We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall good service but horrible location. very hard to find” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6605 NW 7th Street, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #70 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“overall good service but horrible location. very hard to find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The staff and overall hotel upkeep was good. its great value for long term stay and overall place seemed safe. however to get to this hotel is a trip down hell. located in an office business park close to airport but even the cabbie with gps was unable to find it. and defenitely dont be booking here unless you have car in miami and public amenities and transit are non existent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    67
    43
    15
    19
See reviews for
35
49
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

I had a very good stay here until an employee by the name of Maria who works the night shift a new hire who started no more than a week ago ruined my stay. She worked the night shift on 12/23/2011- Not to be confused with one of the managers who's name is also Maria. Maria the manager is great. But Maria the front desk night agent is horrible horrible horrible . I believe her name is not really even Maria they just do not have a name tag for her yet and she uses someone else's name tag. Maria the front desk night agent is extremely rude, On 12/22/2012 she called me at my room in a harassing tone when my payment for the room was one day late , She was plainly rude and arrogant in her tone, It almost sounded like she was the police threatening me to pay or get out. I have been staying at this hotel for over 3 months and have spent well over $6,000 dollars??? I would believe I could have been extended some courtesy. She also treated my husband rudely when he wen't to pay at the front desk . She behaved as if she was the owner of this hotel and we owed her something? She does not know how to treat guest with courtesy nor respect, and deserves to be fired. This night attendant is the reason we are leaving this hotel . We were going to stay until Jan 15 2011 so it's there lost. , People like us who could have been great guest and who would of retuned time after time, will simply go somewhere else now where all the money we have spent here about $6,000 dollars will be more appreciated . We will never stay here ever again. Better personal needs to be hired!!!!

Room Tip: Tell management to hire better qualified front desk night staff!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Well, I really don't like writing bad reviews, but unfortunately I feel the need to warn other travelers in regards to establishments like this one. We arrived late in the evening, and was greeted by friendly hotel front desk staff. We were given our room number and key. When we got to the room, my wife went in to take care of personal business, while I got what we needed for the one night from our rental. When I got back to the room, my wife informed me that the toilet would not flush. So we contacted the front desk, and were told that maintenance would not be around till the morning. One good point to this experience was the front desk offered us another room on the other side of the hotel overlooking the lagoon. No problem, not yet at least. We moved and found the new room to be filthy and disgusting. Kitchen was rusted, and falling apart. Front door door handle was falling off, and would not lock properly. Just a little shove, and the door popped open even though it was locked. Bed was slightly damp, I don't even want to know why. Outside the room was two vehicles running, tinted windows, smoke coming our of their windows, as they were talking and passing something back and forth. It appeared to me that this parking lot was a hot spot to do business since this happened several times throughout the night. I know this because I stayed awake the entire night keeping watch since I did not trust the area or the door. My wife slept on the chair with her feet propped up on the footrest. Luggage stayed in the vehicle due to fear of bugs, which happened to reside in the shower. We contacted the front desk, but apparently this was the only other room. We were told we should stay there since it was only for one night anyway. Apparently there was also no regard for hotel guest safety or security since noone came around to check the deals being made in the parking lot, and since maintenance was gone for the night, no chance of getting the door fixed.

Needless to say, I got no sleep, my wife had back pains in the morning, it was an overall horrible experience, we will not be staying in a hotel like this or chain of this kind again, but hey, at least the toilet worked in the second room. Right?

Be warned! Low prices, convenient location (close to the airport), and beautiful view of the lagoon does not equal a superior experience. Pay the extra money and stay somewhere, anywhere, else.

Room Tip: Best room? At another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I had a nice stay , its a nice commercial area on the southern border of the Miami Airport.
The neighborhood was very quiet,The front desk staff was very pleasant. Very recomended hotel, very helpfull staff, clean and nice rooms!!
the special thing I also like is local calls are free of charge & no parking fees for your car.I realy feel like home.Great staff & very helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We were on a business trip and needed access to the internet, which this hotel claims to provide (for an additional fee). Every time we wanted to connect to the internet or even send an email we had to go out of our room and walk along the external corridor and hold up our laptops to try to get a signal. What a frustrating waste of time. If we hadn't been staying with a group of colleagues we would have checked out - it was very disruptive.
Also the fridge in our room leaked onto the floor all the time - we reported it but nothing was done, (they didn't even provide a floorcloth although we asked for one), so we just had to put up with wet feet any time we went near the fridge.
Lastly, if two of you are staying in a room you will get a grand total of three coat hangers each. Remember this boasts that it is a long-stay hotel option. They obviously expect you to use their laundry a lot.
We won't be agreeing to stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Brac
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

When I read the reviews for this year, for this hotel I was very nervous about staying here. But when we arrived the check in staff were very nice and accomdating. The room was clean and tidy; fresh sheets etc etc. The location is great - close to the airport, Dolphin Mall, Walmart etc so its perfect for a shopping trip. Liked that it has the kitchenette with the full fridge. It doesnt have a pool but I didnt care. Maid service was limited to a few days a week but that was okay for us too. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I requested a non-smoking room which I got but when I walked into the room it smelled like cigarettes and cleaning chemicals. I actually found a cigarette butt in the room! The room was not clean. I found stains on the blankets. The kitchen was dirty. The shower head did not have a resting hook and water sprayed everywhere! I called the front desk to complain and asked for another room but all I got was a run around. The staff didn't seem to care that I was an unhappy customer. I was very disappointed with the entire hotel and I will never stay there again or in any of their chains!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon

Address: 6605 NW 7th Street, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Miami Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Extended Stay America Miami
Homestead Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.