We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean and super comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Miami
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 130 hotels in Miami
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Super clean and super comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I spent one night here and was very happy with the hotel as well as the service. The staff were friendly and courteous, the property clean and well-maintained. I was very happy and would recommend to any business traveller who stays in the area.

Room Tip: As for a room facing away from the street. The view is not great but the street does get busy so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    150
    43
    15
    17
See reviews for
77
106
30
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and was not impressed. I expected a JW Marriott but what I got was a dated 1980s Marriott. The location, lobby and the lounge are great - JW worthy but the rooms, not so much. Dated furniture, old carpets and age old bathroom fixtures made the hotel feel neglected. I would recommend this place for someone who is looking for value over luxury. You may be better off staying at the JW marriott marquis down the street - more expensive but you will get all the bells and whistles for it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
al
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just wanted to share a recommendation of a very comforting and professional staff and atmosphere. I had a fundraiser scheduled in town and hadn't the slightest clue as to where to stay. I saw advertisements for this establishment and chose to give it a shot. Glad I did! The rooms were elegant, comfortable, and made me feel at home. The staff was overly accomodating and professional. I will most certainly pass on the praise to friends and colleagues looking for a great experience!

Room Tip: I stayed in a larger suite that was located higher up and absolutely loved the morning view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I am a starwood and hyatt FF addict but since my partner is a marriott fan we stayed there for the last night. It is a lovely hotel and the location is great on Brickell Avenue for walking and some restaurants. The club room was very nice the evening food was good. Looking forward to breakfast there in the morning. Bed was very comfortable and the hotel very quiet.
We stayed at the Hyatt Regency down the street and it is a bit of a dump compared to this JW Marriott. The Hyatt has constant noise from the bridge next to it as well as traffic. I won't stay there again as a result. This is a much better selection.

Room Tip: City view high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was staying in JW Marriott Hotel when I was in Miami. On my second day of staying, after I go back to my room during the evening, I realized my cashmere scarf gone missing in my room. The last time I saw my scarf, it was sitting in my bad. I call to the hotel service line right away, and they told me to it was too late, so I have to contact them the next morning. On August 23rd (the next day) morning, I contact them and they told me the cleaning lady must took it when she was changing the bed sheet, so they are going to check the housekeeping department to see if they can find it. However, even before I check out the hotel, they did not contact me as they promised me to. I also report to the lost prevention department who promised me that they will do the fallow up. However, I still not hear anything from anyone in the hotel yet. When I was in Miami I gave them my phone # and e-mail to contact me...
This is very upsetting, I though JW Marriott hotel is a nice trust worthy hotel; however, it turn out they are very irresponsible. It seems like their staff just keep pushing your problem to someone else.
Therefore, I like to share my unhappy experience to who might consider to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Only stayed here one night on the way out of the country, but what a fabulous property. Got the Govt Contractor rate which was less than you would pay to stay at a Hampton Inn. The staff was friendly and the room was gorgeous (top notch). Conceirge lounge was better than most. The service in one of the dining rooms (can't remember which one) was rather slow the next day, but the food was actually quite good. On a Sunday night the hotel itself and the surrounding area was pretty quiet, so can't commment on the "entertainment value," but I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I had a corner room so there were windows on both sides with a small balcony. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel is nice, consistent with Marriott standards. But do not waste your money on the spa. I booked a 75 minute Swedish massage there last week with a massage therapist named Michelle. The room was very pretty and clean, playing nice spa music, and they use nice smelling essential oil blends. However, the massage basically consisted of the massage therapist rubbing oil on my skin for an hour, which I could have myself done at home. I asked her to apply more pressure, she replied "ok", but continued to stand there and just rub oil on my skin, no pressure, no muscle work at all. She clearly did not want to work, and I just wanted to leave at that point because I was bored.

When I went to pay, Michelle asked how the massage was. I told her that if was not what I had asked for - I didn't feel as if I had even gotten a massage at all. Her response: "Well it's a Swedish massage, so there's no pressure, and there is an automatic 20% gratuity." How's that for customer service? I paid and left because I really just wanted to get out of there and did not feel like arguing about it.

I've had plenty of great Swedish massages, so blaming her lack of effort on the Swedish massage technique was a pretty lame excuse. I left two messages for the spa manager and was told by the staff that the manager is also the owner and is rarely at the spa (which explains a lot). Finally, a week later, someone named Tatiana calls me back. She said she owns a company that manages several spas, including the one at the Marriott. I tried to explain to her what happened and that I was not happy with the service or the treatment I received. She was very defensive and had an attitude from the beginning, and told me "I know how to hire massage therapists. I manage several spas and all the therapists I hire meet my standards." She also tried to blame the crappy quality of the massage on the fact that it was a Swedish massage. I asked her why the spa still demands a 20% gratuity when someone is not happy with the service. Even after me asking that question she never made any attempt to correct the problem and clearly had no concern for customer service. Finally, after I explained to her that customers have a legal right not to pay gratuity when they are unhappy with the service, she agreed to refund my 20% gratuity. Wow.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#23 Business Hotel in Miami
#29 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Miami 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.