We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overview, but needs some time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bus Tours

Big Bus Tours
301 Biscayne Blvd., Miami, FL
+1 800-336-8233
Website
Update attraction details
Book Now

Ranked #56 of 165 activities in Miami
Type: Bus tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Thank you for Choosing Big Bus Tours Miami, a part of the largest operators of open-top sightseeing tours in the World, providing sightseeing tours in over 15 cities across three Continents. The Big Bus sightseeing tour of Miami has been specifically designed to show you the best that Miami has to offer. You can enjoy it all from the comfort and great vantage point of our open-top buses, or hop off wherever you like to explore the places that intrigue you most before hopping back on to continue your journey with us. You will see all the most thrilling and attractive areas such as South Beach, Downtown Miami, Coral Gables, Coconut Grove, Little Havana and more. You will see iconic buildings and monuments like the Freedom Tower, Vizcaya Museum and the Versace Mansion, not to mention the sleek shapes and vibrant colors of the Art Deco District.We operate from 9AM-7PM with the last tours departing Central Station at 5:30PM. We have 20 stops with 20-30 minute frequency. Our tours offer an array of experiences from Live Guides to Multilingual Commentary in 12 Languages; Vintage Buses to Modern Buses with Air Conditioned lower decks. Come experience the best of this spectacular City with Big Bus Miami Tours!
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good overview, but needs some time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

It takes about three hours to do the whole tour (beach and city) if you don't get off the bus, but do so. The tour gives you a nice overview and the info. given through the earphones is interesting in understanding the history of the city.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    116
    40
    16
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MAYFIELD HEIGHTS
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great when narrated live, not so much for recorded.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This tour is in two parts, South Beach and city side.

The bus I was on for South Beach had recorded narration. I could have waited 30 minutes for a live narrator, and in hind-sight should have. The recording leaves a lot to be desired. Very light on the details or nuances of what makes South Beach so special. Only the very basic facts are given. Between points-of-interest, they play the same music over-and-over-and-over. Come on guys, mix it up. It's actually quite annoying.

Also, the (older) hostess on the beach tour was rude.

On the city side tour, our narrator was excellent. He gave the details / nuances I wish I had on the other tour. The only compaint was the driver. He had two modes, on and off. Harsh acceleration and braking made it uncomfortable for the passengers.

So overall, I wasn't real pleased with the value received, but it wasn't horrible either.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A good overview”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Well to start, lets be honest there's not a great deal to see in Miami when you compare it to cities like New York and Barcelona but if you want to get a good overview and only have a short time to do it then you really can't go wrong with this type of tour.

We had only a one day in Miami before our flight home after our cruise. The great thing for us was that this tour provided a secure facility to store our luggage while we toured. There are two main routes each lasting about 90 minutes and we were able to do them both. The live commentary from the guide means you can get some "local" information that you wouldn't pick up from guidebooks.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Tour Miami by Big Bus Ours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a great way to see Miami by taking a double decker bus with Big Bus Tours. What is great is you can get off the bus at any point and then get back on later. It's fun sitting on the top of the bus and really see the sites from above. The bus drivers are such great driver as they maneuver thru some of the narrow streets. We had several great tour guides who were so knowledgeable, funny and helpful. We took the first tour in the morning to Coral Gable, Coconut Grove, Little Havana & Miami. We lunched in Little Havana and walked around a bit before getting back on a bus to
Central Station.
We then decide to take the South Beach Loop tour in the afternoon. So many places to see. Now we know when to return and explore some more. It was a great tour day. Thanks Big Bus Tours..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have been on many bus tours, similar to the Miami Big Bus Tour, and decided that the Miami tour just did not provide the same level of information as tours in places like Naples, FL, St. Augustine, FL, etc. The South Beach Tour was narrated by a person and was so much better than the recorded narration provided on the City Tour. I'm sure we missed a lot on the City Tour because we were really not sure where we were supposed to look. Several times the recording repeated when we were well past the place of interest. We did get an overview of the city, although not as we expected.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Bus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bus Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.