We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We certainly got our moneys worth and more, we are happy patrons.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #40 of 129 Hotels in Miami
North Port, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We certainly got our moneys worth and more, we are happy patrons.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

We found the room to be beautifully decorated, very clean and modern. We got exactly what we requested. Although it was too cold in Miami on the date of our stay, the pool and hot tub looked wonderfully inviting. The continental breakfast that was included was the most elaborated breakfast that I have ever encountered. The food and service was wonderful and the lobby was gorgeous, lots of parking and we thought there would be noise from the neighboring airport but while we could see the planes, we certainly couldn't hear them. The room was spotless and equiped with everything we could have imagined. The next time we bring friends or family to tour Miami, we will definately stay here again. Can't wait......

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    213
    74
    35
    14
See reviews for
252
105
6
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

This was our second time at the hotel. One night stay before a cruise. The first time was 3 years ago and it was new. This time our toilet was broken and our friends light bulbs needed to be changed in the rooms. The problem was that we arrived at 12:00 midnight and no one was around to help us. The person in charge of the front desk said he was alone and there was nothing he could do. A toilet not flushing is an issue. Breakfast was still very good and free airport pick up also. Free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

My wife and I travel to Miami frequently and have stayed at many hotels. We were just passing through and looking for something close to the airport; and this property was a great price. It is pretty new (or a recent renovation), a great location (10 minutes from the airport) the rooms are spacious; everything we were looking for. Breakfast was hot with plenty of options. Being close to the airport you need to expect some noise, but otherwise it was great. There appeared to be a lot of pre/post cruise guests, and I expect it would be an excellent choice for that. Overall, I would stay again when looking for something close to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ga
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

this was better than i expected. this stay was great. the room was wonderful i will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days over Christmas prior to our New Years Cruise. We had a wonderful stay. The hotel is conveniently located near many stores including CVS, Publix and Walgreens to name a few. We were a group of nice. Others in our party had the 2 bedroom suites, we had a single bedroom suite which was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen was well appointed. We were able to take advantage of the managers reception one night for the free dinner and it was surprisingly good. (The reception is only Monday thru Thursday) The free hot and cold breakfast every morning was terrific. The dining area was large and well layed out. The pool and hot tub were clean and well maintained. We utilized the outdoor patio area and grill for our Christmas dinner and have no complaints. We spent sometime out on the patio feeding the turtles and the huge fish!
I would advise that if you are a light sleeper to request a room on the lagoon side since there is some noise on the airport side. We were on the 6th floor lagoon side and had no airport noise but 4 of our group were in a 2 bedroom on the airport side and did say they had some airplane noise.
We were also able to park our car there for free the week we were cruising, thats a score since they charge $20 p/day at the Port of Miami.
We ate dinner out one night at the 94th squadron restaurant and it was the worst food I have ever had... definitely avoid that place.. Yuck!
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

My wife and I, our daughter, and my sister stayed in a 1 bdrm, double bed suite (#221) pre-cruise Nov 26-29 and 1 bedroom, king bed suite (#616) post -cruise Dec 6. They were roomy enough and we made use of the stove to cook 1 meal.

I recommend staying in the odd number suites which does not face the airport, and lower levels. The Nov stay was great, the jet noise was not noticeable. However, when we were on the 6th floor room after the cruise, you'll know you're near the airport. But it's to be expected since you're staying near the airport. This is a hotel that does not charge for parking, as I didn't want to pay $20-30/night for parking downtown for the car I rented.

While some complained about the complimentary meals, we thought they were great freebies (Thurs evening reception with wine and hot entre & Fri-Sun breakfasts, including fresh fruits for 3 of the 4 days).

We did notice not all of the lamps worked, one didn't have a light bulb, but other than sleeping, bathing and cooking 1 meal, we were hardly in the room so no big deal.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadineofoc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

Grandma would call it "all dressed up with a dirty neck". This place was so bad they had to call security to move us to another room. Housekeeping was conveniently closed. The room looked and smelled like a frat dorm. Stained carpet and sheets, dirty windows and a saggy couch. Too bad because the decor in the lobby is very nice (although they never move the plants to dust the tables)and the kitchen staff was awesome. Free dinner and free breakfast the day we stayed. Thank goodness it was only a night before the flight home. The manager said they'd refund my points for the room but it never happened. Hilton sure has fallen a long way as a brand. Maybe Paris spent all their money LOL.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Miami
#29 Family Hotel in Miami
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.