We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Miami Airport

Save Saved
You added HYATT house Miami Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
HYATT house Miami Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5710 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Summer Savings
Ranked #18 of 129 hotels in Miami
Jerome, Idaho
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great value, great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here one night after a luxury cruise and didn't want to 'slum it' just to save money, so I had a friend sift through the close-to-airport hotels with free breakfast and airport shuttle. For $134, three of us were extremely comfortable. The hotel had a convenient location, large rooms, and great amenities (included) such as Internet, airport shuttle, breakfast, and light dinner. The suite had 2 flat screen TVs, a full kitchen, a full sectional sofa that made a handy bed, a safe, comfortable seating and lighting, and a DVR as well as an iPod dock, and the bathroom amenities included toothpaste. There were no luggage racks, and the flooring could have been cleaner. Both king-sized bed and sofa sleeper were comfortable and had good quality bedding. With the exception of using my name, staff met every standard I have to evaluate when mystery shopping hotels, and every staff member I encountered (housekeeping, security, groundsmen) greeted me. Didn't use the pool as we were too tired, but it was inviting and clean. The on-site barbecue and market were also welcome conveniences.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room due to handicap. Perhaps because ground floors have more guest volume, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sig V, General Manager at HYATT house Miami Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Good afternoon Joni, and thank you very much for your comments. I am glad we met all of your expectations. Please do not hesitate to lok us up next time you visit Miami

Sig Varela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    280
    68
    36
    13
See reviews for
326
186
37
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt House for two nights. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was attentive and helpful. The breakfast left too much to be desired. Don't be fooled by the nice picture....it is nothing like that!!! It felft like they were feeding a bunch of hogs! People were grabbing seats, food, drinks. They were even filling their handbags with food to take back to their rooms or prepare their lunch later. The staff could not bring food out fast enough to feed the pack of wild animals. It was discusting!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sig V, General Manager at HYATT house Miami Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Good afternoon Saavedra 56, and thank you very much for your review. I appreciate your comments regarding your breakfast experience. I want you to know that we are already formulating a special plan on delivering an enjoyable breakfast experience for those days when we expect a large number of guests to be with us.

I am glad that you found all the other elements of your stay to your satisfaction. Feel free to reach out to me directly next time you are in Miami so I can personally welcome you backl.

Sig Varela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was first time here. I loved every min of it. The room was huge very clean and the kitchen was simply amazing. The staff was very nice to me and my family. The free breakfast in the morning was good. The pool was a nice size. Overall will be back again.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite with the full kitchen is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sig V, General Manager at HYATT house Miami Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Good afternoon Tracies B, and thank you very much for your comments. Please do come back and don't forget to ask for me so I can meet you in person.

Sig Varela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed one night before heading back to Dallas from an international trip. The place was very conveniently located and clean. Airport shuttle was great. Only downside was we asked for a good deal for transportation to SoBe and the front desk arranged for someone $50 each way. We ended up taking a cab on the way back because the driver they recommended didn't answer our calls and it was only $30. But the hotel was nice enough for the layover.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed Nov. 6-9. The sheets appeared to be used (hair & washable spot) upon my late arrival, so I needed to strip them off and sleep on towels. Floors and carpets were too dirty for my comfort. Stainless steel refrigerator looked like an ape beat the heck out of it. In fact, all the appliances were jacked up, installed crooked & very loud. The staff were very friendly, even replacing an entire TV when mine would only get a few analog channels & no network TV. Breakfast & Evening social food was abundant & refreshed often. My only complaint would have to be the lack of cleanliness. Carpets need to be restretched throughout the hotel. No airport noise to be heard from my room. Ample, free parking. Free, Great internet signal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

As a frequent Hyatt traveler, I have seen it all: good and bad. This has probably got to be my worst Hyatt experience ever. Granted, they have not been part of the Hyatt family for very long (neither has the staff), and granted most of the staff appear to be under 25, but they are in dire need of training.

