We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Bella Vista, AR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The place to stay in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We recently were about to cruise out of Miami and arrived a day early, like usual. We choose the Miami Airport Homewood Suites, mainly because if was one of the few hotels available at a price that would break the bank. We couldn't have made a better choice. The rooms were clean, spacious and complete with full kitchen, the bed was comfortable, service outstanding and on Monday thru Thursday a light, but substantial dinner, complete with beer and wine is served. Every morning a hot breakfast is available. The drawback might be no restaurant on the grounds so you need to hop in a car or walk over to one of the nearby places if you are not preparing you own meal or dinner isn't served that night. I would recommend the Homewood suites for a one night stay or a longer one because of the kitchen facilities, as well as the friendly staff and good location. There are several hotels within walking distance that offer full restaurant service, and the airport is just a few miles away, with shuttle service back and forth.

Room Tip: We were at the very end of the hall, overlooking the pool area. It was quiet and for us, the best lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    247
    83
    39
    16
See reviews for
290
123
8
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were there for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay here. Will definitely like to stay here again. Enjoyed eating breakfast by the side of water. Hotel staff was helpful. Very close to Airport. Shuttle service was good too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here one night pre-cruise in December. The front desk is very friendly and helpful. It felt as if there was no air conditioning in the hallways which left you feeling sticky. The elevators were very slow and made odd noises that made you nervous. The room was large in size which was nice - however they smelled somewhat smokey. It may have been previous occupants, or maybe cleaning solutions and air fresheners - not sure but it had an odd odor. The room was clean- and the bathroom area was nice that the toilet and bathtub were separate from the sink area, and also the bedroom- nice layout for our family. There was a ceiling fan and tv in the bedroom - and a tv in the living area as well. Plenty of seating, a table and clean well equipped kitchen area. We ate breakfast at the buffet - what a nightmare ! It was on a Saturday, and full of families getting ready to go on cruises, so take that into consideration. The buffet area is just not equipped or laid out to handle the business it saw on this Saturday morning. Food was all over the floor, you couldn't get to the coffee, the cook couldn't cook the food fast enough, etc- just bad all the way around. I'm guessing during the week it is just fine - just not where you want to be on a Saturday morning. I would stay here again during the week only, and hope my room didn't smell like smoke.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I tried to extend my stay here for 10 days starting the 26 of Dec. I was told that my room rate would go up $100.00 a day. Asked to have the manager contact me. Shortly after I returned to my room the front desk called and told me not to worry about it that there was no longer any rooms available.....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We're sorry we could not accommodate your request for an extended stay. We'd really love the opportunity to continue to serve you and we'd be happy to speak with you in more detail. Please feel free to contact us at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakota Dunes, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great 2 bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms. Everything in our stay was wonderful. The breakfast was good, room were very spacious; easy to access business center. Park on the left side of the building in order to access the elevator near the parking lot. Very convenient to the Miami International Airport and it has shuttle service. Staff was helpful and pleasant. Rooms were very clean and very spacious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Only stopped on an overnight before joining a cruise.We were very surprised by the size of the rooms.The lounge area had two sofa and a large flatscreen TV. The kitchen area was very well equipped, The bathroom had a seperate area with double washbasin, and the bedroom was of a good size with large wardrobe space and a good sized TV.
All areas were very clean and in good decorative order.
The Suites are situated quite near to the airport but we had no problem with noise, and the view across the lake to the airport was great .
On the downside there was no restaurant in the building(although they do provide an excellent buffet breakfast free of charge).
We had pre booked a restaurant not far from the Homewood and reception said it was safe to walk there(about 15mins). However it was raining very heavily so we asked if they could ring a taxi for us.Instead they took us (and picked us up afterwards) in the hotels courtesy bus which we thought was a very nice gesture.
Overall, you are a bit of a way out of the tourist parts of Miami, but if you have transport the Homewood Suites would make a very good base for a city stay.

Room Tip: Our room at the front had little noise disturbance from the airport during the night, but other gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I love Homewood Suites but this one disappointed me a little. Check in went smoothly with the friendly guy at the front desk. The room was clean. Refrigerator not even cold. Remote control for TV missing and had to go looking for it, found it under the end table. The shower was dripping and the faucet very hot to the touch which was weird. These are all little things but not something I usually run into at Homewood. And what's with hotels not having the a/c on in the hallways? Very warm. Saving money I guess. But then we got downstairs to the breakfast area and it was also very warm. OMG people, it's Miami, we need air conditioning!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#22 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.