We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Miami to your Saves list
JW Marriott Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #27 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Stratford, CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I town for a visit for a football game. Hotel was very comfortable, staff top notch and good location. Found it odd we were the only ones at the pool. If you are looking for activity its not the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    170
    53
    19
    19
See reviews for
91
119
34
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at this location this past weekend for the Miami/UF game. This JW location is excellent, and the nicest JW that I've visited. The staff was friendly and very professional. The room was excellent. The only drawbacks were having to prop the black-out curtains up with furniture to keep out the sun, the lack of an elevator that linked the main entrance to the lobby level, and no lobby store for drinks, snacks, or forgotten necessaries. I don't mind carrying my bags, but others might have found it difficult with a bunch of luggage. Overall, I would suggest this location to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were here last year same time and really enjoyed the two nights. While our stay this time was good I noticed things have started to lag with upkeep and repair. Lots of hallways trim work needs painting and the carpets have stains on them in the hallways. Our room this time was on the back side facing the bay and smaller than the last time where we faced Brickell Avenue.
Pros: Close to a lot of good restaurants on South Miami Avenue one block over. Close to Freeway and in a safe part of Miami. easy to walk. Room bed was comfortable and quiet. This hotel is dead on the weekends so that helps.
Pretty good food and service in the club room for FF with Marriott. Open 24 hours a day for coffee and water.
Pool is dead and quiet so great place to rest get some sun or even work remotely. :)

Cons:
The room smelled of dampness throughout our stay. Not enough to request a move but we could smell it every time we came into the room. Once the AC kicked on the smell went away.

The pool area has a bar layout but no drink or food service is available. Both evening when we were at the pool we would get the strong smell of propane gas which would last for about 5 minutes a pop. We could never figure out what it was.

Check in never has more than one agent at the front desk so if you are not the person at the counter and others are ahead of you - you will have to wait.

All in all for the rate paid it was a nice hotel and I just hope it does not slide down because of its newer cousin 5 blocks away is both super cool and flashy.

Room Tip: pick one on the Brickell side as I swear the rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Contrary to my experience in JW Grosvenor london this time all came out perfect. Front desk personnel were fantastic.. I received also an upgrade for my room and got suite 2006.. Great experience... Continue booking in this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed at the JW Marriott Miami with my hubby and 2 year old daughter a couple of weeks ago for three nights and had an excellent experience. Service at this hotel is first rate. They really do lay it on.They make your life easy. It is remarkable. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. It was a pleasure to return to at the end of a day and to relax in during our downtime. Love the location as well. Lots of dining options in the vicinity and the hotel restaurant was ok - we had breakfast there twice and room service one night for dinner. Just an all around great stay. Was it perfect? No. We asked for a crib/small bed for our daughter at check-in that was never delivered and truth is we did not follow up. We just had her sleep in the bed with us. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is my hotel of choice when I travel to Miami on business. It is within walking distance to many businesses in the financial industry. There are also several cool restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are cozy and nicely appointed. The wifi is excellent but the rooms also have all in one computers which make it convenient for basic computing. The service is always top notch. I find the front desk and concierge especially friendly and helpful. I also enjoy having breakfast in the restaurant. The is a wide selection on the buffet and the food is very fresh. I highly recommend this hotel for business travelers.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and have more windows to provide natural sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the JW Marriott for our 16th anniversary over a long weekend. Upon arrival, we were greeted by helpful staff at the bellstand/valet. We enjoyed an upgraded room and lovely amenity compliments of the staff. Jennifer at the Front Desk and Michelle at Drakes were stand-outs! Miami isnt necessarily our scene but the neighborhood where the hotel is located had a nice selection of restaurants within walking distance. The only downside to the entire stay was that the pool bar was not open and there were no servers that came from the other bars to take drink orders. All in all, a great stay! Would come again for sure.

Room Tip: Valet parking is the only option at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.