We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Luxury at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #27 of 129 hotels in Miami
Boston.MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simple Luxury at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

You can not go wrong with this hotel. Prime downtown location with solid amneties and professional staff. Was booked at new JW Marquis but it did not open in time, so got placed here. They were very accomidating(conciere level). Food great and surprisingly inexpensive for such a high end hotel. TV in the bathroom mirror is a must see. Prompt service in valet service and the $32 a day reminds me of Chicago. Check out Inca res(peruvian) if you get a chance. Overall, very nice stay and I would definately go back!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    150
    45
    16
    17
See reviews for
79
109
30
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

My wife and stayed at this hotel October 9 through the 12th.

I've read some earlier reviews that described indifferrent service. Our experience was nothing like that. I appreciate politeness and every staff member we dealt with was exceptionally pleasant. From the person who checked us in, to the housekeeping staff and the valet. In my experience folks in Miami can be somewhat brusque, I didn't experience that here. The staff was very helpful in arranging in room massages for Sunday morning.

The rooms are tastefully decorated. Photos uploaded by previous reviewers are representative of the accomodations we had. Upon check-in we were given a corner room on the 19th floor that we really enjoyed. The room wasn't huge, but it was very comfortable and quiet.

The hotel is located in the financial center of Miami. Consequently, I'd say it caters to a business clientele. But vacationers shouldn't feel out of place. There are numerous dinning options within walking distance (depending on the heat/humidity and your comfort level with it). Ranging from the chain, Gordon Biersch, Morton's to the ethnic, Colombian perros at "La Moon". Mary Brickell Village is within walking distance and it offers some nightlife. Tobacco Road (oldest bar in Miami) isn't far. If you're looking for South Beach frenzy you won't find that here. The neighborhood will be very quiet in the evenings.

Other observations:

The fitness room was above average. Parking costs $25.00, comparable to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

reasonable location downtown - near lots of good restaurants.

the hotel is well kept and provides pretty good facilities.

it is a bit dated in places, but still clean.

nothing extraordinary to report, but at the same time, nothing bad to say either.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I won this hotel stay so actually used a gift certificate. The hotel staff were very attentive, pleasant and courteous. My room was luxurious, with a huge flat screen tv mounted on the wall, and the bathroom shower/tub was first class.

After not being able to find a dunkin' donuts or starbucks close by, we stopped at the sport cafe [forgot the name] in the hotel and got a delicious hot chocolate and coffee for no cost.

Having stayed at hotels in Egypt, London, New York, Canada, the Caribbean I can say I was very impressed with this hotel right on my doorstep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

This is a super nice hotel. The stainless steel pool is beautiful. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are luxurious. The restaurant service is very good. My only complaint is that my husband and I went swimming at the pool around 5:30 pm, and we wanted to use one of the tents set up in the pool area. But they were both in a state of disarray. They had left over food in them that looked like it had been setting out for a long time from previous guests, including fried onion rings. Yuck. That was a bit of a turn off, but other than that, this place was great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
167 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

I tend to stay at luxury hotels. I really enjoyed this hotel for 1 night. Quiet on 18th floor, pool was large, weight room acceptable, free wi-fi and free business lounge with printer was key. 40" HDTV was really nice. Will stay here again whenever have early meeting on Brickell Avenue. Nicely appointed room and public spaces too. Extremely helpful front desk and concierge. Valet was efficient even at $29 overnight.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Great hotel, great service but not cheap either. We visited the hotel in December 2009 and stayed for 2 nights. A very elegant business hotel with good food. The location is not the best as it is in downtown Miami which is not the nicest place to be as a tourist. Not much to do or see after 7pm. But if you are looking for a great business hotel with a business center in downtown and price is not an issue, you found your place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
#25 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.