We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seedy - allows solicitation inside hotel - do not take children here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center to your Saves list
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 SE 4th Street, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Sexau, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Seedy - allows solicitation inside hotel - do not take children here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

3 good points:

- Excellent location, with walking distance of Bayside and Downtown Miami, and a minute's walk from two different stops on Miami's free "Metro Mover" public transportation system
- Obviously it's cheap - if you're on a budget and not fussy, this place is fine
- There is a free luggage room where you can leave your belongings if you have checked out but are not leaving town until later

The bad points:

- Compulsory valet parking (no option to just park your own car) costs $20 per day. Yes, they say this on their website, it is not a hidden fee, but it is still extortionate. As a European used to free parking at most hotels, this is obscene. The person doing the valet parking spoke little English and could not understand basic questions. I am a professional translator so am sensitive to and love linguistic differences, but in an English-speaking country you should be able to communicate in English at somewhere like a hotel.

- Our bed sheet and under-sheet were too small for the bed! Every night we had to pull them back over and under the mattress several times, making for a poor night's sleep.

- The "double bed" in our room was minimal size; I have stayed in "single beds" that size. You could fit two people in it but it was the very smallest possible bed to be able to call it a double.

- Breakfast was a farce. The hotel has something like 15 or 20 floors, but there are only about 10 tables in the breakfast rooms! As a result, people were sitting on the lobby benches eating on their laps, and some were just standing around, perching their drinks on the floor beside them. After the first morning's experience, we gave up for the remaining 2 mornings and found places in town.

- Solicitation and seedy street traders are actively allowed inside the hotel. This contrary to most hotels in the US which display big "no solicitation" signs. What a dreadful lack of respect for guests' comfort and safety. I saw people in the lobby pushing their tit-tat on guests trying to go about their daily business. Also, every time you return to your room, under your door are a pile of pizza delivery slips etc. - so they even allow people to come INTO the hotel right up to the rooms! What a breach of privacy and security. This was the worst aspect of the hotel due to the sheer can't-care-less attitude shown by the act of allowing solicitation. Do NOT bring children to this hotel under any circumstances, there are some very dodgy characters hovering in and around the entrance at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back which overlooks the river area, rather than the front which overlooks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    72
    117
    92
    143
See reviews for
87
111
53
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredonia, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My best friend and I stayed there for two nights at the end of October. We were surprised that we were upgraded to a nicer suite. The people at the service desk were extremely helpful, friendly and helped us with a replacement room key when we locked ourselves out. They also had maps for the city and gave us tips on cheap city travel, which helped us out in a huge way. They are going through a transition of both management and repairs, but honestly, that wasn't an issue when the people working there were so nice. I would book this hotel again. $80 a night in a central location makes it nearly perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place has the potential to be good. However the owners along with maybe just poor management, has let the building run down. Please the online pictures sell you a great place for a great price. Please spend the extra $50-$60 dollars and stay next door at the Hyatt.

Had booked 2 nights here in Aug-2013 for my cruise. We found this place online. It seemed perfect for the 2 nights before I left for my cruise, and the price worked and location to the port. Upon arrival the lobby was okay. Checking in was a problem since first they said we had no reservation's, then they found it and booked us twice....ugh. Tired and just wanted to get to our room we finally headed up. Hallways smelled of ciggarette's...yet you passesd a few non-smoking signs. We finally entered our room. The enclosed room smelled musty. They may not have cleaned the room in a while, due to the fact it smelled not fresh, smokey and menus from local restaurants littered the floor. We were like what. The room was not welcoming. We said 2 nights let's make it work.

1. The telephone's did not work in the room.
2. The bathroom sink clogged. Maintenance was rude spoke no english and looked annoyed that we needed assistance to have it unclogged.
3. Shower did not work well. However after the maintenance was so rude. My hubby fixed it enough so we can all take a shower.

The sheets looked unclean really it was like a motel. We just slept on top and made the best of it. The beds will take your back out by 2am my husband and I were up finding it hard to sleep. The room was so stuffy. I aired it out opened all the windows so we can fall back to sleep. We longed for daylight. As soon as morning came we looked for another hotel. We went downstairs and spoke to the manager on duty and asked for our second night to be refunded. I was greateful he worked with us. We left that morning so quickly. The hotel we fled too was the B2 hotel right downtown for a few dollars more we we got an awesome hotel very chic...very Miami across from Biscayne Marketplace in the heart of the excitement.

