We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 NW 42nd Ave (LeJeune Rd), Miami, FL 33142   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 113 Hotels in Miami
pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Used hotel before a cruise had 7 rooms booked. When I arrived room wasnt ready but they said a smoking room was available so took that one. Transportation from airport helpful and transportation to pier the next morning excellent. Breakfast in the morning very crowded not enough room. Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay again. Only downside not to much around in terms of shopping or eating.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    364
    238
    95
    57
See reviews for
328
308
51
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at La Quinta prior to our cruise and though the front desk service was very friendly and courteous, the overall experience did not meet our expectations for the price we paid.

The reason we chose this hotel was because of the proximity to the port and for the free shuttle service to the hotel and to the pier. We were satisfied with this service. However, because the inn is literally right beside the airport, it gets to be a bit loud. Miami airport is a busy place and there are planes coming and going throughout the night. The room was average at best and I thought the bed wasn't too bad. My friend, however, woke up with a sore back. Furthermore, if free breakfast is a reason you are considering La Quinta, please reconsider. The continental breakfast (although not usually great anywhere you stay) is below standards with little variety, warm juice and weak coffee.

Finally, La Quinta is located in the middle of nowhere. If you did not rent a car, expect to eat Bennigan's which is the only restaurant that is accessible by foot, unless you want to run across a 6 lane highway to get to Burger King.

If you're not too picky about hotels, La Quinta is probably acceptable for a short stay before your cruise, but don't expect anything fancy, especially for what you pay. Personally, I would pick something closer to downtown like the Hilton, and pay your ten dollar fare to taxi it to the pier. It's a bit more expensive (look for a sale), but a lot more comfortable.

Note: If you plan on staying at La Quinta after your cruise, and you require transportation, La Quinta offers a shuttle back to the hotel for a price. Free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The front desk staff was curtious and friendly. The hotel and room meet La Quinta spectation. They were clean overall. The hotel was a bit difficult to find since it seats back from the main road behind a closed stablishment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We recently stayed at this location prior and after our family Caribbean Cruise. In total we had 4 rooms booked each time. On return we checked in early and took our bags to a room because not all were ready and then headed out for a tour of the area. On returning we found that our room had been broken into (conveniently the one with ALL the bags) and jewellery/items/gifts totalling $2,000 were taken. In addition the lock on the door was faulty. Police report filed, however the hotel has not claimed any responsibility at all for the incident - to the point that they have not even COMPED one free room! The police officer said that security at this location is a problem. In addition the shuttle service is terrible to the port. Would never stay at this chain again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

When we arrived at the airport, we called the hotel for our shuttle pick up. It was very difficult to hear and understand the front desk clerk. We felt lucky to have connected successfully with the shuttle for the ride to the hotel.

When we went to sign up for the free shuttle to the cruise port, we were told we would have to take a 10 a.m. shuttle even though the cruise line told us that if we showed up before 11:30 we would not be allowed into the building. We would have to stand outside on the sidewalk. Since we were traveling with my elderly mother, that was not an option for us. The hotel manager was not helpful. Our option was 10 a.m. or nothing. We ended up taking a taxi to the port.

The hotel did not warn us about the scam flyers shoved under our hotel room door. Why do they let unauthorized people roam all the hallways of the hotel?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Vermont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here at La Quinta Inn Miami Airport East for two nights preceding our cruise vacation from the Port of Miami. I was very pleased with this selection.

We arrived on a Thursday night after a long drive down from Lakeland, FL. Were checked in promptly and courteously. Parking for our rental car was free.

Our room was perfectly fine, two comfy beds, very clean room in all (although as other reviewers have said, the carpet could use a cleaning). Decent towels and good water pressure in the room, and the soap they provided smelled very nice. It was not a humongous room but it met our needs, not feeling cramped. The TV was newer and nice.

Yes, we could hear the planes take off - frequently - but it was not deafening or bothersome, more like a background noise, and it was not a problem for us, even for my husband who is a very light sleeper.

The breakfasts were fine. Nothing exotic but we didn't go away hungry. We had hard boiled eggs, cereal, coffee, bagels/cream cheese, fresh fruit, and juice. There was also a waffle machine but as we are hard core Vermonters we refuse to eat waffles or pancakes without 100% real maple syrup which of course they didn't have... so we can't say if the waffles were good or not.

They have a very tiny "gym", inclusive of one treadmill, one elliptical, one recumbent bike. I did a workout on each machine - no problems although one of the pedals on the bike was partially broken. They also did not have any cleaning solution/towels located in the gym area, which was a nuisance. But it was nice to have that equipment available nonetheless.

Our daughter enjoyed swimming in the pool which was nicely maintained.

We had dinner one night at the next door Bennigan's and while our food was okay, service was indeed VERRRRRY SLOOOOOOOW and they do see fit to add a 15% tip to the bill - which in my opinion is stupid and they ripped themselves off because I usually tip a minimum of 20%.

One downside was the airport shuttle, we returned our rental car on a Friday afternoon and waited quite a while at the airport for the shuttle to pick us up. Free, yes, but a PITA.

However, one great spot was the free cruise port shuttle on Saturday AM - prompt, courteous service delivered on a giant comfy tour bus, we thought that was great. Strangely, we could not sign up for this until Friday afternoon - I was told Thursday night and Friday morning that we needed to check back after noon on Friday to sign up for Saturday's shuttle. Strange.

One thing I did find peculiar was that at check in, the desk person told us to be sure NOT to order from the flyers under the door/in the hallway... scam artists. I found it unsettling that whatever sort of shady characters are allowed free reign of the hotel grounds to deliver these papers. We were not bothered by anyone... I don't understand why the hotel doesn't work harder to prevent those companies from getting in though.

On Saturday morning, I realized I'd forgotten to pack my shipping tape (which I use to secure the cruise line luggage tags). Although the lobby area was mobbed with cruisers the desk staff person was kind enough to let me borrow their stapler, take it back to our room to staple the tags on.

In all I would most definitely stay here again pre-cruise. Not perfect but definitely has the basic amenities and comfort required for a brief stay in the Miami area - at a much better price point than any other comparable hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel 2 days prior to my cruise and had a great time! hotel offers free airport shuttle and transportation to and from Miami port, rooms are clean wireless internet works great, also has a pool and free continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms with king size bed has fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East

Address: 3501 NW 42nd Ave (LeJeune Rd), Miami, FL 33142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Miami Airport East Hotel Miami
La Quinta Miami
Miami La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.