We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good because of the location only” 2 of 5 stars
Review of River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center

Save Saved
You added River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 SE 4th Street, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 130 hotels in Miami
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
“Good because of the location only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is old and surely needs renovation.
No wifi in the rooms, no restaurant, what you get for breakfast is bread and coffee.
We've got a room with a nice view on floor 7 but we weren't warned that behind our wall there is some chunking switchboard.
good price for a good location, nothing more positive about!

Room Tip: Avoid elevators or switchboards nearby your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    62
    106
    88
    136
See reviews for
76
103
45
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

minimum of comfort, had to ask for a chair
and waiting three days for coathangers.
hotel had better times, needs urgently renovation
no restaurant no internet
room had no chair on arrival, waiting three days for coat-hangers








  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foz do Iguacu, Brazil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Aspectos Bons: Ficamos nesse hotel pela praticidade (só na primeira noite da viagem, pois na outra manhã já partiríamos para Orlando). Para esse propósito, foi excelente. O atendimento foi bem legal. A localização é realmente muito boa. Bem central e muito próximo a uma estação do metrorail (que leva a quase todos os lugares importantes e é GRÁTIS). É bem perto de um Starbucks, Ross, CVS e vários outros comércios. O elevador é bem grande e rápido. Também há a possibilidade de o hóspede deixar as bagagens no hotel se tiver chegado antes do horário do check-in (16h), o que facilita muito. O hotel oferece café da manhã, o que é bem raro em se tratando de hotéis dessa categoria nos EUA.
Good Aspects: We stayed in this hotel on the first day of our trip because it was very convenient considering our purpose (the very next morning we would go to Orlando). The staff was very kind. It was great in meeting our goals. The hotel is very well located, near the a metrorail station which can take you pretty much everywhere and is free of charge. There is Starbucks, Ross, CVS and many others stores and restaurants nearby. The elevator of the hotel is very fast and large. Guests are able to leave their luggage in the hotel in case they arrive before the check-in time (which is 4pm). They also offer breakfast.. something very hard to find as far as hotels of this category in the US are concerned.
Aspectos ruins: O café da manhã tem apenas pão fatiado, manteiga, um tipo de muffin meio congelado, café e suco de laranja. Tinha duas torradeiras disponíveis mas apenas uma estava funcionando, então tinha uma espera para torrar o pão. Além disso o revestimento do chão dos quartos é de carpete. Mas no geral o hotel é bem prático.
Bad Aspects: The options for breakfast were bread, butter, muffins, coffee and orange juice. There were two toasters available but just one of them was working, which meant we had to wait some time in order to toast our slices of bread. There was carpet in the room. But overall the hotel was pretty good.

Room Tip: Fiquei no quinto andar. Achei silencioso.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Any entrepreneur would definitely convert such a nicely located Hotel to a gold mine. I wonder why not in this case. So strategically placed, so conveniently located for getting into Miami mover and connecting to the rest, so beautiful view from the rooms, yet I shall never think twice not to book this Hotel in future. The rooms are stinky (Please do not go by the on-line pictures, they are quite deceptive!!), the service is extremely poor (or should I say non-existent), bathrooms are big let-downs and the Break fast is simply horrible. You pay some 10-12$ for breakfast to be included and you do it just to avoid the hassles. But it will simply let you down. Better to get to nearby places for a bite. And mind you, the charge is not that nominal. There is no tea/coffee maker or even a kettle in the room. Plastic disposable glasses in are a big irritant in the room. At 20-30$ more, Hyatt, next door, is a much better option.

Room Tip: Rooms at Higher Floors have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sexau, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

3 good points:

- Excellent location, with walking distance of Bayside and Downtown Miami, and a minute's walk from two different stops on Miami's free "Metro Mover" public transportation system
- Obviously it's cheap - if you're on a budget and not fussy, this place is fine
- There is a free luggage room where you can leave your belongings if you have checked out but are not leaving town until later

The bad points:

- Compulsory valet parking (no option to just park your own car) costs $20 per day. Yes, they say this on their website, it is not a hidden fee, but it is still extortionate. As a European used to free parking at most hotels, this is obscene. The person doing the valet parking spoke little English and could not understand basic questions. I am a professional translator so am sensitive to and love linguistic differences, but in an English-speaking country you should be able to communicate in English at somewhere like a hotel.

