We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable, but bring your own groceries.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #30 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very clean and comfortable, but bring your own groceries.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

Our suite was immaculately clean, the kitchen well supplied, and the bathroom, though small, was also very clean. Beds were outfitted with premium linens and a comfy pillowtop mattress. We arrived on an evening flight and asked about food delivery. A local restaurant had flyers at the desk. After a comedic battle to place an order with a gentleman who obviously knew English as a second (or third?) language, we waited over an hour and a half for our order which was to arrive in 30-40 minutes. After 3 phone calls to check on the order (one which was answered simply, "We close") the order arrived, half of which was incorrect and all of which was nearly inedible. At breakfast, we were starving, as were many, many people at the free buffet. The employees obviously did not expect many guests to eat there, because they ran out of everything within 15 minutes, and placed semi-frozen food on the buffet ("use the microwave") and we were left with little more than coffee and Fruit Loops. I loved our room and would stay there again, but would make a trip to the grocery beforehand!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    273
    90
    46
    18
See reviews for
329
129
9
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We are just back from an 8 day vacation which began with a 4 day cruise to the Western Caribbean and 4 days post cruise stay in Miami. Two of the nights we stayed at Homewood Suites Blue Lagoon and the last two nights at the Embassy Suites Miami Airport location. I actually liked the room set up at Homewood Suites. The lobby is nice with a wonderful aquarium when you first walk in the front door. There is also a baby grand piano for a nice touch. We were granted an easy early check-in before noon with no hassles (unlike the comment when we checked in early at Embassy Suites two days later.) The one bedroom suite was perfect for two women and two 13 year old teens girls. Especially the bathroom which is between the bedroom and livingroom area with doors to each area. So there were minimal interruptions when going to the bathroom. The kitchenette was nice to hold purchases such as soda and fruit from the Publix grocery down the street and leftovers. We were provided with dishes, silver, glasses, bowls, coffee cups, pots and pans, coffee and coffeemaker, refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, sink, paper towels, iron and ironing board, toiletries and shower cap. The sofa sleeper mattress was a little dilapidated, but the teens handled it okay. One teen said she felt the mattress springs. The two double beds in the bedroom were soft and comfortable. There is a ceiling fan in the bedroom tool. Great idea! Breakfast was okay. You can tell they rush things somewhat, but the set up was nice and it was more than just continental breakfast. They actually had scrambled eggs daily, bacon and sausage on alternative days, and potatoes each day in addition to various breads, muffins, coffee, juices, milk, cereal, fresh fruit daily. Very decent breakfast. Was there on Friday and Saturday, when they do not offer the dinner. However the dinner calendar shows the offerings for the month which included meatloaf and mashed potatoes, lasagne and garlic bread, etc. Also, the teens were allowed to use the computers as much as they wanted--and these are die-hard computer girls.... I had to go get them after 5 hours of use on Friday. After the first night I did notice that the hallway carpets needed cleaning. They weren't bad but I could tell they needed shampooing where people had spilled liquids and it was not shampooed prior to other walking on it. The pattern of the carpet covered these faults fairly well. Did not notice any spots in the suite though.

On Sunday prior to checking out, we ate breakfast on the patio where we saw huge FISH (I was told they were carp) about 2.5 feet long each. (BIG!!!) They swam up to the patio waiting for guests to throw some of their breakfast threw the wrought iron fence to them. It was fun watching them come up to gobble up pieces of toast, etc. There must have been about 50 (BIG!!!) fish swimming around for food. It was pretty spectacular in the quiet of the early morning. Be sure to take the kids to the patio to check out the fish during mealtimes. They will get a kick out of this! The fish are huge!

I was not as impressed with the Embassy Suites when we checked in on Sunday just about noon. It was early, but they offered to hold our bags and then decided they had a room and that they normally charge for early check-in--but they didn't charge us. I assumed (falsely) that since I was Hilton Honors and early check-in was free. I was told that was not the case. But we got checked in early none-the-less. We did not have any of this when check approximately the same time two days prior at Homewood I was a little surprised at Embassy since both are Hilton properties. (See my review on the Embassy Suites--Just Okay) The room was nicer at Homewood, more for your money in terms of a kitchenette and the bathroom setup.

