We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Miami Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Miami Airport to your Saves list
HYATT house Miami Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5710 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #14 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My two friends and I stayed here pre and post cruise Feb 22 and March 2 and don't have enough good things to say. The first night we stayed we were very happy with the room, two bedrooms, two complete bathrooms, full kitchen! After our cruise we were at the hotel by 8:45 a.m. I asked the front desk fellow if we could just leave our luggage with them because I knew the room would not be available until mid afternoon. He immediately told me he was going to see if he could get us a room right away, within 10 minutes he had us in our room. We asked about shopping and they made phone reservations for us to catch the Sawgrass shuttle from the hotel and later when we got back asked them to recommend a restaurant close by, they recommended Casa Juan Restaurant (Cuban) and we inquired if it was safe for 3 ladies to walk there and back. He immediately said they would take us and on the way over to the restaurant said when we were ready to come back to the hotel, to call him in his cell and he would come pick us up! Where do you get that kind of service and the shuttle driver was so much fun. He dropped us off at the restaurant and when we were in the restaurant, he said to the fellow who welcomes the guests to "take care of his girls". I would highly recommend this hotel and Casa Juan Restaurant, the food and service was absolutely perfection. Great location for airport and costs about $25 for a taxi to the pier

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gody A, General Manager at HYATT house Miami Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We hope you will visit us again when you return to the Miami area.

Regards,

Gody Almonte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    369
    89
    37
    15
See reviews for
423
233
43
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were here for total of three nights before and after cruise and had a rental car which made moving around very easy. The property is ok, nothing special but we didn't miss anything either.

First two nights before the cruise we got a room with a "canal view" referring the concrete canal behind the property which had a lot of birds. Nothing to look at but this side proved later to be better because it was quieter than the room just above the lobby (noise from the airport) and more free parking spots in the back.

After the cruise we got a room from third floor directly above the lobby which meant that the windows faced the airport. Also in the bigger bedroom the window was crooked so that there was 1/4" gap between the window frame and the outer fixing. This caused our night to be quite cold and noisy as the wind and noise from the airport got straight in.

As we only noticed that late at night and were in the room for only one night, we didn't feel like having to get up and having the hassle of them trying to repair it in the middle of the night (in the other bedroom similar problem had been obiviously fixed with two angle irons and pop rivets forcing the window to be in right position). When we told about the matter while checking out next morning, we were apologized profusely and I hope that they really fixed the window. (I even left a post-it note on the window frame pointing to the hole that one could see clearly through.)

All in all I wouldn't hesitate going here again - probably will go again when cruising from Miami. This time there was nothing in Miami area that could have beaten the price-value of this Hyatt House. 2br suites are a great way of saving money on accommodation when there are two couples travelling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gody A, Manager at HYATT house Miami Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about our hotel. We work to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay with us. We hope you to see you again when you are back in the Miami area.

Regards,

Gody Almonte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Had a great stay at the Hyatt House near the MIA airport. Had a meeting at the med center in the morning with a colleague and we neded up staying in a 2 bedroom suite. The suite itself was spacious and well laid out with 2 separate bedrooms and baths. Large living room. Only issue I had was that they could have chosen a better brand of coffee for the rooms as well as have some herbal tea selections. Evening cocktail hour was nice and the breakfast met out needs as well. Multiple choices and extremely friendly staff. The overall hotel is well kept and smartly furnished. Overall, I felt the place was a good value <$90 per individual. Since we were both working on a joint product, I liked having a single suite. More than enough privacy but still had a joint working area. Highly recommend the location!

Room Tip: Two bedroom suites with 2 kings are a great value. Large enough for two couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gody A, General Manager at HYATT house Miami Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hyatt house Miami Airport. Our staff will also be delighted to hear your wonderful comments. Once again, thank you for your business!

Gody Almonte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We drove down from Tampa and stayed here the night before leaving on a cruise. My husband and I drove down with my parents, so rather than getting separate rooms we got a two bedroom suite - a great value that brought the rate down to about $70 per couple. Having stayed in Miami many times I don't think we could have found as nice of a hotel for that price per room really anywhere. The rooms were nice and very clean, if a little small - but having a whole living room and kitchen area between the two rooms totally made up for it. We noticed from some hotel information in the room that it is a pet friendly property, which for us is a big plus since we often travel with our two dogs. Our stay was only for the one night, but I would definitely consider this property for a longer stay in Miami. The only possible downside is that, being by the airport, you're not going to leave the hotel, go for a walk, and find good restaurants or shopping close by like you would in Coconut grove or Miami Beach. But even with that being said I would definitely consider this hotel again for future stays. Oh, one small snag we hit was that there are no ice machines except for the freezers in each room. Upon arrival they are of course empty, so remember to turn on the ice maker and consider buying a bag of ice to get you through the first day or your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gody A, General Manager at HYATT house Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We hope you will visit us again when you return to the Miami area.

