We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and last stop on our cruise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 NW 42nd Ave (LeJeune Rd), Miami, FL 33142   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Flushing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“First and last stop on our cruise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We chose to stay here before and after a cruise. We were picked up at the airport and checked in quickly. The shuttle runs every half hour. The room was comfortable and as quiet as can be expected this close to the airport. The bed was comfortable. The hotel provided a shuttle to the cruise docks the next morning. We chose to get our own transportation back after the cruise. They stored our bags untill the room was ready and it was ready earlier than promised. The staff is friendly and very helpful with printing off our bording passes. Check out was the easiest. Breakfast was OK but crowded with a lot of people also getting ready to cruise. We walked to Bennigan's for supper both days. I will stay here again if I return to Miami.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room to help cut down on the sound of the planes taking off. But it really wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    348
    224
    80
    51
See reviews for
313
287
47
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Location convenient for Miami airport (shuttle provided), also for city touring; 15-20 mins to Miami beach, and Jungle Island; 30 mins to Everglades etc. New and nice HD Samsung TVs and free wi-fi of course. Also has a pool. Room is very clean and maintained well. Breakfast area is crammed. All-in-all, good value for the price and decent to stay with family. No pet fee is a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We had no problems with this hotel.

I knew before hand that we were only taking carry on luggage on the flight and would have no rental car to go shopping. So beforehand, I mailed my "non-flyables" sun blocks, shampoos, and large liquids I could not take on a plane. The front desk had my package when I got there.

So first, the shuttle. We used the courtesy phone at the airport and had maybe a 20 minute wait. Not bad! I also called at noon that day to reserve a spot on the shuttle to the port the next day as per a suggestion here on another review.

Next, check in. Took about 5 minutes. The front desk girls were very friendly. If you are using a AAA discount take your card. They do ask for it.

We were on the 2nd floor. Room was very clean and fresh smelling as was the bathroom. A/C had the room nice and cool and the beds were really comfy. Loved the soft comforters on them. The A/C made enough "white noise" that the airplanes were a non issue. There was a soda machine down the hall by the elevators, also an ice machine. We did not use the pool.

Dinner we went across the parking lot to Bennigans. Now since the gratuities are built into your check is probably why the service is so/so. We did have a little bit of a wait. We had nowhere to be though. I can say our food was very good. I had the appetizer sampler and my daughter had a bacon cheese burger w/fries. Portions were big and it was delicious.

We did get the pizza flyers under our door, looked over them and the prices were very reasonable. I think we paid about $35 at Bennigans, that was our 2 meals, sodas w/refills plus tip.

Breakfast the next morning was adequate. Hey, its free! Waffles you make yourself, cold cereals, fruit, yogurts, bagels and breads, boiled eggs and instant oatmeal. Coffee/tea, milks and juices. Fine to tide you over.

Check out was easy. They slipped the bill under your door in the morning and you just called the front desk if the bill is as its suppose to be..

Shuttle to the port was ontime picking us up. There was a race in downtown Miami that day which made traffic a nightmare so the shuttle was scheduled for 8:45 am. A 20 minute ride turned into an hour and a half but was no fault of the hotel or the driver. He even warned us before we left that traffic was horrible and we sat downtown in 1 spot for an hour. Only reason Im mentioning this is you might want to make sure there are no races the day you go!

This hotel was a good value, was very clean, staff friendly and I would absolutely stay here pre cruise again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

it was loud all night as we heared the airplanes from airport, breakfastroom really small when hotel is packed, breakfast not to bad, but everything given in plastic, they charged 118 usd, for this dark room... to much and service very low ! I dont book anymore when other chance. But internet good, bed good.. Only when I have to go early to airport, then yes maybe..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I called the hotel repeatedly to get picked up at the airport. No one would pick up. Eventually I had to get the La Quinta main number to call for me. The bed was the mushiest I ever slept on. I will not use this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at the La Quinta Airport East in Miami for 1 night 2 weeks ago before a cruise. We were attracted by the free airport shuttle and the free shuttle to the cruise port.

Overall we found this hotel offered good value. There were 10 of us (in 3 rooms, 6 adults & 4 children), so we saved quite a bit of money we would have otherwise spent on taxis or shuttles, and breakfast was also included. However, we did find that we got what we paid for with the free shuttles...

When we arrived at the shuttle pick up at the airport my dad called the hotel and was told we had just missed the shuttle and the next would be along in approximately 20 minutes. We stood on the curb watching & waiting, with 4 wiggly kids and a heap of suitcases, car seats, strollers, etc. However, we waited over 45 minutes before the shuttle came back. We saw other hotel's shuttles come twice before we saw ours. And we were very disappointed when the shuttle driver passed us by, saying he was too full for us, but he'd be back soon. We waited AT LEAST another 30 minutes before he came back! Luckily we did get on that shuttle. And weren't we even more suprised to find the drive from the airport to the hotel took only 5 minutes. So we're not exactly sure why only 2 shuttles came in almost an hour and a half?!

Once we got to the hotel, everything was ok. Luckily we were second in line for check in; others behind us waited a while. Everything was satisfactory in our rooms, beds & bathrooms were clean, beds comfortable. We had at least 6 different pizza delivery flyers under our door, which was slightly annoying, but not really a big deal. My husband and brother-in-law took the kids swimming, the pool was fine, but water was quite cold. We could hear planes taking off overhead, but were tired, so it didn't keep us awake and there weren't any during the night - the first one I heard in the morning was after 7am.

The front desk staff were helpful. We wanted to go shopping for a few last minute things and they gave us some recomendations and helped us get a cab.

Breakfast in the morning was good, there were quite a few options - cereals, waffles, toast, bagels, yogurt & fruit, hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea & juice. Breakfast was busy between 9-10 am, but most of us ate earlier and didn't find it too bad and my mom and I ate after 10 and there was still lots available and not too busy then either.

We booked our shuttle to the port when we checked in and the first available time for our group was 11am. We were asked to be ready in the lobby 15 minutes early. We were, but the shuttle was about 20 minutes late, so that was quite a wait again, but we didn't have anything else to do anyway . We were still at the port with plenty of time.

If we were travelling to Miami to stay more than 1 night, I wouldn't stay here. It was in an industrial area near the airport - nothing to do there, however if you want to be near the airport, this is a good choice. Pre-cruise, I would stay there again, hopefully with improvements to the shuttle service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East the night before we were leaving on a cruise. The front desk staff, Jessica and Evy, were extremely helpful. The first room we were assigned smelled of smoke. Upon hearing that from us, we were offered a choice of different rooms and got one that had no smoke smell.
American Airlines lost our suitcase and we had to go back to the airport a couple of times. The driver, Karel, was very helpful and pleasant. Evy recommended a nearby Cuban restaurant which was very good.
The WiFi was free, breakfast was good, the price of the hotel was very good, the shuttle to the cruise port was free, and the hotel even had $10 vouchers that could be purchased to travel from the cruise port to the airport when the cruise ended.
Really, what more can you ask for? We thought this hotel was a great value and a perfect place to stay before a cruise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East

Address: 3501 NW 42nd Ave (LeJeune Rd), Miami, FL 33142
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Miami Airport East Hotel Miami
La Quinta Miami
Miami La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.