This was a very nice comfortable clean hotel. After staying at the Embassy Suites one day, the teens stated that they liked Homewood better,but the breakfast at Embassy Suites was better. I tend to agree with the girls. I recommend this hotel as a good value especially in today's economy and you don't feel like you went the cheap route because the hotel is actually nice and comfortable. Actually you feel pretty smart for picking such a good deal!!! FREE PARKING too!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

We stayed one night prior to cruising. The hotel shuttle picked us up within 10 minutes, but then did another lap looking for more passengers. Our room was great - small kitchen and living room and a bedroom. Based upon suggestions from the front desk we walked two long blocks (less than 10 minutes) to a strip mall with a grocery store, liquor store, and several dining options.

Breakfast the next morning was above average for a hotel and we enjoyed the pool and hot-tub for an hour or so before checking out and catching a cab to the port. If you arriving too late to enjoy Miami, and checking out the next day, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

Homewood Suites at Miami Airport's Blue Lagoon was a great spot and we had a pleasant experience there. We had a roomy suite which was very quiet, comfortable and spacious. The hotel van came within ten minutes to pick us up - but note that at the hotel telephone bank in the luggage pick-up area, this Blue Lagoon site has no direct phone line. However, there is a Homewood Suite phone number indicated for one of their other Miami properties, and using this number, they were able to transfer us over to the Blue Lagoon site's front desk to send over the van. One issue to note: this hotel has NO restaurant in the hotel or anywhere nearby (although they had a lovely free breakfast set-up). Thus, you have to eat at the airport or elsewhere before your arrival. HOWEVER, on weeknights they apparently offer a free dinner (one nightly menu per weeknight) to their guests - but the dinner has a narrow timeframe (somewhere around 5:30 to 6:30 pm). We arrived much too late to sample the free dinner. Otherwise, we have no complaints about their very comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

We stayed 3 nights, Mon to Thurs am. Nice suite, very clean with good kitchen (microwave, dishwasher, fridge, waste disposal). Breakfast good, dinner adequate.
The one complaint we have is that this is the only hotel we have stayed in where we have been charged to use the in-room safe, this is petty and money -- grabbing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Homewood Suites as a pre cruise selection. We try and do this because for the price of the room for one night we can park the car for free for the duration of the cruise and don't have to deal with the port parking garages

There is a shuttle right to the port for a nominal fee and once the cruise is finished all it takes is a cab back. The price is about the same. The Hotel is also close to the Miami International Airport

The hotel is well worth the money spent very large king size bedroom,with a living room thath has a couch that was almost as large as the bed. Televison in both.In addition their is a full kitchen.

We went to the local super market that truthfully you could walk to if needed (about 8-10 blocks) or a short drive. picked up what we needed for diiner. There was the market,a liquor store bank, ets.etc.

Continental breakfast which includes eggs bacon, sausage and other good eats is included in the price. All and all for the price you really are getting a great bargain

  • Liked — Staff very friiendly and helpful, room accomidations were more than expected
  • Disliked — Nothing that comes to mind
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

We booked this hotel for a one night pre-cruise stay. My sister had Hilton reward points so that covered the cost of the room. We were assigned a non-smoking king suite.

When we arrived at the Miami airport, we could not find the board with phones to hotels and their shuttles. In fact, we had a hard time finding a pay phone. We were able to borrow a cell phone from a security office to call the shuttle.

The shuttle arrived at the Departures area as noted in other reviews. It was a very short ride to the hotel from the airport.

Our room had a living room/kitchen space and a bedroom with a king sized bed. Everything was very clean and comfortable. We did receive two free bottles of water and cookies as my sister is a gold member. There was also a bag of microwave popcorn.

The bathroom was spacious and featured Neutrogena products and a towel animal - a swan! Shower pressure was very weak and not much hot water available.

The breakfast was pretty standand fare - scrambled eggs, sausages, triangle hash browns, bagels, toast, juice and coffee. Not the best breakfast but definitely adequate.

The hotel also features a free business center with two computers so you can quickly check your email.

There is an independent shuttle to the Port of Miami if you need it. Just let the front desk staff know to make you a reservations. The shuttles depart at 11:00am, 12:00pm, 1:00pm and 2:00pm. We ended up taking a cab because the 11:00am shuttle was full. Cost of cab from the hotel to the Port of Miami was $25.

Just a 10-minute walk away from the hotel, there is a CVS, Publix and Walgreens. If you are buying supplies for your cruise, it can get heavy so bring someone to do the heavy lifting. The Hampton Inn - Blue Lagoon is actually directly across the street from the shops.

Overall, a decent one-night stay before our cruise. No complaints.

  • Liked — Location - close to the airport & free shuttle
  • Disliked — Location - far from Port of Miami and no free shuttle to the port
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Miami Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport
2.3 mi away
Element Miami International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#23 Family Hotel in Miami
#29 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.