We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value on a two-bedroom suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #41 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value on a two-bedroom suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We needed a place to spend the night after an evening airport arrival. We wanted a place that had two bedrooms so that we wouldn't have to share with our kids. This place was perfect for us. They had microwave popcorn in the kitchen, so we made some, watched a cartoon movie on cable, went to bed, and woke up in the morning and took advantage of the free breakfast buffet. The only pool is outdoors, so unless it's toasty out don't plan on swimming. Free shuttle to and from the airport; when you land and get your luggage you just have to call and tell them you need a ride. Free internet was nice since we had our laptop. Planes weren't loud even though we were near the airport.

Rooms are quite clean and well maintained, though not perfect. I had to laugh because our bathroom door didn't close unless you had the seat up. The blackout curtains aren't set against the wall, so some light streams in on the sides. The pool looked like it needed to be cleaned, but I think it had stormed that day and it was much too cold to go swimming anyway.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    194
    72
    30
    14
See reviews for
228
98
5
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010 via mobile

If you say non-smoking these days, this shouldn't mean it just doesn't have ashtrays... 

With no other "non-smoking" rooms available, this room, billed as a non- smoking room, and a few others on the floor are on the smoking floor.  What this means is your clothes will smell like a smokers when you hang them up overnight, you will feel like you actually smoked in the morning with a headache to boot.  

There are guarentee signs all over the hotel impressing their goal is your satisfaction, but in reality the front desk was only guarenteed to say sorry - have a good day there is nothing he could do.  

This room also is out of range for the free wifi.

Having stayed more than 30 nights at this property in the past and enjoyed all aspects of the hotel as other reviewers - this stay was a huge dissapointment. Non-smokers beware! 

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Called for the free shuttle from the airport and they were prompt in pick up. Room set up worked well for us. The bedroom is seperate so my husband could get up and work in the living room in the morning while I slept in and got ready for the day. We could hear the planes in and out despite my sound machine but it didn't bother us too much. The dinner that is available Mon- Thurs was good and while not gourmet hit the spot. This saved us from having to leave the hotel for dinner after a long day of travel and that it was included in the price was great. Breakfast was hot and good enough too. The free shuttle also dropped me off at a pharmacy and picked me up when I was done the next morning. Couldn't really ask for better service for a place to sleep near the airport. The only negative was the toilet was not set properly on the floor so it sounded like it was breaking every time you got up off it and the toilet lid was the thinest plastic I've ever seen. The hotel arranged a shuttle service take us to the pier in the a.m. for $25 for 2 people. We would stay here again for a night pre-cruise.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

We found the room to be beautifully decorated, very clean and modern. We got exactly what we requested. Although it was too cold in Miami on the date of our stay, the pool and hot tub looked wonderfully inviting. The continental breakfast that was included was the most elaborated breakfast that I have ever encountered. The food and service was wonderful and the lobby was gorgeous, lots of parking and we thought there would be noise from the neighboring airport but while we could see the planes, we certainly couldn't hear them. The room was spotless and equiped with everything we could have imagined. The next time we bring friends or family to tour Miami, we will definately stay here again. Can't wait......

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

This was our second time at the hotel. One night stay before a cruise. The first time was 3 years ago and it was new. This time our toilet was broken and our friends light bulbs needed to be changed in the rooms. The problem was that we arrived at 12:00 midnight and no one was around to help us. The person in charge of the front desk said he was alone and there was nothing he could do. A toilet not flushing is an issue. Breakfast was still very good and free airport pick up also. Free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

My wife and I travel to Miami frequently and have stayed at many hotels. We were just passing through and looking for something close to the airport; and this property was a great price. It is pretty new (or a recent renovation), a great location (10 minutes from the airport) the rooms are spacious; everything we were looking for. Breakfast was hot with plenty of options. Being close to the airport you need to expect some noise, but otherwise it was great. There appeared to be a lot of pre/post cruise guests, and I expect it would be an excellent choice for that. Overall, I would stay again when looking for something close to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ga
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

this was better than i expected. this stay was great. the room was wonderful i will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Miami
#33 Business Hotel in Miami
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.