We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it still standing?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center

Save Saved
You added River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 SE 4th Street, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 129 hotels in Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Is it still standing?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel oughta be imploded. The location is very odd, the building is old and not well-maintained, and the services are minimal or non-existent. I'm not sure what can be done to improve it. We arrived at 9 pm and had to walk 6-8 blocks to find something to eat at that time. The 'continental breakfast' was minimal and not interesting. The room was large and spacious but I am not sure if it was ever cleaned over the 4 days I was there except for the garbage being taken out. Wifi is minimal and spotty. Be careful about the valets; I should have asked to see a driver's licence. The best asset is that it is just a 15 minute walk to Bayside but I would definitely look around next time. Miami has a free trolley system that can get you around most places.

Room Tip: Use as a last resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    64
    111
    89
    140
See reviews for
82
107
46
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I would not let my dog sleep in this place. It was dirty and the sheets were so thin you could see through them. The room itself was just plain nasty. The bedspread had stains on them and over all I did not rest easy at all. I was so happy by the time morning came around. Also, there was no mattress pad on bed and pillows smelled bad. The pool was dirty and the what they call breakfast is a joke !!!!! Do yourself a favor and stay away from this place. It's Just BAD. I have stayed at Super 8's that have not been this dirty. Spend the extra money and get a good nights sleeps This is one of the worst hotels stays I have ever had, and I travel a lot... BEWARE!!!!!!

Room Tip: Just don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Overall, it was not a terrible experience, but this has been the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. First thing I did not like was that I pay for a river-view room and they gave me a room with no view at all because according to them, there were no more rooms available (we could see from the outside that only a few rooms were lighted)
We tried to just ignore this, but on top of it, the A/C was not working properly, which made our stay even less comfortable.
Nice lobby and good breakfast, which was included.

Room Tip: Good Luck!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hotel is literally off the ramp of the highway. Arrived early morning. As we pulled into the drive way to check in, there were several cars and one shuttle van crammed into this tight area. They only have valet parking. The morning, female staff were nice, helpful and friendly. The evening male staff were cold and could careless who walked in. Nothing spectacular about the room. Interior decor needs much updating throughout the lobby. Continental breakfast was below average. Great location. The free city tram is next door. Lots of local restaurants and souvenir stores walking distance. Bayside Marketplace is approximately 15 min walk.

Room Tip: I've never been to Miami. Must take the Miami Bus Tour. You can view the entire city and South...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

There is no arguing that this is a very tired old building, but the location is fantastic. We needed just one night in downtown Miami and I simply wasn't willing to shell out $300+ for a bed for one night, post cruise. I was completely unsuccessful in finding anything affordable through Priceline or other travel sites. I am normally the queen of "name your own price" but Miami beat me this time. When we found a deal for under $150/night, I took it immediately and am completely happy that we did. The staff was friendly and quite helpful and the location could not be beat. Having read the prior reviews, there was nothing that came as a surprise and it ended up being more comfortable than I would have expected. I would totally recommend this if you are just looking for an affordable place downtown for one or two nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The River Park Hotel & Suites is conveniently located near the Water Front and Downtown, which is why we chose it, but after we arrived we found a very old and tired property.

The Restaurant and Bar are closed. There is no room service, Bellmen or Concierge Service .

Parking is Valet Only and costs $20 per night.

The Hotel Wi-Fi can only be accessed in the lobby. No internet access in the rooms .

The swimming pool is small and very dirty.

The only food service is a self-serve continental breakfast, which consists of Coffee, Orange Juice, cereal, toast and fruit.

The rooms are mostly double beds and the only amenity is free shampoo and conditioner in the bathrooms. There is no coffee machine or refrigerator in the rooms.

We arrived at 1pm, two hours before the normal check in time of 3pm. As a result were charged a $35 fee for early check in. We had pre-booked three nights and expected a queen sized bed.

The first night we were placed on the third floor with a view of the rooftop air conditioners and the freeway. The room had a double bed. The ice machine on our floor and the one above did not work. The room was clean, but the furniture was antiquated and the bathroom ceiling was peeling. The windows were very dirty.The towels were institutional and the telephone in the room was cracked with wires showing.

The next two nights, at our request, the Hotel did up grade us to a suite on the ninth floor, which was large, but again very antiquated. There were two double beds, a sofa bed and a large wet bar, but no refrigerator or ice bucket in the room. The room was clean, but again the bathroom ceiling was peeling and the towels were cheap institutional type. The draperies were torn and the carpet was thread bare. The windows were very dirty.

Neither room had a Hotel Guide or telephone directory, but the suite did have a Chamber of Commerce guide to Miami.

The Front Desk Staff was pleasant and did upgrade our room without problems on our second day. When asked about the condition of the property, the staff told me that the property recently changed hands. They did indicate there are plans to upgrade the building sometime later this year.

For $200 per night, I expected a lot more for my money and was very disappointed with the Hotel.

I would not stay there again!

Room Tip: River View rooms are quitter than the City View, which faces the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Day 1: first assigned room was rejected by us due to shabbiness, clogged sink drain & window could not be closed. Second assigned room: A bit less shabby looking, again a semi- clogged sink and only three (!) hangers for 2 people staying for 5 days. Lock box non-functional. No luggage rack, one shabby arm chair.
Day 2: Asking staff for more hangers, thorough cleaning, one more chair, functional lock box, a luggage rack and a new light bulb in the shower. Got 4 out of 6: cleaning, hangers, luggage rack (after mgr. said they “didn't have any in this hotel” and was confronted that we saw one in our friends' room. We woke up that night at 2:30am, b/o rhythmical banging of a headboard of a bed in the next room against our wall. If we had had a choice, we'd have left the hotel the very next am, but we had already pre-paid all the days on-line.
Day 3: NO ONE CLEANED OUR ROOM! (Yet someone took the time to put an ironing board in it, even tho we never requested one - & didn’t have an iron to begin with!) We were told to come downstairs to the concierge to get clean towels for next am, as all house cleaning staff was gone by the time we returned from our day trip (about 9:30pm).
Day 4: Confronted the hotel director with all that had happened and was wrong. He was uncooperative & unapologetic. He never offered true remediation nor - of course - a courtesy discount. When confronted with the fact that BREAKFAST WAS BELOW STANDARDS, (‘continental breakfast’ is offered, but there were no fruits or eggs left after 7:30am), he countered "'what can you do, if people eat too many eggs?".
Day of departure: at 5:30am there was NO HOT WATER for showers! Glad to be out of there - never to return.
Positives: the Hotel is relatively cheap for its location. There was valet parking for 20$ a night for our rental car. The lobby has good art work including a great Botero sculpture. It clearly has seen better times, but needs a lot of help now. The house keeping staff on the floor tried to be helpful - but of course they could do nothing about the poor management of the place. We did leave them a good tip, for 'trying'.
Also: It seems to be a hotel for one-nighters who are catching a cruise ship the following morning. It is clearly not equipped for a longer stay.
DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 100 SE 4th Street, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/ Miami
River Park Hotel And Suites Downtown/Convention Center
River Park Hotel Downtown
River Park Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.