We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Miami to your Saves list
JW Marriott Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #27 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Clean, convenient location (close to cruise port) and great service. We recommend the Gordon Biersch pub next door for a quick bite. Within walking distance of the free Skyrail...somewhat limited but you can't beat the price. Also close to Miami's trolley ride...again, free - just hop on and off when you like.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    162
    47
    17
    18
See reviews for
85
116
34
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very comfortable location, close to the port. We enjoyed an excellent Concierge lounge and very clean and comfortable rooms. The hotel was close to a Gordon Bierscht Brewpub which we all enjoyed. A bit awkward in the driveway in securing cruise transportation shuttles due to a bad Port Cochere design but otherwise quite nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rendezvous, Christ Church, Barbados
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wow - after years of staying at other hotels in the Brickell area - we tried to JW Marriott and this hotel is fantastic. From its location to Mary Brickell Village with its restaurants and bars - to being right next to Gordon Biersch - amenties and food - just cannot say enough on. I understand luxury hotels are to be that - but it is the simple things that mean a lot when you travel and that is what JW Marriott delivers in large quantities.

Room Tip: Any room - but the higher you are the better the views across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I recently stayed overnight at the JW Marriott prior to a cruise. It is close to the port, the rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. It is a few minutes walk to the water. The restaurants were adequate but nothing special. The staff were polite and helpful. Served my purpose well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I stayed here the night before and the night after a cruise. The hotel is just minutes from the Port of Miami and it is very clean and the staff are great. A 5 minute walk will get you to a great area full of restaurants and shops. Also, if you are a runner, there is a beautiful running path around the Brickell Bay Area. The loop is 1 mile long and is very safe as there are many runners & walkers. From the hotel, head down Brickell to 8th street and head over a short bridge to the Bay Area.
We used the pool at the hotel as well and it was very nice, relaxing and warm. Great stay!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We chose the JW Marriott for a four-week business stay so that we wouldn't have to worry about anything. They had laundry service and a business center and restaurants. Little did we know they had one-star service.

The valets and bellmen are top notch. Other than that, it stunk. The service stunk. The people at the front desk are two star at best. The restaurant service and quality stunk. The business center is a joke. The laundry, when it is timely, is OK. The front desk service stunk and their attitudes are unacceptable.

I travel 150 days a year and cannot believe how poor this hotel was run.

The facilities look nice, but after that, it is all downhill.

AND on top of all of this it is expensive and pretty full.
Spoiled with meetings and conferences, and business too good, I expect.

Not a JW. Not even a nice Marriott. I have stayed in Summerfield Suites with better service.

Nothing like Two-Star Quality at Five-Star Prices!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is in a safe, active area with plenty of restaurants and a pedestrian shopping center close by. The fitness center and pool are very nice. The sleeping rooms are very comfortable. Hotel staff are everywhere--they are very engaged with the comfort of guests. This hotel is good for business and leisure travel. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room if you are concerned about noise. The staff should accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#19 Business Hotel in Miami
#29 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.