- Our bed sheet and under-sheet were too small for the bed! Every night we had to pull them back over and under the mattress several times, making for a poor night's sleep.

- The "double bed" in our room was minimal size; I have stayed in "single beds" that size. You could fit two people in it but it was the very smallest possible bed to be able to call it a double.

- Breakfast was a farce. The hotel has something like 15 or 20 floors, but there are only about 10 tables in the breakfast rooms! As a result, people were sitting on the lobby benches eating on their laps, and some were just standing around, perching their drinks on the floor beside them. After the first morning's experience, we gave up for the remaining 2 mornings and found places in town.

- Solicitation and seedy street traders are actively allowed inside the hotel. This contrary to most hotels in the US which display big "no solicitation" signs. What a dreadful lack of respect for guests' comfort and safety. I saw people in the lobby pushing their tit-tat on guests trying to go about their daily business. Also, every time you return to your room, under your door are a pile of pizza delivery slips etc. - so they even allow people to come INTO the hotel right up to the rooms! What a breach of privacy and security. This was the worst aspect of the hotel due to the sheer can't-care-less attitude shown by the act of allowing solicitation. Do NOT bring children to this hotel under any circumstances, there are some very dodgy characters hovering in and around the entrance at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back which overlooks the river area, rather than the front which overlooks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My best friend and I stayed there for two nights at the end of October. We were surprised that we were upgraded to a nicer suite. The people at the service desk were extremely helpful, friendly and helped us with a replacement room key when we locked ourselves out. They also had maps for the city and gave us tips on cheap city travel, which helped us out in a huge way. They are going through a transition of both management and repairs, but honestly, that wasn't an issue when the people working there were so nice. I would book this hotel again. $80 a night in a central location makes it nearly perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place has the potential to be good. However the owners along with maybe just poor management, has let the building run down. Please the online pictures sell you a great place for a great price. Please spend the extra $50-$60 dollars and stay next door at the Hyatt.

Had booked 2 nights here in Aug-2013 for my cruise. We found this place online. It seemed perfect for the 2 nights before I left for my cruise, and the price worked and location to the port. Upon arrival the lobby was okay. Checking in was a problem since first they said we had no reservation's, then they found it and booked us twice....ugh. Tired and just wanted to get to our room we finally headed up. Hallways smelled of ciggarette's...yet you passesd a few non-smoking signs. We finally entered our room. The enclosed room smelled musty. They may not have cleaned the room in a while, due to the fact it smelled not fresh, smokey and menus from local restaurants littered the floor. We were like what. The room was not welcoming. We said 2 nights let's make it work.

1. The telephone's did not work in the room.
2. The bathroom sink clogged. Maintenance was rude spoke no english and looked annoyed that we needed assistance to have it unclogged.
3. Shower did not work well. However after the maintenance was so rude. My hubby fixed it enough so we can all take a shower.

The sheets looked unclean really it was like a motel. We just slept on top and made the best of it. The beds will take your back out by 2am my husband and I were up finding it hard to sleep. The room was so stuffy. I aired it out opened all the windows so we can fall back to sleep. We longed for daylight. As soon as morning came we looked for another hotel. We went downstairs and spoke to the manager on duty and asked for our second night to be refunded. I was greateful he worked with us. We left that morning so quickly. The hotel we fled too was the B2 hotel right downtown for a few dollars more we we got an awesome hotel very chic...very Miami across from Biscayne Marketplace in the heart of the excitement.

Word of advice River Park Hotel and Suites was between $95 dollars and up. The B2, The Hyatt and other hotels were around $120 and up. River Park is a run down Hotel that deserves no ones hard earned money spend the extra few dollars and stay in a real hotel. Also the location this hotel is in. Be careful in the dark. They area was questionable did not like that. Heck I am a New Yorker. However that area a little dark lot's of people displaced sleeping in corners and such. So unless you have no other choice not recommeded. Please see my other review on the B2 Hotel and my experience there.

Room Tip: NONE!.... Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 100 SE 4th Street, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/ Miami
River Park Hotel And Suites Downtown/Convention Center
River Park Hotel Downtown
River Park Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.