We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bascom Palmer eye surgery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #30 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Bascom Palmer eye surgery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

overall very satisfied except for the inconvenience of having to move. I was in pain from the eye surgery and was not in a very good state of mind an very uncomfortable. However as always the hotel lived up to its excellent reputation. I have been an H Honors member since 2000 and most of the time I have been very pleased with the level of service provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    224
    80
    38
    14
See reviews for
267
109
6
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My family of 5 (3 young kids) had an early flight from MIA. We have stayed at several Homewood Suites locations and appreciate the size of the rooms, so we decided to stay here. What a mistake. The hotel is badly in need of repair. The TV in the bedroom of our suite did not work at all. None of the phones in the suite were working. The best the front desk could offer was to send a service guy to the room after 10pm, long after my kids would be asleep in order to get up for the early flight. Our requested wake-up call in the morning did not arrive (probably due to the inoperable phones). Then, as we were rushing to get our bags to the car, the elevator broke down with my 12-year old daughter trapped alone inside. They had no idea how to get her out, but after about 30 minutes were able to get the doors open. She was very traumatised. We managed to make it to the airport gate just before they closed the plane's doors. This level of disrepair is unacceptable, and caused considerable anxiety and us to almost miss our flight. The are plenty of hotel options around the Miami airport - don't choose this one.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We value your loyalty to our brand and apologize for the quality of you recent stay at our hotel. The comfort, health and safety of our guests is very important to us. Please contact me directly so I can speak with you about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is excellent, our family of four had a great time,the suite was perfect, had a king size bed and a nice Bathroom on one side, the living room and kitchen with everything needed were in the center, and the other bedroom was separated by doors on the right side and had another complete bathroom. We had a nice breakfast every day, and dinner Monday to Thursday. Very nice staff and in general all employees were nice, polite and helpful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Overall great experience. Good staff, location (close to freeway, airport, river, shopping, fast food), hotel chain. Provided comfort and value to our family during our extended family trip where 7 of us spent 2 nights, and 4 more arrived and spent another night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, MD
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel prior to a cruise. It was a nice suite. Plenty of room. Comfortable beds. An average hotel room. Nothing significant stood out except the staff, which were outstanding. I didn't care for the location. Although it was centrally located between the Miami airport and the cruise terminal, it didn't have many places nearby to walk to. There was a small shopping center that had McDonald's and a Cuban restaurant as well as a grocery store. The breakfast was just OK. Granted it will satisfy a hunger but don't look for a "good" breakfast If you are traveling with kids, its an inexpensive way to make sure they get breakfast before starting the day. Would I stay there again? Perhaps, but I'd much rather stay in a location where I can walk to a variety of shops & eateries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in August .We had a 1bed suite for the 5 of us and found that we needed a rollaway as the 2 doubles and sofabed were a bit tight for 2 adults and 3 children .
The suites were spacious and clean , the only problem was the shower head in the bathtub , which was built into the wall very high up and could not be adjusted to face down or in any other direction , which made it difficult for the kids.

We had the complimentary breakfast in the mornings which wasn't great. There was usually scrambled eggs with maybe hashbrowns and burger type meats (which were very dry ), and a selection of pastries and bagels . The fresh juices were lovely and there was a machine to make your own waffles . There are coffee machines available all day.

Just next to the dining area there is a patio overlooking the lagoon and if you throw a bit of bread in you will see loads of large fish and also some turtles...the kids loved this.

There is also a complimentary supper each weekday from 5.30-7.30pm , but we never had this as we were not back in time each evening (shame it could not have gone on a bit longer )

The reception staff were friendly , especially Pamela who was very helpful each morning with shopping advise and driving directions.

There is a small pool at the front of the hotel. The problem with this is that it is right next to the car park and main road , so a lot of people walking/driving past , and the pool towels are smaller than hand towels so were not good to lie on or dry yourself .

I would def stay at this hotel again as it was easy to get on the main roads in any direction....

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room overlooking the lagoon for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is located next to the Miami airport and has a beautiful view of the Blue Lagoon. From inside to out, the hotel looks and feels old and drab, but still clean and comfortable. Don't bother with the free breakfast because it's horrible. Just go to the Publix a block away and buy your own groceries. There are also some shops around the same area which are quite convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Miami
#25 Family Hotel in Miami
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.