We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy to stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #44 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Slane, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“happy to stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had to stay at this hotel in July 2011, after American Airlines cancelled our connecting flights to Boston (travelling from Central America). The rates were not bad, considering it was a last-minute booking. We had to wait a bit for the shuttle to arrive, but once we got there, we settled in quickly enough. The room was spacious and had a nice kitchenette / dining / living area that was great for two adults and a toddler that needed to stretch his legs after being cooped up in a plane. The people at Reception were helpful, and we were able to use the internet in the small office for a good while, as we were trying to sort out new flights, etc.
Breakfast the next morning was standard fare, but it did the job, and then the shuttle took us back to the airport.
We stayed on a ground-floor room, but we had no problems with noise, or security, but, then again, we only stayed for one night.
We would definitely stay here again, and we would recommend to friends, and family - especially if travelling with children, or if you want to take care of your own meals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    198
    72
    30
    14
See reviews for
231
101
5
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here with my family in August after a tiring week-long vacation. We stayed in this hotel because it was close to the airport, and because we have had many positive stays at other Homewood suites. By the time I left, I wish we hadn't. The problems started when we arrived at the room, only to find out that the TVs and phones did not work. We also had an early flight to catch from the MIA, and our requested wake-up-call did not arrive. And if things couldn't get any worse, while we were leaving for the airport in the morning, I got stuck in the elevator! The staff were less than helpful, and obviously had no idea what they were doing. I was in there for a good 45 minutes before they were finally able to get me out, causing us to almost miss our flight. An overall unpleasant experience. If you are looking for a hotel in this area, choose another. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodMiami, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We would like to thank you for giving us your feedback on your stay. We would like to also take the time now to apologize for any inconvenience you and your family experienced while staying with us. I am extremely disappointed to see that our staff did not make things right and did not meet your expectations. I am sad that you were unable to enjoy the last part of your vacation the way it should be done. Please don't let this experience push you away from the our family of brand and most of all please do not let this event in time push you away from our property. If given a chance I would like to personally invite you back to our hotel in the future and I promise you that if given that chance we will make sure everything during your stay is perfect for you and your family.

Once again please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

overall very satisfied except for the inconvenience of having to move. I was in pain from the eye surgery and was not in a very good state of mind an very uncomfortable. However as always the hotel lived up to its excellent reputation. I have been an H Honors member since 2000 and most of the time I have been very pleased with the level of service provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My family of 5 (3 young kids) had an early flight from MIA. We have stayed at several Homewood Suites locations and appreciate the size of the rooms, so we decided to stay here. What a mistake. The hotel is badly in need of repair. The TV in the bedroom of our suite did not work at all. None of the phones in the suite were working. The best the front desk could offer was to send a service guy to the room after 10pm, long after my kids would be asleep in order to get up for the early flight. Our requested wake-up call in the morning did not arrive (probably due to the inoperable phones). Then, as we were rushing to get our bags to the car, the elevator broke down with my 12-year old daughter trapped alone inside. They had no idea how to get her out, but after about 30 minutes were able to get the doors open. She was very traumatised. We managed to make it to the airport gate just before they closed the plane's doors. This level of disrepair is unacceptable, and caused considerable anxiety and us to almost miss our flight. The are plenty of hotel options around the Miami airport - don't choose this one.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We value your loyalty to our brand and apologize for the quality of you recent stay at our hotel. The comfort, health and safety of our guests is very important to us. Please contact me directly so I can speak with you about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is excellent, our family of four had a great time,the suite was perfect, had a king size bed and a nice Bathroom on one side, the living room and kitchen with everything needed were in the center, and the other bedroom was separated by doors on the right side and had another complete bathroom. We had a nice breakfast every day, and dinner Monday to Thursday. Very nice staff and in general all employees were nice, polite and helpful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Overall great experience. Good staff, location (close to freeway, airport, river, shopping, fast food), hotel chain. Provided comfort and value to our family during our extended family trip where 7 of us spent 2 nights, and 4 more arrived and spent another night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, MD
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel prior to a cruise. It was a nice suite. Plenty of room. Comfortable beds. An average hotel room. Nothing significant stood out except the staff, which were outstanding. I didn't care for the location. Although it was centrally located between the Miami airport and the cruise terminal, it didn't have many places nearby to walk to. There was a small shopping center that had McDonald's and a Cuban restaurant as well as a grocery store. The breakfast was just OK. Granted it will satisfy a hunger but don't look for a "good" breakfast If you are traveling with kids, its an inexpensive way to make sure they get breakfast before starting the day. Would I stay there again? Perhaps, but I'd much rather stay in a location where I can walk to a variety of shops & eateries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Miami
#32 Business Hotel in Miami
#34 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.