We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very disappointed, would never recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center to your Saves list
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 SE 4th Street, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 112 Hotels in Miami
exeter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very very disappointed, would never recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I was never told that i had to make a $100.00 deposit when i get there, i asked if all my money would be refunded the answer was yes, to my surprise the next morning at check out i was told that they have to take $2.00 for safe deposit, i did not need a safe, breakfast was horrible the toaster does not work properly and by the way what is wrong with the pool ?before i got to Florida i called to ask for information on how to get to the hotel useless no one knew what kind pf business is this ? I would never recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    96
    160
    102
    170
See reviews for
113
143
62
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Michigan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel has no restaurant or bar. Pool was full of leaves and unusable. Room appeared to not have been updated in many years and had no amenities, ie coffee pot, no ice bucket. Lights were out in the elevators in the morning. Beds are hard and uncomfortable. Would have expected from a cheap motel but not this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We needed a cheap, safe, decent place to stay for atleast a month before finding a perm place. And this hotel solved our purpose. Next to metro station this is a good bargain. We got a good discount as well. Bfast is basic but not bad, better then those who do not provide. Rooms have distinct old carpet smell, linens are old and not so comfy. You get what you pay for basically.
Tip: Ask for higher floor and river view room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

First and foremost

Water Pressure in the SUITE was HORRIBLE
Roaches everywhere!!!!!!
BEDBUGS ON MY TRAVEL BAG THE MORNING I WOKE UP
MOLD NONSTOP
NO TOWELS
NO WASH CLOTHS
NO ICE BUCKET
Bed sheets dirty
Staff could really careless
Light fixtures fell apart

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the River Park Hotel and Suites in November 2013 for one night before our cruise. While it was nothing to write home about, it was one of the least expensive hotels downtown Miami convenient to the cruise port.

The Pros:
Convenient to public transit. We were able to take the metromover from the hotel to Bayside Marketplace to enjoy some last minute shopping before our trip. We also took the metromover to the cruise port the morning of our cruise, avoiding a $15-$20 cab ride once you figure in the tip.

Incredibly helpful staff! We were pleasantly surprised by the courteous staff and their willingness to help us out. My husband was in dire need of a haircut, and several of the male staff members came to the front desk to recommend barber shops in the area. One of the female employees also gave us some touring tips, as well as let us know where was safe to visit after dark.

Safe and Clean. The hotel itself was very secure, and I did not feel uneasy at any time. The rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable.

The downside:

The breakfast spread left much to be desired. The restaurant was under renovation while we were there, so there was construction debris all around.

The rooms are dated. It's an old Clarion hotel that is no longer a franchisee. There's a bidet in the bathroom, and the toilet water pressure left much to be desired.

The decor was tired. Plain and simple. It needs a good facelift.

In closing: This is a great place to stay if you need a safe, clean and comfortable place to rest your head for the night. It's not a 4 star resort- but you're not paying 4-star prices either. For the money, it's truly one of the best deals in the area, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to any of my friends or clients.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I am a travel agent and some of our clients booked this hotel through our website and guaranteed their rooms with a credit card. The rate that was booked was a guaranteed rate, where they hold them room and if the guest doesn't show then they charge the card. It was not a rate that required a deposit. The guests arrived at the hotel to have the front desk tell them their rooms had been cancelled. The clients called me to assist them with their reservation. I called the hotel and the front desk agent began to argue with me, then transferred me to the manager. I spoke with the manager who said the rooms were cancelled because the client's credit card had been declined so they cancelled the rooms. They did not notify us nor the client that there was an issue with the card. The clients had booked the rooms for $99/night. The manager told me they were offered a rate of $170/nt if they wanted to stay there. The client said they were told they would have to pay $225/nt. The manager told me it was bad business practice for us to allow them to book the rooms with an invalied card. On our website, the rooms will not confirm unless the card is valid. Obviously, when you are travelling, many holds get placed on your credit card so it may decline. The hotel is responsible for at least notifying the guest or the travel agency bofre they cancel the rooms. I advised my clients to leave the hotel immediately. The manager was extremely rude and if he argued with the guests as much as he argued with me, I would never recommend anyone stay here regardless of the price of the rooms. Pay a little more, get a nice place with helpful staff, save your vacation. I feel terrible for the clients that they had to endure the negligence of the staff at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

The only good thing I can say is that it's cheap, we rented two rooms, (6 kids plus 2 adults ) both rooms are in desperate need of renovations. I am not even talking about for the eye appeal, both rooms needed work specially in the bathrooms, were we found mold. We were told we were on a not smoking floor yet our room smelled of cigarettes... It was disgusting. The continental breakfast was a joke, coffee, juice, toast, and cereal. That's was it. Nothing hot.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 100 SE 4th Street, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/ Miami
River Park Hotel And Suites Downtown/Convention Center
River Park Hotel Downtown
River Park Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.