Word of advice River Park Hotel and Suites was between $95 dollars and up. The B2, The Hyatt and other hotels were around $120 and up. River Park is a run down Hotel that deserves no ones hard earned money spend the extra few dollars and stay in a real hotel. Also the location this hotel is in. Be careful in the dark. They area was questionable did not like that. Heck I am a New Yorker. However that area a little dark lot's of people displaced sleeping in corners and such. So unless you have no other choice not recommeded. Please see my other review on the B2 Hotel and my experience there.

Room Tip: NONE!.... Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

After driving around the block five times thanks to closed roads and poor signs we finally arrived to be greeted by no one. The valet attendant continued to carry on a conversation while watching three women unload their own luggage. Once the last bag hit the ground we had to find our own luggage cart while yet again the front desk attendant as well as another valet attendant watched our struggle. Some twenty minutes later we finally got our room. Two full beds with a single king size head board as decoration, where's the Ice bucket? Forget that where's the ice machine. Depends on who you ask. The homeless pregnant women who was in a very heated debate with herself was entertaining, until she started asking guests for cigarettes. And the vacant restaurant ten feet away made for a nice all night vagrant disco. The cherry on top was when sitting by the pool at night enjoying the waterway we proceeded to watch a homeless man shoot up drugs, urinate on the hotel we are staying at and then pass out, this all happened ten feet away from where we were sitting. Bring pepper spray, or a tetnus shot but make sure you use the buddy system after dark!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed there last weekend before our cruise. When I was looking for a room the reviews weren't too scathing. Very reasonable price. Ya get what you pay for. The only bright spot was the front desk. Other than one young man who seemed overwhelmed by it all, they were genuinely helpful and nice. Right as we checked I asked for and was charged for a late check out the next afternoon. I had asked for an extra pillow and a few hours later it hadn't shown up but when I called the front desk again, it was delivered within minutes. Nice. Not so nice was us waking up with multiple bug bites all over our legs. Coincidence ? Maybe not. We have low-flow toilets at home. The hotel had NO flow toilets. Had to flush multiple times. The comforter had lots of cigarette holes. The sheets were so thin I thought it was just the mattress. The "breakfast" the next morning was ridiculous. Wonder Bread only. Frozen mini muffins. No tea. Warm milk for cereal. No fruit. "Continental" is one thing. This was a joke. And a woman selling excursions got in everyone's face and badgered them into taking one of her trips. Then the kicker ... in the morning I was away and my husband stayed behind. Even though the late check in was handled the day before, TWICE the maids POUNDED on our door, demanding my husband leave and go downstairs to sort it out. He has anxiety issues and this almost sent him over the edge. Not to be racist, but if the hotel workers speak NO English, how are we to communicate ?? So my husband had to hurridly pack up all our stuff alone and drag it all downstairs, where we sat for 1 1/2 hours before we went to the port. I had wanted to have a relaxing day in the our room till we needed to leave. Didn't want to get to the port early with the thousands of other cruisers. So irate. Bad way to start a fun trip. The manager apologized up and down and without my asking took off the late checkout fee. Good thing. It is centrally located, which was a plus. Right next to the elevated train. And a wierd side note ... there were multiple huge BIZARRE statues all over the lobby. The one right in the middle was of a massive woman, laying on her ample stomach, riding a wave, smoking a cigarette/cigar, with her ta-tas right in your face. WTF?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We had to wait for rooms to be cleaned before we could even check in, even with reservations 2 months in advance.Beds were the worst I've slept in, the comforter smelled,rooms were dirty.Spend a little more and don't stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

we visited there on labor day weekend. Hotel is quite good we have been promoted to a suite it was a good surprise. Room was quite big and clean. You can choose to have downtown view or river view room.But the sad part is Miami downtown has no night life. There was no body on streets at 9 in night. Every single place was closed. Somehow we found a restaurant for dinner. So if you are a night party person dont stay in downtown. Rather choose a place near south beach and enjoy your evening at ocean st.

Room Tip: River side rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 100 SE 4th Street, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Park Hotel And Suites Downtown/Convention Center
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/ Miami
River Park Hotel Downtown
River Park Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.