We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget traveler who wants to be downtown only - Price/ location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center

Save Saved
You added River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 SE 4th Street, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 129 hotels in Miami
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Budget traveler who wants to be downtown only - Price/ location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is all about location for the budget conscious traveler without a car. Not the best customer services, clean bathroom, but mattress, pillow, bed cover, not too so much.

Valet parking is $20 a day. No other choice for parking.

The people mover (train) is right next to the hotel. This train will take you around downtown and surrounding areas like to Mary Brickell Village (restaurants and bars), Bayside (shopping strip next to the bay), American Airlines Arena.

South Beach is a $25 cab ride.

Shopping - Dadeland Mall if carless you can actually take the metrorail train there.

Otherwise the Dolphin Mall is always a good deal, outlet stores, bowling, movies, awesome food, restaurants, food courts, bars.

Room Tip: Single rooms are very small. the lower floors have a bit of a view, more like if you look up you se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    64
    111
    89
    140
See reviews for
82
107
46
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

As soon as you get into the hotel you can tell that it is very outdated starting with the low light lobby and the colors.
The room: Honestly the floors were renovated wood floor and tile in the bathroom (Plus Point)
The furniture is very old which was not a problem for me but the problem is that the chair was badly stained and the bed comforter looled like it was over used. The A/C ducts seriously needs cleaning and there are some signs of mold although honestly not too many spots.
the mattress is very basic and the walls either needs to be washed or repainted from the many luggage and furniture scratches. I needed an iron to iron my shirt, it was there but it was in a bad condition although it is a cheap brand so it would be easily replaced.
Once again you can't beat the price specially for the downtown area.
I was there for a business meeting so not bad for a night stay

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hotel lobby was nice, dated but nice. Staff came off as decent, but communication was an issue. I didn't like that they needed to photocopy my I.D., they were going to photocopy my credit card too, but the staff was interrupted. There was also a $20 deposit for the room; I found this strange as well.

There were comments made that the hotel has/had bedbugs on the upper floors. Our group didn't find that to be a problem, but it did concern us GREATLY!

There were 3 of us staying at the hotel, our buddy was busy so we took his luggage to the hotel and left. Our buddy came while we were out; hotel staff let him in the room even though his name was not on assigned to our room. THANKFULLY we didn't end up paying for their mistake with this breach of security and safety of our belongings.

The breakfast was poor, the rooms felt dirty, the tub was stained, the caulking round the tub was moldy, the walls were marked up, the carpets were dirty and coming up. The pool, well we didn't even bother. Ice machines were either broken or worked poorly.

I liked the location of the hotel, but the area was a bit scary. At night the streets in the area are filled with people sleeping on the sidewalks and this can and does give concern to personal safety. We also seen rats running around close to the hotel and it smelled bad when walking to and from the hotel.

There are several great shops and places to eat near the hotel and these places made the stay much nicer and everything was in walking distance, but I will never book a room here again!

Room Tip: Just don't bother booking a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suitland, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

SCARY
Nice size hotel room for one night. Had a hard time understanding front desk staff (poor English). Room door does not close completely. Place a chair against door to close door completely. Bed was horrible and uncomfortable. Electronic Key system would not accept key card, had to fight with the door to get it open. Front Desk rekeyed card but that did not work. Bathroom, mold on shower curtain, in order for the toilet to flush you must hold the handle down entire the toilet flushes completely. Not a tourist location had to walk three plus blocks to find a food eatery or restaurant. Walk four plus blocks and you will be at Bayside Marketplace great place to find something to eat and shop. The most interesting action was gun shots 2:30 in the morning time to get out of Miami. Would not Recommend without warning travelers first.

Room Tip: This is a downtown hotel but not a tourist location. Would not recommend without warning others fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Outdated, dirty, bed bugs and a huge security risk.

Lets start with the security first:
I came there to meet my friends who had already checked in and had my bags in their room. I called their room from the lobby, and had no answer twice. I asked the front desk clerk if I could gain access into the room to get my luggage (my name was not on the itinerary whatsoever) and without asking me for ID, he just gave me a key to their room. Although I was happy to be able to get into my luggage, this was an extremely horrible move that violates a LOT of security issues.

Cleanliness:
The room was a dump. The sheets looked like they had not been washed in weeks and more hair in the bathtub than Ive ever seen stuck in my wifes hair brush. It was obvious that the beds had not been moved in a LONG time as the floors were absolutely disgusting. The rooms smelled like mold and although we could not find any ourselves, we overheard multiple guests complaining about bed bugs and trying to find alternate accommodations. There are marks on the room, lobby, and hallway walls that appear to have been there for a long time, and overall the hotel is just makes you FEEL dirty. I have literally stayed in over 100 hotels and would rate this one at the very bottom of the list for cleanliness.

Outdated:
Even with the 80's decor, the lobby looks somewhat inviting. Once you get past that, the place needs a major overhaul. Paint, trim, new carpets, and definitely furnishings and beds.

Other:
I understand that it's a convenient location to the convention center, but if you have the chance, go elsewhere! The hotels on Biscanye are only a 5-8 minute walk away and I'm guessing well worth it. No restaurant in this hotel either other than breakfast.

The only positive point of this trip was a restaurant called "El Cartel Columbian" about 1 block away. I had a server named Lily who was an absolute treat to deal with and the food was incredible.

Closing thoughts....stay away from here. Read the other reviews and trust them! This place is a dump.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

An ok hotel, just it . Not an outstanding one, but confortable and very well located.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Where to start really? The place is cheap, but that is for a reason. The rooms are not particularly comfortable (though they are clean), and facilities woefully lacking. The wireless only works in the lobby, and the gym was entirely closed as the three machines were broken.

I would recommend it for a night or two, if you just need somewhere to rest your head. However do not expect any luxury, and if you can stay somewhere nicer, do so (the local area isn't great)

Room Tip: Exercise room is non-existent. If this is important, stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 100 SE 4th Street, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/ Miami
River Park Hotel And Suites Downtown/Convention Center
River Park Hotel Downtown
River Park Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.