We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Miami to your Saves list
JW Marriott Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #25 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Temple Hills, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I was expecting more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Business trip-- 4-day/ 3-night stay, found the rooms lacked space; could have been attributed to the "downtown" feel, however I was expecting a little more. The room decor was "blah", and I continued to experience plumbing problems, although the staff was most helpful in attempting to remedy the problem. Spa services were ridiculously expensive--even by "downtown" standards. In all, the service was great, the hotel was a bit of a let down, and although Marriott doesn't have anything to do with this, I was challenged with finding a cab that took credit cards. You would think being in the business district that this would not be problematic, unfortunately many cabbies refuse to convert. Oh, if you are thinking about trotting down to South Beach, it will run you roughly $30 each way--better off renting a car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    155
    45
    17
    17
See reviews for
84
112
32
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The management at this spa is atrocious. And to top that off, the spa is VERY un-relaxing. The "waiting room" is located in the middle of the door to the pool and the gym. So, while one sits naked in a robe, kids are going by, men are jogging on treadmills, and anyone and everyone sees you in a robe. It is what I would call the opposite of relaxing. To top that off, the management is terrible and is NOT the same management as the JW Marriott hotel. I made 3 appointments for my mom, my sister, and myself. All appointments were made at the same time. When we all arrived, together and at the same time, we were told that the appointments were made an hour and a half apart from each other. Well, we could not physically stay that long nor did we want to wait 2.5 hours in the "relaxation" area. So, I asked to speak with management. The manager would not speak directly to me and instead, speaking through her employee, assured me that the person who made the appointment is very professional and didn't make a mistake. I finally was able to speak directly to the spa manager only after i asked for a refund AND to speak with her. She spoke to me in a disrespectful manner: not allowing me to finish what I was saying, raising her voice unprofessionally, and telling me to stop "yelling" at her. I then told her I was going to speak to someone above her since she cannot handle her own costumers. It wasn't until I spoke to someone directly with the hotel that the situation was dealt with. I later found out that JW Marriot does not manage their own spa, which is definitely the reason for the discrepancy. I do want to note that the non-management staff is very friendly and felt very bad. I took off time from work, waited 2.5 hours, and left very unhappy. There are better spas in the Brickell area. For example, I had a wonderful time at the Mandarin Oriental. Although a little more money, it is worth is when compared to the overpriced crap you get at the JW Marriot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmas, TO
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you want to go Miami to enjoying the beach, I would not recommend this hotel. The taxi ride to get there is about $25 each way. There is a really cool bar nearby with live band and some other cool places downtown and the design district is kind of close but you will need to take a cab anyway. The hotel is okay, clean, the room looks a bit old, nobody helped me when I walked in, maybe because I was in jeans and t-shirt? Couldn't tell, but they looked friendly.
Overall is was okay. Definitely a business hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at the JW Marriott for a quick business trip and it was excellent. I got the concierge package which includes food and beverages at the 21st floor. The service was excellent and the room was clean and comfortable. The only problem I had is the towels in the bathroom are really old and bout to fall apart.

Room Tip: They don't have vie to the ocean due to the buildings in front of them, so I would suggest the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We did a one night "staycation", with our goal to be in the downtown Miami area. As it was during Art Basel week, the options were limited. The hotel was nicely appointed but sterile and too quiet. In a town that is always buzzing, there was no atmosphere here. The pool was empty and there was no staff for service. The hotel gave us a nice room on the 7th floor that had a large balcony overlooking Brickell. Very nice touch. The bed was top notch. Otherwise, I would only recommend this hotel for business travel or a quiet stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is very grand and nicely maintained. The rooms are ok, pretty much what you would expect at a down town hotel. Small but nice. Love their fitness center with iPod/iPhone hook up on most of the machine. Very nice pool too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higganum, Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It is a pleasure to use this hotel. You are treated well, it has all the conveniences, and a pleasant business clientele. My only complaint is the obligatory stairs up from the car entrance (I travel light so as to carry my own suitcase).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#18 Business Hotel in Miami
#27 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.