We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay for a cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 Northwest 42nd Ave (Le Jeune Rd), Miami, FL 33142   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 129 Hotels in Miami
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The place to stay for a cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

Stayed for one night before our cruise. La Quinta Inn picked us up at the airport, and the next day drove us to our cruise ship for no cost. This service was great. The cost from the cruise ship back to the airport was $30.00. The hotel is a great savings. We had to order out for our dinnerm since the Hotel serves no lunch or dinner, but there a tables to eat at the hotel. There our a number of pizza restaurants that deliver. The next morning the Hotel gives a great breakfast for free. The Hotel is clean and the front desk is very helpful. Being close to the airport means you will hear planes, but was still able to get a good nights sleep. Hey, for the first time, after we were in our room for about a half hour, the front desk called, asked if our room was OK and that if we needed anything, just give them a call. They are there 24 hours a day. The rooms are plain and the bed was very good. I asked some other guests what they thought and all agreed that this is the place to stay for a night when you have a cruise the next day. NJ Ralph

  • Liked — Airport and cruise ship service.
  • Disliked — No place close to eat dinner.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    336
    210
    75
    43
See reviews for
298
274
47
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

Stayed here one night pre-flight. It's very near the airport, although located down a slightly out of the way road, possibly not the easiest hotel to find if you're driving. However, we're British and were driving around Miami for the first time - at night - and we managed it, so it can't be that difficult! I thought this was rather an nice place actually. Comparing it to a Comfort Inn, where we had stayed previously, this seemed more upmarket. The room was bigger and the bathroom was too. There was more choice at the breakfast buffet. I don't think anyone should stay here for an actual holiday, but this is designed as a stopover place, and I think it performs that role perfectly well. There's a big car park also.

  • Liked — Pleasant, spacious room
  • Disliked — Room rate was high
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

My wife and I along with ten other friends stayed here one night pre cruise. The hotel was clean the staff friendly and helpful.

The restaurant next door had closed but there are at least four pizza places that deliver. The hotel desk clerk suggested that the best in the area was the Pizza Hut and Papa Johns. She was right. They let us use the breakfast area for our group pizza dinner.

The free shuttle to the port for our cruise was comfortable and on time. What more could you ask for a one night pre cruise hotel at such a good price. Well I could ask for a real restaurant near by, but not much else :-)

Larry

  • Liked — Free shuttle to port, friendly staff, price
  • Disliked — No close restaurant
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

Me, my boyfriend, and two other couples stayed at this hotel before boarding a cruise ship the next day. The only good thing I have to say is that the breakfast was good. The front desk staff was rude. One of the only reasons we booked there was the free shuttle to the port, the front desk employee told us he couldn't guarantee we could get on the shuttle. There was barely anyone staying there! The rest of our trips to the desk we were treated rudely. The rooms were semi clean but outdated and we could hear people in the rooms around us. You definitely get what you pay for but I would not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here before leaving on a cruise out of the port of Miami. The only reason we stayed at the La Quinta was because of the free shuttle to the port. I arrived before my boyfriend around 4:00pm. My taxi driver coming from the Ft. Lauderdale airport laughed when I told him where I was staying, as did the Miami businessman who was sharing the cab with me. They both warned me that the location was dangerous and the area was really run-down. Also, that there was NOTHING near the hotel. Needless to say, I was really nervous checking in, since my boyfriend would not be arriving until very late in the night. Check-in was smooth. The hotel is dated, and there was a boarded up restuarant in the front. There is also a boarded up Bennigans next door. Basically, the only near-by dining option was the restaurant inside the Embassy Suites which was a five minute walk away. Their restaurant was a little pricey with entrees starting at $20.00. I was not going to pay that to eat at a hotel restaurant the day before going on a cruise! I opted to have pizza delivered to my room (which was was awful!) Looking back on it, I would have requested the shuttle to take me back to the Miami airport to eat. My boyfriend arrived later, and also remarked about the run-down, scary location. We grabbed a quick bit to eat in the morning, then got on the shuttle to the port. I realize that anyway near an airport is probably going to be a little shady, but next time I would pay the extra money to stay somewhere nicer. It met the needs of a place to stay with the free shuttle...

  • Liked — free shuttle to port
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

Can't understand all the complaints about this hotel. It is a basic, budget hotel. Don't expect luxury, but it is a basic, good, clean place to shower and sleep. If that's all you want, as we did while waiting to fly out to Peru, then this place is fine. I wouldn't want to spend a week's vacation here, but as a stopover for an airport transfer, this place fits the bill. It's perfectly clean and safe, with not a lot of noise. We found the front desk staff to be friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

We had to deliver our rental car at Dollar and after that fly from Miami Airport. This LQ-motel was closeby and had a very reasonable price ($95). It was also close to the rental-car-returns (8 minutes walk). That was the main reasons for us to book this hotel.

In other reviews people are making remarks on the noise (staff, planes), but I did not notice that at all.

As the most airport hotels: sleep, shower, leave. Nothing more, nothing less.

The ladies behind the counter (one was called Evy) were extremely nice and friendly, just as the guy driving the shuttle-bus.

  • Liked — Location, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast ends at 9, no restaurants closeby
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East

Address: 3501 Northwest 42nd Ave (Le Jeune Rd), Miami, FL 33142
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Miami Airport East Hotel Miami
La Quinta Miami
Miami La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.