We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and confortable place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #38 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
“good and confortable place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I feel me like at home, their staff is really friendly, nice, and polite definitely every time that I visit Miami, I always will choose to stay in the Homewood suites I recommend it if you have business close to the airport area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    213
    74
    35
    14
See reviews for
252
105
6
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renton, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I am currently staying at this hotel which is going through a major renovation, but they have selected to stay open despite all the chaos, dust and dirt. I would have switched hotels if I was staying any longer than two nights. They have a very small room as the reception and a larger room for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was basic and it was my first that was served on paper plates and plastic forks/spoons. The carpets are filthy everywhere with big dark spots. The room isn't too small but the water pressure was quite low and kept changing while showering. The AC is efficient but quite noisy. Think twice about spending your money to stay at a construction site.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We appreciate your flexibility as we undergo some necessary growing pains. We apologize for the inconvenience and are working with our staff to minimize disruptions. We hope we can invite you back once our changes are complete and let us know what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We tried to check-in and I was told "Your room is not ready yet". So we decided to go shopping first. Upon returning I was told "Sorry we do not have any of the type of room that you requested available." Somehow during the short span of an hour an assigned room that was not ready yet disappeared from the property. I really really dislike being lied to. When asked why the reservation system would have let me reserve a room type that was not available, I was told they just do that there is nothing we can do about it. The manager apologized and stated "I will take care of you". He then turned to the desk clerk and said "Put him in any room that is available". I guess I was taken care of. My reservation was for a handicap accessible room with a roll-in shower and a king bed. I was given a regular room with a tub and two double beds. His idea and mine of "take care of you" seem to be just a little different. A little later I went to the lobby to get some of the "always available coffee" to find that you had a choice between decaf and hot water. When I asked if any more coffee would be available I was told "I will have to see if I can find someone to make some". No coffee for tonight I guess. This morning as I was leaving the room I flushed a piece of tissue down the commode. No make that I flooded the bathroom and bedroom floors when the commode overflowed. Leaving the breakfast room I decided to grab a banana for a snack as I drove. Sorry, had to go into the restroom and wash my hands. Seems the banana was so ripe that it was covered in juice from the much too long ripening process. Soggy bananas do not make good traveling food. When I returned to the hotel this evening I found that all the handicap parking places were being used as temporary storage areas for the old furniture that had been removed for the remodel process that started yesterday. How many ways can you spell disastrous stay? We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past couple of year when Rich was the manager. Rich has left since our last stay and we will be leaving after this stay. Funny how losing a manager can turn a first rate pleasure into a fifth rate dump nightmare. Hilton brands give bottled water and cookies to their Diamond members upon check-in. Neither my traveling companion or I received these at check-in yesterday. When she asked about hers she was told "the maid did not put the bags together so we do not have any". When she asked for them at the front desk this morning she was told there were none available. Seems there is a bottled water shortage in Miami these days. Avoid this hotel at all cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We appreciate your honest feedback and we apologize for the service experience you had. Your detailed feedback about our facilities, dining selections, and services have been reviewed with the appropriate members of our team and we're working to ensure these issues are appropriately addressed. We're disappointed that you did not have the satisfactory experience you expected and we hope we can invite you back to see our changes firsthand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed five nights in a two bed suite at this Homewood Suites and the staff was great. The hotel is a older one but is in great shape.It also had a mini-kitchen area in case you wanted to cook your own meals, if you didn't want to have the Supper that was offered Monday thru Thursday. All the furnishings were in good shape and the bed was comfortable. The Internet worked well. Breakfast was very good. I would highly recommend this Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Very nice, neat and clean facility. Excellent for families. Shops and store are nearby, which is very helpful. We had two bedroom suite, which was very nice with three children. Very helpful staff. We had one week stay and it was very good experience. Close to Airport and major highways. Good access to the property, there is some construction going on the main highway, once its complete, it is easy access to the property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Briane was especially accommodating just Awesome!!... The entire staff was great as well. Traveling with a family of four we arrived early and she promptly got us into a room. The kids enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the pool. My fiancé didn't want to leave the comforts of the bed which is very comfy. The rooms were clean and the kitchen was stocked with all the necessities. We saved money for sure due to this, we brought snacks and juice and lite groceries for the kids which we were able to store in the refrigerator. Homewood is truly a home away from home. We got more than our money's worth for the price of our suite.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Typical Miami Ethics Problems. If you stay at a place and pay to use their facilities you would think the management has hired a cleaning staff that would turn over any item accidentally left in their room after departure to the front desk this way they could contact the rightful owners about the items they left behind. However even after we realized we left the items in our room after departure and contacted the staff we never got a follow up call or email about the items we left behind. I am completely dissatisfied with the way they handled this situation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Miami
#29 Family Hotel in Miami
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.