I had prepaid my reservation on Hyatt.com for a king bed. When I checked in there were two desk clerks, one helping a guy in a suit and one helping me. I really scored the wrong one. The clerk helping the suit said things like, "I see you are platinum, thanks for your business" while my guy seemed to fumble around from the beginning. Probably new, I think, so I just stand there, saying nothing, waiting. He then proceeds to tell me that they upgraded me to a suite with 2 double beds. Well, I appreciate the offer, but I am alone and really just wanted a king, be it in a suite or not.

This is where it breaks down. I pull up my reservation on my phone and show the king bed and the fact that my bed type was guaranteed. He says, " but we upgraded you - you should be grateful." I should? Well, I appreciate the thought, but I just want what I reserved and paid for (in advance). "No. We are going to upgrade you. Thats what they did."

I tried to explain that a benefit of my status with Hyatt is guaranteed bed type. He says because they upgraded me, that is what I get. And thus we started going round and round. He never said, give me a second and let me see what I can do. He just keeps arguing with me. Not acceptable.

Then he whips out a "contract" for me to sign. In the 25 Hyatts I have stayed this year (including Park Hyatt's and Regencys) I have never had to sign a contract. With a highlighter he starts ticking off areas to initial and sign. "Initial your name," he says. Why? I ask. I mean, its my name - do you suddenly think I am going to change it and/or say it isn't me? "Its the law. Its a contract." Oh really? I think to myself.

Its clear to me this guy has no clue. I muddle through this the best I can (after his partner stepped in to secure my king bed). I get the keys and off to the room. This is a pretty big property and full of long, ugly, dated hallways. I felt like it would make a good scene for a horror movie.

The room is average. I was disappointed as there are no ice machines, so I had to wait for my fridge to produce them. Perhaps they could leave that feature on. Amenities were average. The bed is not a typical Hyatt bed (or at least it did not feel as such). Not 100% cleaned - some hairs on bathroom floor (I shave my head so I KNOW that they are not mine).

4am: Alarm starts blaring at max volume. Its dark. I am half asleep. The buttons are faded so I cant figure out how to turn it off. I push buttons until it stops. 4:15am: Alarm #2 starts blaring. I unplug it.

Breakfast: I always thought Hyatt House would be better than Hyatt Place but this does not seem to be the case. I added pics of the faux-eggs cheese omelet squares and mini sausages that were served. There were no knives or forks. Several of us wandered around looking, but only spoons. At 7:45am they were out. The food was luke warm. A huge disappointment.

The hotel is a good location. Free wifi. Free Parking. Maybe if staff had some better training things would have gone another direction. Personally, I would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night after a cruise before catching our flight home. Even though we did arrive early in the afternoon, they did have a room available for us, which we immediately went and crashed in. There is a shopping center a couple blocks away, in walking distance, so we got some food to make ourselves some dinner and for the flight home.
The shuttle driver gave us information on the easiest way to get to South Beach if we desired, which I will definitely store that information.
We overslept in the morning, so upon calling down to the front desk about the shuttle, which had already left, he offered to call a taxi since our flight was scheduled in an hour. So we did not get to sample the breakfast.
I would definitely stay again, but for more nights. The spacious two rooms definitely make a difference over the hotel feeling. Even though it is close to the airport, the sound was not enough to bother or awaken me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Miami Airport

Address: 5710 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#15 Family Hotel in Miami
#43 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Miami Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt House Miami Airport is the best choice when travelling to Miami. Whether you are passing through on your way to a cruise, on vacation to see the sites, on short term business, or even on long term stays. The property is conveniently located just 2 miles from the airport, close enough to have a complimentary shuttle, but far enough to give one a feel different from an airport hotel. We are located equal distances from the beaches and some of the most popular shoopping venues of Miami. At the same time, you can easily go east and tour Biscayne Bay, or go west into the Everglades and see an alligator show. We have the most spacious suites in town, equipped with a complete kitchen. Our hot breakfast is second to none in the area, and it is complimentary, as is the social hour we host Monday through Thursday at our guest house, where you can enjoy complimentary appetizers, soft drinks, beer and wine.The staff at the Hyatt House Miami is anxious to welcome you and I look forward to meeting you in person.Gody Almonte, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your HYATT house Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites - Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami Airport
Summerfield Suites Miami
Miami Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.