We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient and comfortable, but still a motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 Northwest 42nd Ave (Le Jeune Rd), Miami, FL 33142   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 129 hotels in Miami
bradford
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“convenient and comfortable, but still a motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

although there were cheaper options on line, i booked this hotel due to favourable customer reviews / scores compared to some of the horror stories at cheaper hotels. it also ticked the main boxes - free shuttle , free wifi, continental breakfast included.

nobody replied to my e-mail about how and where to pick up the shuttle, and i waited about 20 minutes until i saw the bus cruising the arrivals area. return shuttle left on time - journey c 5 minutes.

reception was swift and efficient with no frills. the express checkout option was a good idea, and worked well.

the bedroom was decent size, and very clean despite the carpeting. the 2 large beds were extremely comfortable. there was a big flatscreen tv, and a dedicated work desk with proper lighting and a nice executive style swivel chair.

in contrast the bathroom was a little disappointing. on the small size, and consisting of a single plastic prefabricated unit just dropped into place. shower was hot and strong, but toilet flush stopped working in the morning...

the rooms were double glazed, but still affected by noise from airplanes and ice-machines / general corridor traffic. the alarm call came on time, but i was already awake.

the free computer terminal in the lobby was a bonus, as there was also a free printer which proved very helpful in printing the aa boarding pass for onward travel.

i had been hoping for more of a hotel feel, rather than motel. the lobby lounge was just a couple of grubby sofas across from reception desk, and behind that was about 10 small tables for the breakfast area, which got fairly busy, particularly with early closing at 9am... my table had such a wonky leg, that my cereal spilt everywhere, but there was no other free table...the products themselves were decent prepackaged stuff in the main, but with some real boiled eggs and fruit. coffee was very good.

i did not get to see the pool. the advertised gym was a joke - just 3 aerobic machines jammed side by side in a small room the size of a bathroom, with a small tv.

between this hotel and the redroof is a brennigans pub/restaurant which provided decent food and drink with good service, if overpriced when considering tax and tip added to advertised prices.

overall the hotel served its purpose well, but i was hoping for a bit more for my $89 including tax. i guess there is just too much business to get good quality and a good price in the same place around miami airport, with a lrage number of 1-night stays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    304
    174
    59
    39
See reviews for
264
234
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the previous positive reviews and after staying there pre-cruise I'm happy to say it was a good choice. We didn't have to call the hotel at the airport because the hotel shuttle bus came by within 15 minutes. The hotel is showing its age a little but that was not a concern considering we paid a fair price. At checkin we booked for the free cruiseport shuttle the next morning. It was a separate company who provided this service and they also offered an after-cruise return for $20 per person. The only thing to remember is that if you don't have a car there's only an old Bennigans to go to for dinner and there's nowhere nearby if you want a full breakfast instead of the hotel's limited complimentary offering.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is a 2 minute drive from the airport rental car pick-up location and is very convenient if you arrive late in the day and need an overnight stay before continuing on your trip. The pricewas very reasonable, the room was clean and there was no airplane noise. The free breakfast was also a plus, although it was crowded and choices were limited. The staff was very helpful in providing directions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed one night pre cruise end of November. If you used to Marriott or Hyatt than you will most likely be uncomfortable here. The walls are not lined with beautiful paintings and vases. And there are some minor blemishes here and there but the rooms are perfect, cozy, comfy, quiet, and clean. All rooms are accesible from the INSIDE. Reception was quick. There is only one restaurant nearby (Benigans) accessible by walking through the parking lot. The restaurant is ok. Bar is well stocked. Access from the road is a little tricky by car but the Onstar turn-by-turn directions got us right in. The hotel is located right at the base of the MIA runway an d planes fly by very low and loud, but you hear very little inside the room. Great value. We hadn't yet tried the breakfast at the time of writing this post but while LQ breakfasts are adequate, they are not as plentiful as some other hotel breakfasts. Oh, the hotel offers one way free shuttle to the Port of Miami. You will need to get yourself back to the hotel post cruise either by the same shuttle (I think $10 p/p) or you can take a cab from the port..... I would stay here again for a one nighter.... We paid $114 in NOV WEEKNIGHT FOR A KING ROOM.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I really recomend it. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, good breakfast, parking and free internet!
We have bought some items on the internet and the desk staff kept them still we arrived there. We booked our room in advance so we got a good price. There is also a shuttle service from/to the airport we you are not renting a car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Booked via Hot Wire, got rate under $100. Rooms were spacious and clean. Motel is next to airport, planes coming and leaving. Despite proximity, the rooms were very quiet. At most could hear low muted sound of airplanes overhead, not a problem. Couldn't hear any noises from adjoining rooms. Hotel seemed very busy, but we checked in quickly w/o an issue. They serve breakfast, but can't comment as we didn't have time to eat there.

Room Tip: We were on third floor, may have been a quiet factor (not sure).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good Hotel, Great employees. Good Service. I recommend this Hotel when visiting Miami. The service was excellent. The help were always going out of their way to answer any questions and to be sure that we were happy with the performance of the employees. If you have to travel going to the airport or taking a cruise this hotel will help to be sure that you will be happy with your selection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East

Address: 3501 Northwest 42nd Ave (Le Jeune Rd), Miami, FL 33142
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Miami Airport East Hotel Miami
La Quinta Miami
Miami La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.