We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here after a mission trip to Honduras. We needed a place for the teenagers and young adults from the trip whose flights home weren't until the next day. The staff here was so accommodating and helpful to us. Linda at the front desk was awesome and the shuttle driver Jose took us anywhere we needed to go. He took us to pick up and drop off more friends, to get dinner, and he even stopped at CVS for us. He was so nice and friendly! We were so thankful to have found this place near the airport to stay for the night! I would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandler Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights prior to our cruise for two reasons. We needed two bedrooms and it was conveniently located between the airport and the port. It afforded us the luxury of eating in Miami and doing a day trip to the gator park. It was easy to find and get to from the airport. The accommodations were average but did include dinner during the weeknight(Which we didn't utilize) and breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was very average and usually pretty crowded. If I were to cruise out of Miami again we might stay here again. The price was right and again we liked the location.

Room Tip: Facing the lagoon instead of the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikaAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have stayed numerous times in this hotel b/c it is conveniently located to where we go to work, it offers a good rate, it has the Manager's Reception and breakfast and we can earn HH points.

This hotel's biggest asset is Rick Funke, the new manager. He goes above and beyond what normally would be expected of a manager, including being there (and cleaning the tables) at breakfast in in the evenings. As for other employees, the night manager for the front desk, Carol (?), is equally pleasant and efficient and Michael, who is new since our last visit is also the type of employee Hilton should be proud to have on their team.

However, he is working within the confines of this hotel's franchisee. While I can see why the owner's wouldn't be bothered with refurbishing the hotel---why, when they have a high occupancy rate and keep the prices low---but the suites and the furnishings are tired and worn out. A case in point are the filthy carpets in the hallways and the stained and tired sofas in the living rooms. This really is discouraging and doesn't present a good image of the Homewood Brand.

Also, I feel that the manager's hands are tied because it is difficult to get enough housekeeping staff and combined with the high turnover, this often means that the suites are not cleaned until 5-6pm and when they do, the cleaning is haphazard---some days they take out the garbage and some days they forget to replenish the coffee or shampoos. This late cleaning s not really what you want when you arrive home from a busy day at work and I am sure that the housekeepers are working on their own time after 5 pm to finish.

This Homewood Suites is well situated for the airport, cruise departures and also a number of businesses in the area. There is a Publix within walking distance and it is an easy drive (it that can actually be said for any driving in Miami!) to the Dolphin and International Malls. All it needs is a little TLC and some more staff to look after the housekeeping needs. The hiring of Rick Funke will go a long way to bring this property back to where it once was and holding onto employees like Carol and Michael, who are real assets to the hotel will create a good caring culture.

We will likely stay here again, but I truly hope they plan some renovations and cleaning of the public areas soon.

Keep up the good work Rick :-)

Room Tip: Most people like the Lagoon side but if you like to watch airplanes, ask for an airport view! Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katchapuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was a pretty nice place for an airport hotel. It's right across the street from the airport, which usually means a pretty worn out, beat up property. But this hotel was pretty good all around. The floors could use a good steam cleaning or it would get an excellent. The staff was great and helpful. They saw we were tired and traveling with 3 kids and upgraded us to a larger room for free! Nice touch! Breakfast was free and quite good for a hotel breakfast. I've never been disappointed with Homewood yet. After a recent stay at another chain, I realize that they really value their customers and go out of their way for their guests!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geismar, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you have a problem with this hotel, I suggest you request to speak with Rick Funke, the general manager. We stayed here the night before our cruise and left our car parked on the property. We had an issue that could have put a damper on our return from our wonderful family trip. Instead, Mr. Funke went above and beyond to make it right. Service like this is what should be the priority of all "service industries", but seldom is. Bravo to Mr. Funke & his staff. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I love that this hotel has a separate room with a door so that when I put my child to bed, I can still be up and not disturb her rest. The value is increased due to the managers reception Monday through Thursday because we save the cost of dinner for our family of 3 and add with that the com breakfast and we are really only paying half of the cost of the hotel and the rest is meal money. It has been a wonderful find for my family and we tell everyone we meet about our experience. We will only stay at homewood suites!! We love the duck!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel provides all necessary amenities for stay in proximity of Blue Lagoon businesses. Everything is as you'd expect it from a Hilton brand hotel: Clean rooms, comforatble beds, well equipped rooms, reliable WiFi. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Miami Airport
#39 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,095 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Family Hotel in Miami
#31 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing