We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Miami to your Saves list
JW Marriott Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #29 of 129 Hotels in Miami
East Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I recently stayed overnight at the JW Marriott prior to a cruise. It is close to the port, the rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. It is a few minutes walk to the water. The restaurants were adequate but nothing special. The staff were polite and helpful. Served my purpose well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    165
    50
    17
    18
See reviews for
87
117
34
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I stayed here the night before and the night after a cruise. The hotel is just minutes from the Port of Miami and it is very clean and the staff are great. A 5 minute walk will get you to a great area full of restaurants and shops. Also, if you are a runner, there is a beautiful running path around the Brickell Bay Area. The loop is 1 mile long and is very safe as there are many runners & walkers. From the hotel, head down Brickell to 8th street and head over a short bridge to the Bay Area.
We used the pool at the hotel as well and it was very nice, relaxing and warm. Great stay!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We chose the JW Marriott for a four-week business stay so that we wouldn't have to worry about anything. They had laundry service and a business center and restaurants. Little did we know they had one-star service.

The valets and bellmen are top notch. Other than that, it stunk. The service stunk. The people at the front desk are two star at best. The restaurant service and quality stunk. The business center is a joke. The laundry, when it is timely, is OK. The front desk service stunk and their attitudes are unacceptable.

I travel 150 days a year and cannot believe how poor this hotel was run.

The facilities look nice, but after that, it is all downhill.

AND on top of all of this it is expensive and pretty full.
Spoiled with meetings and conferences, and business too good, I expect.

Not a JW. Not even a nice Marriott. I have stayed in Summerfield Suites with better service.

Nothing like Two-Star Quality at Five-Star Prices!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is in a safe, active area with plenty of restaurants and a pedestrian shopping center close by. The fitness center and pool are very nice. The sleeping rooms are very comfortable. Hotel staff are everywhere--they are very engaged with the comfort of guests. This hotel is good for business and leisure travel. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room if you are concerned about noise. The staff should accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excelent JW, as always. Irreproachable service since you arrive at the parking area. Beautiful decoration, three types of restaurant. A luxurious environment everywhere you go. Pool area and gym with a nice design and integration.
Free wifi throughout the hotel and an exclusive terminal (LCD screen and keyboard) access in the room, also free.
Spacious room, clean and enjoyable. Bed is extremely comfortable and the shower is perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have attended seminars many times at this hotel, but this is the first time I have stayed there. This was a "tourists in our home town" weekend stay as my wife and won the visit in a school auction. We were extremely pleased with the room (spacious, very comfortable beds, quite clean, excellent bathroom) and the friendly, helpful service. The pool and spa are especially large, well stocked and inviting. The hotel is very well located, both for a business trip as it is very close to downtown Miami, and for tourists as it is a short walk to downtown and the Metrorail and Metromover trains and 15 minutes from South Beach by taxi. We'd stay here again any time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from a weeks long trip in Miami, can not fault the JW Marriott at all. On Brickell Ave, easy walking distance of some great restaurants and bars. Only a short 15min drive to South Beach, coral gables, key biscayne all easily accessible. Great rooms, great service, great pool, fabulous staff - cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
#28 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.