We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 129 hotels in Miami
Tampa, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed two weeks in June. Great front desk staff. Very nice gym and spa areas. Fairly well maintained. Rooms are pretty nice. Only negatives would be maid service hit or miss. Coffee maker not cleaned out each day. Some days no clean washcloths other days no soaking towels to lay on floor in front of shower door. I never knew what kinds of towels I'd get each day. Spots of mildew in shower grout. Carpet worn and dirty looking. Room service very expensive. Pillows too hard for my liking. Didnt sleep well. Very very quiet building.


If not for mediocre maid service, would get a 5

Very very nice front desk staff. Took care of all my needs. Bar service slow.

Room Tip: Go for a room on 7th floor. Balconies, spa, gym, and pool on this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    150
    45
    16
    17
See reviews for
78
109
30
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Knowledgeable and helpful staff make this a must stay for the Miami business traveller. Rooms are pimped-out for the road warrior! Although it is quiet for most Miami weekenders, it may be a an option because of its excellent weekend rates.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is definitely all about the staff - fantastic people work here; from the moment we arrived - Eugene the bellman from heaven, Francisco at the front desk, and glorious Luz at the concierge lounge (best concierge lounge I have been to in the country, and open on the weekends!).... The hotel is in a great location and it's beautifully decorated, but our room was humid from the moment we walked in and I had killer allergies all night, which leads me to suspect mold. Also, the gym (very nice) was really too warm. I'll stay here again but next time I'll be weary of the humid rooms!

Room Tip: Be weary of humid rooms - if it seems humid when you walk in, ask for another one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury, u.k.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

first hotel of our 2 week trip to florida. very helpful staff. nice room and the gym and pool areas were great. lovely luxury toiletries.In a great location very close to the mary brickell centre. We had breakfast at the bakery opposite the hotel which was very nice. Internet was poor and we had to keep logging in.

Room Tip: view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night prior to leaving on a cruise. The hotel is 15 minutes from the airport and the valet helped us get our bags to check in. Although we had to wait for about 2 hours before our room was ready, it was well worth the wait.

The room was perfect was able space including a nice leather lounge chair, king size bed, desk and 2 nice robes. Bathroom had a TV built into the mirror which I had no seen before. It also had wonderful lighting with nice neon type lights inside. The room was the best part of the stay.

The service was fine for the most part. For a higher end property we expected much more from the food quality. We ate dinner one night at the bar on the 2nd floor and the menu was very limited. The quality didn't not warrant the price. Also, one thing we could not grasp was that we were told at check in they were booked solid because of the weekend. However, between the bars, lounge, pool, etc. We never saw more than 25 people during out entire stay.

Another con for us was that my wife is platinum with Marriot and she normally gets nice perks like breakfast tickets, drink tickets, special lounge access to name a few. On this trip they did have a VIP lounge but you were required to pay for your drinks at night. Most properties at least have a happy hour for their VIP and they did not. This has never been a deal killer for us but we do remember things like this when we choose to stay here again.

We would stay here again in if Miami in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

As an event planner, you expect nothing but the best service and attention when you bring a group to a property. Did we receive that when we brought a group of 8 VIP guests from Latin America to the JW in Brickell? Absolutely not! The experience was AWEFUL from beginning to end. I have to say, NEVER AGAIN will I use this property for groups or personally. Nor would I recommended to anyone either.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel was OK but I had problems with the toilet running and a smokey room. I had to ask more than once for a coffee cup because they left more coffee but no cups. The hotel was very responsive to my complaints but I shouldn't have had to complain.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.