We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite flagship quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Miami to your Saves list
JW Marriott Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #29 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not quite flagship quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Ok hotel. Spacious rooms. Service very uneven starting w breakfast that was never delivered, an apology note from the manager indicating a coupon for a drink that was not to be found in envelop and room cleaning that never showed up. On the other hand the car retrieval staff was good and efficient. Concierge was helpful as well assisting in the replacement of a faulty garmin in a rental car. However, there are better choices in the Brickell area like the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    166
    50
    17
    18
See reviews for
87
117
34
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay at JW Marriott in Miami. Easy walking to good food, comfortable room. We had a king city view with a rollaway. Rollaway was a little short and daughter on the rollaway was cold. Bathroom was spacious, though shower door leaked a little. Pool was great, clean, warm (for these northern New Englanders.)
We got a competitive rate for this property; however, I snagged it when I saw it and never saw it again.
The only downside was breakfast. Fifty bucks for the three of us and it was not anywhere near worth the money. Go out for breakfast and make it worth your while.
Otherwise, all hotel staff we encountered were excellent, the location was great, and it was a fabulous pre-cruise night for the price we paid.

Room Tip: if you have the cash to blow on it, go for the bayview room. City view is "meh," plus the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Convenient location. This magnificent Hotel is located in Miami´s bussines district, close to good restaurants and shopping. Rooms are very spacious, comfortables and clean. Staff is very atentive and friendly. Excellent bar and restaurant. I take breakfast included (buffet style) room and was very good.

Room Tip: Have a mojito and snacks at the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

First time this location was wonderful couldn't do enough for you! Service! Views!!!! Views to die for. Although the restaurant was on the pricy side. The location leads you to the Bayside Market. Where lots of restaurants to choose from!!! Definitely. A must. To stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I really liked this property during my five-week stay for business. I give five stars to the front desk and service pros and four stars to housekeeping. Room amenities were superb, with few complaints (better Illy coffee selection?), and very comfortable. I liked the 50" TV and the in-mirror bathroom TV as well. The gym is one of the best I've experienced: spacious, well-appointed, and just a superb view. The hotel bar/lounge is convenient but for better atmosphere head across the street to the Epic.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms near the elevator, they are a bit larger than the units nearer the end od t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in one of the suite for a week. Truly enjoyed my stay there, beautiful hotel, nice restaurant, outstanding lobby. Rooms are large,clean and very comfortable.Internet strength was more than adequate. The fitness center and outdoor pool were nice too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a great place to stay overnight before heading to the port for a cruise. The marquis is more expensive in marriott points only because of the conference center amenities. We fell in love with the location as we love to walk everywhere. Our rooms were spacious and clean. The bed was wonderfully comfortable.
We used the concierge lounge for dinner, evening snacks and breakfast. There was a variety of seafood, kabobs, as well as cold dishes. Cheese cake and truffles were served in the evening. Everyone found something they liked for breakfast.
The staff is very friendly and the building and pool are beautiful.
We wilol definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#20 Business Hotel in Miami
#28 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.