We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Brickell, but a business hotel at heart.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Miami
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% off + More
Ranked #27 of 130 hotels in Miami
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“In the Brickell, but a business hotel at heart.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Booked hotel through the cruise company, for one night before my cruise. It was the Friday night before the Miami Marathon and the Brickell was hopping. But don't be fooled. The JW Marriott is a business hotel catering to conferences and the like. There wasn't even a coffee shop on premises, and the place literally died on Saturday. The front desk and concierge were very helpful in finding me a fun place to hang out. In that regard, the hotel is very close to lots of restaurants and bars and shopping. So, I did like the location a great deal.

My room was great. Very inviting, upscale decor and furnishings. Lovely pillows and quiet (did I mention the hotel was dead) The bathroom was great with lots of extras. Very luxurious. The towels could have been a little thicker, given how beautiful the bathroom is.

Didn't check out the dining area and walked over to Starbucks for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    147
    43
    15
    17
See reviews for
76
104
30
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Of Marriott standard but at the tired end of their portfolio. The dullness of the interior jars with the vibrancy and brightness of the Florida setting. Although perfectly situated for business meetings in Brickell, I would definitely chose one of the many other hotels in the area if on vacation. Pretty pricey this place too. It scrapes a 3 rating because I loved their lobby muzak soundtrack which included Arcade Fire, Coldplay, REM. A refreshing change!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had a generally fine stay at the JW. The bathroom is large, and the room was clean with a view of the pool. There's a good size gym and the hotel provides lots of complementary bottled water. The neighborhood is nice to walk around with some restaurants and bars although it's mostly office buildings. The in-room Wi-Fi did not work well, but they have cat-5 jacks. The pool is on the 19th floor and there are hot tubs along side. Along the wall one can see a sliver Biscayne Bay, which is a short walk down the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed for a weekend trip with a couple of friends.
The Staff from start to finish were absolutely amazing. If not for them the rating would be much lower. Only thing they missed was telling me you need the room key to activate the elevator.. took a couple of trips up and down until I figured that one out..
The location is pretty good. Walking distance to some great restaurants and bars and the inner-city rail line to get around the downtown core.
The room... overall basic.. the internet didn't work the whole time I was there no matter what was done to fix it. The room looked worn and dated. Bed was only moderately comfortable.
Bathroom was nice and spacious. Quite large for a hotel bathroom really.. but the finish work on the shower was definitely sub-par for the Marriott name.. one tile on the tub surround right where you enter/exit was not installed properly and stuck out about 1/4".. Quite easy to catch yourself on the corner..
Overall I would not return unless I received a fantastic rate, and even then, there are much better options in my opinion that I really wouldn't return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton rouge, LA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

It's expensive, a tad dark and gloomy, but it's quiet and near a lot of good restaurants. It's also a short trip to South Beach. I liked eating in Met Cafe & Bar. Even though I say it's not great we will go back for the tennis tournament in March. I'll review it again then. I can recommend it because I have stayed in worse in Miami and the hotels in South Beach are too expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I used 30,000 points to reserve a room for an overnight stay pre-cruise. A really beautiful room, well appointed with a lovely bay view. It's within walking distance to Bayside Market which is a great place to walk along the river, see nice boats and have a drink and dinner. This area is adjacent to American Airlines Arena ie; Miami Heat play here.

Unfortunately, my stay was marred by a mishap in the bathroom. The hassock had 2 legs loose and I fell to the tile floor. What could have easily been a serious incident, was fortunately just a bruised arm and a sore back, but hardly how I wanted to begin my vacation. In addition, the blow dryer smoked when turned on and the bed had a huge crater in the middle which made sleeping well impossible. All of this was addressed at the front desk upon check out. They comped us lunch for our trouble and promised the manager would follow up with me regarding the fall. I did receive an email from the assistant manager but their compensation offered was wholly inadequate. I'm still waiting on their reply to my reply.

If you stay here, just watch out for those small legs on the hassocks in the bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Booked hotel for Miami Marathon - Nice and clean! Hotel is close to Mary Brickell Square (Great place to relax and meet the locals).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#23 Business Hotel in Miami
#30 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Miami 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.