Regards,

Gody Almonte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were just in Miami one night before a cruise. I had read many Miami hotel reviews and was looking for a place we could stay that was nice, had restaurants within walking distance, had a free airport shuttle (since we would be flying in), and a free breakfast the next morning. This place had good trip advisory reviews, with only a few negative comments. Our flight was delayed the
day we flew in, so it as already dark out and pouring down raining by the time we reached the hotel. The desk clerk checked us in quickly and suggested as an option to getting back out in the rain, that we could have our dinner ordered in. He gave us 5 menus to different places that offered free delivery to the hotel. This worked out perfect, as we were not only tired but once we got in the room the kids were too excited to leave. It was more like a small two bedroom apartment than a hotel room. We had two separate rooms with king sized beds and each with it's own full bathroom and the rooms were separated by a small living area and kitchenette. The room was very clean and the beds were very plush and comfortable. My youngest upon finding that the couch in the living area folded out into a bed also, claimed that for his own. I wish I could remember the name of the place we ordered dinner from, as it was not only very good but a real bargain. It was. Greek/Italian place and we had a large pizza, a family size Greek salad, and 4 drinks all delivered to the hotel for $28, plus a tip. The kitchenette had a small table, plates, bowls, and silverware, that made eating in like being at home. The next morning we ate at the free continental breakfast buffet. They had all the usual continental stuff like cereals, danishes, bagels, fruit, milk, juices, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate, plus a few hot offerings (oatmeal, French toast, mini cheese omellets, and sausage). Just FYI, there was no make-it-yourself waffle iron like you usually see on these buffets, but there was still plenty to choose from. After breakfast we hung out in the room until 11 and then came down and had the desk clerk call us a cab to take us to the port. This hotel does offer a shuttle to the port for $12/person, however if you have more than two people you are paying for it is cheaper to get a cab (I was paying for 4). The guy at the desk did say that they might possibly only charge me $6 for my 8 yr old, but that still would have been $42, plus I am sure they would have expected a tip. We got a taxi for $27.50, plus tip. Our experience at his hotel was very positive. As I said the room was very nice, clean, and comfortable, the breakfast satisfactory, and the service very good. We would definitely recommend it and stay here again next time we're in Miami.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top level and quite a way from the elevator, so we did not experience any noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gody A, General Manager at HYATT house Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about our hotel. We work to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay with us. We hope you to see you again when you are back in the Miami area.

Regards,

Gody Almonte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Depending on what you want to do while in Miami, it's a great choice. Close to the airport (actually, no more than 4 minutes driving), 20 minutes driving from Miami Beach and 20 minutes from Coconut area. Nice people, free breakfast and evening cocktails.
Rooms are a plus, with separate living room and bedroom. It has a complete kitchen with full size fridge, oven, microwave...
I reserved a 1bdr room and got a 2bdr, supersized room. Stayed there just for 1 day, and it was nice.

Room Tip: If posible, ask for a big room. See what comes (usually a 2bdr room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gody A, General Manager at HYATT house Miami Airport, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review of our hotel. I think you pretty much summed up everything that we offer at our hotel, so thanks. We appreciate your feedback and I will pass along your review to my staff. We hope the next time you need to stay in Miami you will choose us again.

Regards,
Gody Almonte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was the first trip to Miami for My Wife and me and we made it our Honeymoon Destination. The hotel was beautiful and offered more than we Expected. With it having the best free food, and excellent staff what else could u ask for. When back in Miami we will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Pool View was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to HYATT house Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Miami Airport

Address: 5710 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#14 Family Hotel in Miami
#22 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Miami Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt House Miami Airport is the best choice when travelling to Miami. Whether you are passing through on your way to a cruise, on vacation to see the sites, on short term business, or even on long term stays. The property is conveniently located just 2 miles from the airport, close enough to have a complimentary shuttle, but far enough to give one a feel different from an airport hotel. We are located equal distances from the beaches and some of the most popular shoopping venues of Miami. At the same time, you can easily go east and tour Biscayne Bay, or go west into the Everglades and see an alligator show. We have the most spacious suites in town, equipped with a complete kitchen. Our hot breakfast is second to none in the area, and it is complimentary, as is the social hour we host Monday through Thursday at our guest house, where you can enjoy complimentary appetizers, soft drinks, beer and wine.The staff at the Hyatt House Miami is anxious to welcome you and I look forward to meeting you in person.Gody Almonte, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your HYATT house Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites - Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami Airport
Summerfield Suites Miami
Miami Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.