for whom English was not their standard language – though a certain amount of Spanish was spoken by some of the guides. This made it more interesting and up-to-date and also meant we had the option of asking questions. We booked a 2-day option which gave us plenty of time for both routes and a variety of guides.

The red route went around the main town, through areas such as Little Havana and Coconut Grove, it also stopped at a shopping centre, various famous old building etc. We decided, as we had an interesting commentator, to sit on the bus and do the complete circuit, returning to the harbour front where there was a swap over to the blue route.

The blue route went to Miami Beach where we got off for lunch and a wander along the beach and to look at the Art Deco buildings. We then picked up the bus again and returned across the bridge to our start point, a short walk from our hotel. A good and interesting day out.

The next day we picked up the red route bus again, this time getting off at Vizcaya - an old house which is now a museum with lovely gardens (reviewed separately). This is opposite the science museum but we did not have time to visit both. After lunch back onto the bus and completed the red route for the second time. This was not in any way boring as the commentator was different and told us many new facts.

Definitely recommended as one of the best of this type of bus tour we have been on.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saguenay
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice way to visit Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Taking Big Bus Tours is a great way to see Miami QUICKLY. It's fun sitting on the top of the bus and see the sites from above. You can get off the bus at any point and then get back on later.

When you get off the bus you have to consider than you're gonna wait 30 minutes to catch another bus. It may be a big lost of time, if you get off the bus 2-3 times. So choose your visit carefully. The last bus is at 4:30...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Take in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

There's so much more to discover in Miami other than South Beach. This big bus tour is a great way to get around the city and learn a bit of the history. There's a city loop and beach loop bus that shows you all the different areas in Miami... give Big Bus a shot on your next vacation for sure!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“24-HR Bus & Boat Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Only had time to do the Beach Loop and Boat Tour. Liked the fact that you can get off at stop #4 and know you can get back on the same bus in 30 mins. It was just enough time to dip my toes in the ocean, get a quick walk in on the beach, grab some sand and return to the bus to continue the tour. The history was well explained by our tour guide Eli.

Really enjoyed the boat tour and would recommend the smaller boat over the Island Queen or Lady Miami. It was more intimate and gave the young ones an opportunity to be capitan of the boat.

Only downfall was waiting in line for 20 mins to board the boat to find out we had to trade in our boat ticket from Big Bus Tours (staff didn't tell us when we inquired how to get to the boad) at the Island Queen kiosk before we could board. The boat we waited for was sold out by the time we were advised so we had to wait another 30 mins before enjoying our boat tour. The good thing is we ended up on the smaller boat.

Wish we had time to do the City Loop. Started our day too late and had other plans in the evening. To get eveything in start at 9 am!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Bus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bus Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.