We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flags in the room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Miami to your Saves list
JW Marriott Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #29 of 129 Hotels in Miami
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Flags in the room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Checking in I was fortunate enough to be upgraded to the Presidential Suite, I can completely and utterly recommend this room. Two balconies, an 8 person dining table, a great seating area and a huge bath. Absolutely a brilliant upgrade result. I've also stayed here in normal rooms and I can say that generally this is one of the nicer hotels in downtown Miami. The gym is good and the pool is great. Really a good hotel as there are lots of nice restaurants in the local area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    166
    51
    17
    18
See reviews for
87
117
34
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This JW is first class! Ask for a corner suite, high floors and you'll get a great view too. Lots of good restaurants nearby, and the margiritas at the bar are outstanding (and blue)! Also, a very nice health club and jogging maps of the area.Near the Port of Miami to get on or off your cruise.

Room Tip: Corner suite - high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Amazing service. These two words define my stay. Every staff member I encountered was friendly and greeted me, even maintenance workers passing in the hallway. Any question or request was handled quickly. I once locked myself out of my room safe, and within five minutes, security had it unlocked, free of charge. The one minor exception was when I ordered a wake-up call the first morning, and it was never received. Luckily I had set other alarms, and this was the one minor blemish on an otherwise spectacular trip.

The hotel itself is kept extremely clean and polished. I rarely saw a trash receptacle or an ashtray on the property that wasn't empty.

My one point of contention is with some of the permanent fixtures in the hotel. Upon arriving, I noticed that many of the brass door handles and knobs were tarnished or missing their coating. Also, one of the curtain pull rods in my room appeared to have torn from it's grommet, and was rigged in place with a curtain hook that had been pinned to the drapes, making it difficult to open the curtains without pulling the rod down. These are fairly minor issues, but given the price tag of the hotel, it seems a bit out of place. However, the rest of the fixtures and amenities both in the room and elsewhere on the property were in line with a luxury brand hotel, as was the service.

Room Tip: As of November 2011, there was heavy street construction on the south side of the of the hotel. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Good to be a Lifetime Platinum Marriott Member, so we get upgraded at this hotel. We always make an annual pilgrimage to the South Beach Wine & Food Festival in February, and make this hotel our base of operations, rather than putting up with the hotel rates on Miami Beach....not that the JW is 'giving away" their rooms.

A call to the front desk, prior to arrival, general results in fulfillment of our requests for a 'feather-free' room environment (allergic reactions to feather can be such a bummer)

We always request, and usually get a bayside vs. street side view...although, as long as we are on or above the 20th floor, we're content.

The VIP Lounge is small, usually crowded, but the tables seems to turn at a reasonable pace. Food and snack selections are adequate, but nothing over the top - if it's free, eat it, skip it; but at least don't complain about!

• Love the TVs behind the mirrors in the suites bathrooms (careful not to cut yourself shaving, if Julie Durda, the Metrologists on WSVN Channel 7, is doing the morning weather report - wasn't she a cheerleader for the SF49ers in a prior life).

• Also, can't beat that morning caffeine fix with the ensuite Nespresso machines. We use a Nespresso at home and it's not so easy to find one in most hotels these days. We've even taken to packing our own Nexpresso capsule choices for visit to the JW - a double Indriya is a good way to start the day and at night, a Decaffeinato Lungo is almost as pleasant as a good night kiss!

Actually, there are many, many more reason to select this hotel, if this area of Miami is your destination. No need to further elaborate, since you can and should explore on your own.

Buenas noches y felices sueños

Room Tip: Request higher floors, bayside, away from the elevator banks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Really nice hotel. Do not confuse with the "Techno-Hip" Marriott Marquis - the "plain" JW is a classic hotel in town full of "glitter". This place is an Oasis . Walnut- paneled walls & elevators, Traditional rooms & furniture but elegant & refined. I was upgraded to a 2 rm Suite with 2 of the biggest Flat panel tv's I've ever seen in a hotel room! Hotel staff was exceptionally friendly, the restaurant was pleasant & efficient. The Sunday Brunch was "way above average" but the Room Service menu lacked creativity of any kind. The Room Service Staff was OK but the food quality was bland. Valet Parking was unusually prompt. Nice place - no Flash.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor,on
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This hotel was nice and clean. It was a great hotel for a quiet get away by myself. The mall is a short walk away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Virgin Islands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Although my stay was brief (15 hours!) in this hotel it was very satisfying on all fronts.
The location in downtown Miami is ideal for the business traveller and the hotel facilities complement this.
Your arrival is eased by an eager team of bell men and valets, while reception is welcoming but efficient.
My room was facing Brickell Avenue, with a balcony which made for interesting sights & sounds on Saturday night.
Inside the room was spacious, pristine clean and very comfortable with all the expected business travellers needs met.
Breakfast is a feast with omelettes made to order, an array of pastries and fruit and a broad selection of other delights to kick start your day.
In summary I'd highly recommend this hotel due to its excellent quality and great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony overlooking Brickell Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#20 Business Hotel in Miami
#28 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.