We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“safe and organized” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6605 NW 7th Street, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #70 of 130 hotels in Miami
Belfast Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“safe and organized”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place is a very basic extended stay kind of place. It comes with a kitchen, gigantic closet, lots of cabinet space, and a good size bathroom. You could live here and that's what it is there for. It's away from everything in an office and industrial park area just across the "blue lagoon" from the airport so you do get to hear planes landing and throwing their engines into reverse but not super badly in the rooms. The room I had was a bit tired but everything worked well and it was clean. My one complaint was the TV: just not enough channels. I hate Fox News. If you are going to have that crud how about MSNBC or Comedy Central? The best point about the whole place is that it is fully fenced and very secure. No bad neighbors to seep into your life. Lots of work vehicles here and I would bet without worry that you will not be broken into or run into trouble in the parking lot. I chose this over a South Beach hotel to save money and in particular on gouging "resort fees" and parking costs. Driving from South Beach to the hotel was fast and easy. 10-12 mins and you pass every kind of store and service known to man or woman. I give it a 4 star rating because it is what it says it is: inexpensive big room. Free coffee and fruit and Granola bars in the AM, free wifi, and very accessible and safe and secure. And at the back: a nice view of a big blue lagoon. :)

Room Tip: I always pull the bed spread and put it top side down over the couch. Before sitting down. Think abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Homestead Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for the recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    64
    41
    15
    19
See reviews for
34
48
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed for one night before going on a cruise in November. The cab driver from the airport had a hard time finding the blue lagoon location; we had to call for landmarks he thought it was the other homestead. My family and two other couples booked rooms and all of us paid a different rate. I thought with the amount that I paid to stay the night it would be better. I was wrong. I stayed in a 2 double bed room and the kitchen only had utensils for 3; that was odd. The air conditioner didn't work well. It didn't cool the room like it should had; even at night. My husband noticed stains on the sides of both beds around the same area. I was told that they were booked solid but I saw numerous vacant rooms. There was no shuttle provided when on certain websites it was stated that there was one. I was not happy about that. To go to any store it was approximately 15-20 minute walk. Personally, I have no plans to staying here again. My next visit I will just stay at another hotel that has a shuttle from the airport or to the port to save money in the long run and breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Homestead Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise our company receives, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I booked online a two-night stay at the Homestead Suites Blue Lagoon close to Miami International Airport before driving further north after a long haul flight from Europe. The place is very close to the airport and although it has no shuttle service, a blue cab (not a yellow!) will take you there for a flat rate of US$15.
Checking-in was straightforward and efficient and the staff extremely nice and forthcoming. My suite was a ground floor level apartment with two beds, a kitchenette with a big table and a bathroom. I do not subscribe to the negative reviews I read, as I find these suites conveniently located in a peaceful setting for short stopovers with the basic amenities one might need for a brief stay. Although close to the airport, there was no noise from the airplanes taking off or landing.
WiFi internet and parking are complimentary. A two minutes’ drive from the hotel on NW 7th Street there is a Publix store.
After completing online a guest survey with positive evaluations, I received an email from the general manager thanking me for taking time to do so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Homestead Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. At Extended Stay Hotels we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in improving our services to you, our customers. Our company motto is "Excellence Every Day, Every Way", and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice; after all, that's how Extended Stay Hotels(sm) got to be the largest extended stay lodging brand in North America.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to stay with us again in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel seems to cater more to longer term stays; rooms have very small kitchenettes but with limited supplies (dishes, utensils, etc.), but I'm glad I only needed an overnight accommodation. My room could have stood a good cleaning, especially vacuuming of the carpet, and bathroom needed work. The location, while near the airport, is far from any restaurants, so since the hotel doesn't offer a breakfast, it's terribly inconvenient unless you have a car. Rooms on the 7th street side suffer from lots of traffic noise. I've already booked a different hotel for my return trip.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in a room on the 7th St. side if you want a quiet night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience at Homestead Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon. Providing for your total satisfaction, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, is my staff's primary duty. Hearing that we failed in your case is truly disheartening, and for that, I offer you my sincerest apology.

Please understand that we maintain strict quality control standards, which demand that every room is inspected prior to making it available to our guests. Clearly there was a failure in our system during your stay. In response to your comments, I’ve personally met with all of our staff and used your review to demonstrate in which specific areas we can improve.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The room was great, efficiency kitchen, clean, clean bedding and towels, good size bathroom and lots of electrical sockets. I was disappointed though that you had to pay extra to get more than 1 packet of coffee, fresh towels and a general cleaning of the room. No amenities (shampoo, etc)--just a couple small bars of soap and no tissues. It was a good stay (4 nights)--but I think the could do more for their guests.

Room Tip: We had a room with a queen bed--although it looked more like a double bed. It was comfortable for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience at Homestead Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon. It is with great pride that we provide clean, comfortable rooms at affordable rates, which is why it was great to read your kind words about the room. However, given the issues you had during your stay, it was with equally great concern that I read the rest of your account. You have the apologies of my entire staff that we were not able to totally satisfy you.

It is my pleasure to provide you with an explanation regarding your concern about our amenities. Our company is known for providing great rooms at great rates, without some of the fluff that you find at other hotels. Items like "complimentary" shampoos and conditioners are not really complimentary; you do wind up paying for it in the nightly rate. Although we don't place extra amenities into a guest room prior to check-in, we do have a limited supply of sundries available upon request at the front desk at no additional cost to you. We operate this way because it lets us continue to provide our guests with quality accommodations at an exceptional price. I do regret that we were not able to communicate to you exactly what you could expect before you arrived.

Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Flights cancelled due to hurricane, completed reservation by phone from airport, took a 10 Minutes cab ride, and voila... It's was an excellent stay, it's near to airport , fair price, clean, quiet, nice installations and welcoming. I recommend this hotel without a doubt. Staff was wonderful , bilingual , awesome... Perfect stop to recharge batteries and then take a flight to resume your trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Homestead Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

It's was a good stay in this hotel, it's near to airport and that was excellent. Im recommended this hotel. Persons of this hotel all the time giving help and this is good when is your firts time in Miami. I was feel comfortable in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Homestead Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon

Address: 6605 NW 7th Street, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Miami Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Extended Stay America Miami
Homestead Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.